Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-06-10, 09:49 PM   #1
Starscream
Decepticook
 
Starscream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cybertron
Posts: 1,005
Default OCZ - RMA Hilarity

A few days ago a friend forwarded me this email from OCZ tech support:

Quote:
---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: <ocztechnology@exdesk.com>
Date: Fri, Apr 23, 2010 at 5:36 PM
Subject: Status Change on Your Trouble Ticket, ID: 117552
To: removed

Trouble Ticket ID: 117552
Description: OCZ3G1600LV4GK

-------------------------------------------------------
Please be advised that the status on your trouble ticket
has been changed from Submitted to In Progress
with the following comment:
-------------------------------------------------------
Comment: prime 95 generally stresses our memory out too much what happends when you run memtest86
-------------------------------------------------------
Status changed by: Super Administrator
-------------------------------------------------------

Regards,
ocztechnology@exdesk.com
---

Please DO NOT REPLY to this email notification. Please click on the following link below to correspond:


http://www.exdesk.com/OCZTechnologyG...addcomment=yes

Thank you.
Be sure to read the bolded text.

At this point he's RMA'ed this ram several times. He has yet to receive a working set. Kingston ram works fine in his board btw.
__________________
Maybe tomorrow I'll wanna settle down, until tomorrow I'll just keep moving on...
Starscream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-10, 10:04 PM   #2
darkrider01
A little rough at first
 
darkrider01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The DEEP South - North Carolina
Posts: 483
Talking Re: OCZ - RMA Hilarity

Maybe his RAM just needs to take a chill pill since it's getting stressed out too much.

My favorite part is the "Status changed by: Super Administrator" - maybe your friend could get it escalated to the Super-duper Administrator....or is the next level "1337 Aministrator?"
__________________
School Bus - Intel i7 4770K * ASRock Z87 Extreme6/AC * EVGA GTX 590 * Kingston HyperX Beast 16GB 2400MHz DDR3* Alienware TactX Keyboard * RAZER Mamba * Pioneer DVR-212D * Samsung 840 Series 250GB SSD * 10+TB Other Storage * Ultra X3 1000W PSU * Dell U2913WM * Beats by Dr. Dre headphones * Klipsch Promedia 2.1 * Cooler Master HAF XB * Cooler Master Hyper N520 * Windows 7 Ultimate
Mass Transit - Xeon E3-1275 V2 * G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 * EVGA GTX660 * Kingston HyperX 3K 120GB SSD * Seagate Momentus XT 750GB * Dell 2001FP * Viewsonic VX2250 * Creative X-Fi Surround 5.1 * Windows 7 Ultimate
RV - Alienware M18x * i7 2670QM * Dual 560 GTX * 1.25TB Storage * Windows 7 Ultimate
Van by the River - Panasonic PT-AX200U * Homebrew 9' x 5' screen * Pioneer VSX-1121-K * Bose Acoustimass 6 * Velodyne VX10 Subwoofer * PS3/Xbox/Xbox360/Wii/WiiU/DirecTV HR22
Packin HEAT
darkrider01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-10, 11:18 PM   #3
Starscream
Decepticook
 
Starscream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cybertron
Posts: 1,005
Default Re: OCZ - RMA Hilarity

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkrider01 View Post
Maybe his RAM just needs to take a chill pill since it's getting stressed out too much.

My favorite part is the "Status changed by: Super Administrator" - maybe your friend could get it escalated to the Super-duper Administrator....or is the next level "1337 Aministrator?"
Super Admin responded because Mega Admin was on lunch.
__________________
Maybe tomorrow I'll wanna settle down, until tomorrow I'll just keep moving on...
Starscream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-10, 02:21 AM   #4
Viral
Registered User of Women
 
Viral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,523
Default Re: OCZ - RMA Hilarity

I guess Hyper Admin has too much of a hard time concentrating to do any actual work.



OCZ can be a bit iffy when it comes to products that work like the competition, there's always a catch for why they're faster and cheaper.
__________________
Q9550 w/ Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme | 4GB Team Xtreme Dark 800MHz CL4 | Gigabyte X48-DS5
ASUS Radeon 5870 | 240GB OCZ Vertex 2 | 1TB WD Green Power | BenQ V2400W 24" LCD
Corsair HX-1000w | LG GGW-H20L 6x DL Blu-Ray Burner/HD-DVD Reader | Coolermaster Cosmos S

Acer TravelMate 4002WNLCi: Pentium M 725 @ 1.6GHz | Mobility Radeon 9700/64MB | 2GB DDR400 | 15.4" WXGA
Viral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-10, 10:51 AM   #5
Maverick123w
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Maverick123w
Default Re: OCZ - RMA Hilarity

After going through their rma process on some ram I'll never buy anything OCZ again. Company is a joke.
Maverick123w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-10, 10:55 AM   #6
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: OCZ - RMA Hilarity

Better watch out! I've heard that the Ultra Administrator is a pretty bad ass dude. Supposedly, he killed a man one time for telling them that the power supply's wires weren't long enough...
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-10, 11:46 AM   #7
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: OCZ - RMA Hilarity

Some brands are simply incompatible with certain boards.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-10, 11:49 AM   #8
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: OCZ - RMA Hilarity

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
Some brands are simply incompatible with certain boards.
I've never understood why this is.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-07-10, 12:02 PM   #9
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: OCZ - RMA Hilarity

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed View Post
I've never understood why this is.
well Vin86 had a right idea, but more precisely is that some memory chips/circuit boards are incompatible.
You can buy 4 sets of memory from same brand, and each will be different. One might have Samsung chips, one might be Hynnix and another Micron etc…
Not to even mention different revisions/versions from each memory maker.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-10, 12:06 PM   #10
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: OCZ - RMA Hilarity

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
well Vin86 had a right idea, but more precisely is that some memory chips/circuit boards are incompatible.
You can buy 4 sets of memory from same brand, and each will be different. One might have Samsung chips, one might be Hynnix and another Micron etc…
Not to even mention different revisions/versions from each memory maker.
I understand this.. but how that can cause RAM to be incompatible with a board I do not understand.

I mean, each manufacturer has to meet DDR specs, right? Be it DDR, DDR2, DDR3- there are standards and specifications that must be met, right? If so, it seems to me that there'd be no compatibility issues...

in a perfect world I guess.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-10, 01:01 PM   #11
Starscream
Decepticook
 
Starscream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cybertron
Posts: 1,005
Default Re: OCZ - RMA Hilarity

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
Some brands are simply incompatible with certain boards.
All of the OCZ crap he's received has tested bad in multiple boards.
__________________
Maybe tomorrow I'll wanna settle down, until tomorrow I'll just keep moving on...
Starscream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-10, 09:20 PM   #12
Shamrock
Royalty gone awry
 
Shamrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1,612
Default Re: OCZ - RMA Hilarity

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maverick123w View Post
After going through their rma process on some ram I'll never buy anything OCZ again. Company is a joke.
I agree 100%. My Reaper RAM still won't work in my Gigabyte board unless I DOWNCLOCK my ram to 1333Mhz (It is 1600Mhz RAM).
__________________
They're after me Lucky Charms!

AMD Phenom II 955BE
16GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1333Mhz
Sapphire Radeon HD 7850
Logitech Z-5300 5.1 THX surround sound
HANNS-G 28" LCD
ZBoard Merc Gaming Keyboard
CoolerMaster HAF-932 Full Tower Case
Windows 7 Pro x64
Shamrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.