Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-15-11, 05:19 AM   #1
Bowen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 207
Default Battlefield 3 System Requirements...

I was wondering what you guys think about my system handling Battlefield 3. Here are the official unofficial recommended system requirements for BF3: http://www.game-debate.com/games/ind...attlefield%203

"Mar-27-2011
Ok, here is an early analysis of BF3 requirements based on current industry discussions.


CPU requirements for Battlefield 3 - There are lots of very competent processors available right now and it is thought that the game has been developed using an Intel quad core i7 920 processor. There is talk that the game will be able to make use of any number of multiple cores (including six cores), however, the minimum requirements are likely to be a low end dual core, probably something similar to a Core 2 Duo 2.2GHz or Athlon 64 X2 4000+.

OS requirements for Battlefield 3 - PC operating systems supported will be Vista and Win 7. The reason for this is because the game will require a minimum of Direct X 10 (which you get with Vista) and will support Direct X 11 (which you get with windows 7) as well. It's also advisable to have a 64bit operating system so you can make use of 4GB RAM and above. A 32 bit operating system has a RAM cap.


Graphics card requirements for Battlefield 3 - The awesome BF3 gameplay trailers we have been seeing this month were run on a Nvidia GTX580, one of the current daddies of graphics cards and still an expensive choice. The BF3 engine known as Frostbite 2 is capable of some amazing things and although many strong cards exist today it is often the GPU where a PC gaming system falls down. This is certainly the area which you need to get right when it comes to today's gaming requirements. At the moment our suggested optimum cards for BF3 would be in the region of an AMD 6950 or Nvidia 560Ti but you are likely to be able to tweak settings and get a solid ride with a ATI 4850 or Nvidia GTS 450. Obviously this is still speculation. However, all is not lost if you haven't got a house full of cash to spend on a GPU for BF3. It seems that Frostbite 2 is excellent at scaling and we also think that the lowest settings where you will get a bearable gameplay return will be a card around the 512MB video card, but remember it must be Direct X10 capable.


Laptop graphics card for Battlefield 3 - Remember that many laptop graphics cards share a very similar name to their desktop counterparts but often perform at only a fraction of the desktop graphics cards capability. We reckon you are likely to need similar to a Mobility Radeon 5870 maybe a 5850 to get a reasonable performance from BF3 on a laptop.


RAM requirements for Battlefield 3 - We believe it likely that you will be able to play BF3 with a minimum of 2GB RAM but reckon it is likely that 4GB will be the realistic base level of RAM required. This is likely to be one of the first games where more than 4GB of RAM may actually make a real difference to game performance.


Buying a new graphics card for Battlefield 3 - BEWARE as the naming of many of the graphics cards can be confusing. It wasn't that long ago when the all important figure a gamer was looking for when choosing a new graphics card was the graphics card RAM. For example, Nvidia GTX 8800 768MB, which is the powerhouse I bought 4 years back. The manufacturers got wise to this and now you can buy graphics cards with advertised 1.5GB which often perform far worse than my ancient 8800 card. The jump forward in graphics card capability has actually been fairly slow over the past year or two. But the card manufacturers still need us to buy their latest cards and so often rename existing ranges, adjust the prices and tweak some of the hardware for small improvements. So armed with this knowledge it is always worth exploring the previous card family group for a bargain, which often is likely to perform very similarly to a brand new range."


I would think my Q6600 O/Ced to 2.83GHz and 4GB of Corsair RAM and my GTX 465 would be able to play BF3 nicely. I get about 60 FPS on average in BFBC2 when playing MP with everything on high, save shadows and I have MSAA set on 2x and AF set on 4x. I'd like to be able to play BF3 with similar settings that will give me a nice framerate. I'd like to get an average of 60FPS in BF3 with these settings but I'm thinking I'll be getting more like 40 FPS average.

I'm gonna be upgrading my whole system around tax time next year that will be looking at a Core i7 870, 8GB of DDR3 RAM, a P55 mobo with an Nvidia card with the $350 price point, which will likely be the GTX 670. I'm fairly certain that setup will allow me to run all settings on their absolute highest. Thanks in advance for the input!
__________________
CM HAF 922 Case / MSI Z77A-G45 / Intel Core i5-3570K @ 3.8GHz / 16GB (4x4GB) G.SKILL PC3 12800 DDR3 RAM / eVGA GeForce GTX 670 SC / Seagate 500GB SATA / WD 1TB SATA / Optiarc AD-7240S Burner / Corsair HX850 PSU / Windows 7 HP x64
Bowen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-11, 09:24 AM   #2
Sean_W
Registered User
 
Sean_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,423
Default Re: Battlefield 3 System Requirements...

Good to hear and I'm ready. The game is going to own.
Sean_W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-11, 09:34 AM   #3
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Battlefield 3 System Requirements...

Wow... a game that doesn't have XBOX 360 listed as a requirement. I wonder how many fan boys will be crying when they see the game running crippled on their trash-boxes??

Sounds like my OC'd 480 and Sandy B will be more than up for the task.

