Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-21-10, 02:15 PM   #1
Kain
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 1,264
Default Battlefield: Bad Company 2 not loud enough

I have the Windows volume setting at max as well as the in-game setting for sounds at max. If I put on my headphones, it is not as loud as I would like it (there is no volume control on my headphones). The volume is about 75-80% of what I would like to have. Other games are fine. What's the issue? Note that if I use my speakers it is fine as I can crank the volume on the speakers higher than I normally would to achieve the level I need but for headphones it is not loud enough.
Kain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-10, 03:05 PM   #2
mojoman0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Posts: 3,566
Default Re: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 not loud enough

Ive noticed the game is quieter than most by default as well, like you can hardly hear the main menu. Have you turned bc2 up in the windows mixer by clicking on the speaker? for some reason bc2 defaults at like 90% or so
mojoman0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-10, 03:07 PM   #3
t3hl33td4rg0n
Dethklok Returns!
 
t3hl33td4rg0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kent, OH
Posts: 2,142
Send a message via AIM to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via MSN to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via Yahoo to t3hl33td4rg0n
Default Re: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 not loud enough

I think it might have something to do with the dynamic range of the high quality audio effects in the game, much like how movies can be very quiet and very loud in the same way.

I do agree though, it is a bit too quiet
__________________


Intel QX9650 @ 3.83GHzXFX 780ieVGA GTX 560Ti8GB GSkill DDR800Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium PCI-ESeagate 1.5TB . 4x Samsung 2TB

Quote:
Originally Posted by MowTin View Post
....it's so clear how government makes things worse not better...
t3hl33td4rg0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-10, 04:50 PM   #4
DansFace
Registered User
 
DansFace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 610
Default Re: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 not loud enough

Quote:
Originally Posted by t3hl33td4rg0n View Post
I think it might have something to do with the dynamic range of the high quality audio effects in the game, much like how movies can be very quiet and very loud in the same way.

I do agree though, it is a bit too quiet
a bit too quiet? My neighbors would disagree
__________________
Now Playing: Skyrim & BF3

i5 2500k @ 5.0 GHZ cooled with a H70, ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3, CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) , Radeon 6970 2GB, X-Fi Music, and Corsair 650w
DansFace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-10, 06:48 PM   #5
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 not loud enough

Quote:
Originally Posted by DansFace View Post
a bit too quiet? My neighbors would disagree
lol exactly. my whole bedroom shakes I think the game works the best with medium noise, because then you can hear the subtle sounds that will make the difference. Enemies yelling out, giving away their location, "ammo box reloading" sounds that also give away location. Motion mine beeps. Etc etc.
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-10, 07:48 PM   #6
t3hl33td4rg0n
Dethklok Returns!
 
t3hl33td4rg0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kent, OH
Posts: 2,142
Send a message via AIM to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via MSN to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via Yahoo to t3hl33td4rg0n
Default Re: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 not loud enough

Quote:
Originally Posted by DansFace View Post
a bit too quiet? My neighbors would disagree
Oh dont worry, my 750W system is definately shaking the walls...

But I have to turn up the volume louder than what I would normally game at because some sounds are too quiet at "normal" levels".

Lets just say the audio isn't as normalized as games typically are.
__________________


Intel QX9650 @ 3.83GHzXFX 780ieVGA GTX 560Ti8GB GSkill DDR800Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium PCI-ESeagate 1.5TB . 4x Samsung 2TB

Quote:
Originally Posted by MowTin View Post
....it's so clear how government makes things worse not better...
t3hl33td4rg0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-10, 08:42 PM   #7
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 not loud enough

thats good though, dont you think. adds some realism. for example, an explosion sounds different whether you stand beside it or far away. etc.
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-10, 10:41 PM   #8
t3hl33td4rg0n
Dethklok Returns!
 
t3hl33td4rg0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kent, OH
Posts: 2,142
Send a message via AIM to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via MSN to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via Yahoo to t3hl33td4rg0n
Default Re: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 not loud enough

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob saget View Post
thats good though, dont you think. adds some realism. for example, an explosion sounds different whether you stand beside it or far away. etc.
Yes I do like it that way. It just happens to be quieter than other games, but I dont mind it.

Its only a little annoying when playing at lower volumes,and I have to enable SVM (normalization) sO i can hear everything lol.
__________________


Intel QX9650 @ 3.83GHzXFX 780ieVGA GTX 560Ti8GB GSkill DDR800Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium PCI-ESeagate 1.5TB . 4x Samsung 2TB

Quote:
Originally Posted by MowTin View Post
....it's so clear how government makes things worse not better...
t3hl33td4rg0n is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-21-10, 11:17 PM   #9
JasonPC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,103
Default Re: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 not loud enough

<snip> posted this in the wrong thread, sorry!
JasonPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.