I'm also curious to see how many people will cry "the game is not optimized" - the devs use of the term 'scaling' would seem to indicate people with less than a decent GPU, quad core CPU and 4GB of ram will not be running it at high settings. I just hate when asshats with old hardware cry about a game not being optimized... no it's your setup that is not optimized ..or as we call it obsolete.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-11, 09:53 AM   #4
Crow_Nest
Ace Spammer
 
Crow_Nest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Singapore, Asia
Posts: 1,418
Send a message via MSN to Crow_Nest
Default Re: Battlefield 3 System Requirements...

Hopefully its true. Either way i'll still buy it.
__________________
Desktop
| Windows 7 Ultimate x64 | Intel i7 2700K @ 3.5 GHz | MSI GeForce GTX 670 OC 2GB |
| G.Skill RipJawsX PC3 12800 4GB x 2 | Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer | Intel SSD 520 120GB SSD |
| Hitachi 1TB SATA3 HDD | Asus P8Z68-V/GEN3 | Cooler Master Silent Pro M 700W |
| Cooler Master Centurion 5 II Casing | Samsung SyncMaster XL2370 |


Laptop : Lenovo IdeaPad Y450
| Windows 7 Ultimate x64 | Intel Core 2 Duo T6600 2.2 GHz | NVIDIA GeForce G110M 256MB |
| 4GB DDR3 SDRAM | Western Digital 320GB | 14.1' LED Backlit Screen |


http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=73666&dateline=135279  2183
Crow_Nest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-11, 10:37 AM   #5
Sean_W
Registered User
 
Sean_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,423
Default Re: Battlefield 3 System Requirements...

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailman2 View Post
Wow... a game that doesn't have XBOX 360 listed as a requirement. I wonder how many fan boys will be crying when they see the game running crippled on their trash-boxes??

Sounds like my OC'd 480 and Sandy B will be more than up for the task.

I'm also curious to see how many people will cry "the game is not optimized" - the devs use of the term 'scaling' would seem to indicate people with less than a decent GPU, quad core CPU and 4GB of ram will not be running it at high settings. I just hate when asshats with old hardware cry about a game not being optimized... no it's your setup that is not optimized ..or as we call it obsolete.


Well people were trying to play GTA IV on their integrated graphics, so anything is possible.
Sean_W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-11, 10:49 AM   #6
ATOJAR
Bish Bash Bosh
 
ATOJAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middlesbrough, England.
Posts: 2,756
Send a message via MSN to ATOJAR
Default Re: Battlefield 3 System Requirements...

I'm good to go with my system then .... Cant wait.
__________________
Intel i7 920 D0(Ultra-120 eXtreme) - ASUS P6T iX58 - 6GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 1600MHz - Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD(Win7/apps) - Seagate Barracuda SATA II 500GB(storage/games) - LG W2452T 24" LCD 1920x1200 Monitor - MSI GTX 760 2GB - Windows 7 Ultimate X64 - Corsair 750W TX PSU - Antec 900 Case - Logitech G500 Mouse - Logitech G15 v2 Keyboard.
ATOJAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-11, 11:07 AM   #7
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Battlefield 3 System Requirements...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean_W View Post


Well people were trying to play GTA IV on their integrated graphics, so anything is possible.
Rotflmao... and single core CPUs and then saying how unoptimized it was... you're right!!

Unlike a 360 you can't let your PC just gather dust for 6 years and expect to play new games... you need to maintain and upgrade it.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-11, 03:33 PM   #8
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: Battlefield 3 System Requirements...

I was pleasantly surprised when I found out that my current setup ran BC2 perfectly. Now we'll wait and see if my current system will do the same on BF3. I doubt it will, but here's to hoping.
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-15-11, 03:35 PM   #9
lIqUID
whip yo ass!
 
lIqUID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 653
Default Re: Battlefield 3 System Requirements...

I know I'll be fine with what I have, but I would still give my left nut to know the rest of the system specs they were running in the demo.
__________________
Fathom the hypocrisy of a Government that wants to require every citizen to prove they are insured, but does not require them to prove that they are citizens!

i7 930@3.8ghz on Noctua NH-U12P
Evga x58 LE
MSI GTX 480 formerly known as HIS HD5870
128 gig Crucial m4/80 gig Intel X25-M ssd/500 gb WD
750 watt Corsair TX
Coolermaster HAF-X

if my calculations are correct, when this baby hits 88 miles per hour you're gonna to see some serious sh!t.
lIqUID is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-11, 06:41 PM   #10
mojoman0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Posts: 3,566
Default Re: Battlefield 3 System Requirements...

repi said the demo was running on a single gtx 580. Pair that with most i5 and i7's and i think youre set
mojoman0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-11, 06:48 PM   #11
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Battlefield 3 System Requirements...

This is due out towards the end of this year, right? If so, that'll be just in time for my planned upgraded. Going to get the 7770 or whatever it'll be called- AMD's $150 - $200 chip, plus the new high end cpu from Intel. Think that'll be enough for this plus Skyrim.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-11, 09:07 PM   #12
CaptnStubing
Registered User
 
CaptnStubing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,714
Default Re: Battlefield 3 System Requirements...

I will be building a new computer for this game.
CaptnStubing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.