Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 400/500 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-18-10, 05:43 PM   #1
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Afterburner question

I can get pretty dense sometimes, but tell me what I'm doing wrong here please?

Look at my clocks - isn't the app showing the wrong clocks in the wrong places??

I've googled this for quite a while and can't find an answer - someone clear me up on this please?



Thanks in advance guys
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-10, 07:47 PM   #2
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Afterburner question

100% positive your GPU is *not* running at 1.6Ghz. Sounds like there's a bug with that tool.

It appears to have the shaders and core speeds confused.

That's my guess. As to a fix, or having even heard of this before... nope. Unless somebody else chimes in with a fix or more solid info I'd suggest just running the cards stock for now.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-10, 07:48 PM   #3
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Afterburner question

nvm - solved
using 1.60 beta 5

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=320046

Edit: Just saw your reply Redeemed - yeah, it threw me too. The latest beta has good support for the card though.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-10, 08:03 PM   #4
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Afterburner question

Awesome.

Now, commence OC'ing till that card squeels for mercy!




Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-10, 08:07 PM   #5
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Afterburner question

No need to oc yet - running cool and sweet and playing what I like how I like.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-10, 08:11 PM   #6
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Afterburner question

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1 View Post
No need to oc yet - running cool and sweet and playing what I like how I like.
Oh.

Well- fine then.




Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-10, 01:39 AM   #7
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: Afterburner question

I had the same thing when i first downloaded it. It took me a while to realize, it was an older release.
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-10, 07:09 AM   #8
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Afterburner question

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1 View Post
nvm - solved
using 1.60 beta 5

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=320046

Edit: Just saw your reply Redeemed - yeah, it threw me too. The latest beta has good support for the card though.
Heh, I did the same thing.

They really need to just put the link to the beta on their website.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-19-10, 07:49 AM   #9
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: Afterburner question

What's the "force constant voltage" setting for?
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-10, 07:55 AM   #10
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Afterburner question

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL View Post
Heh, I did the same thing.

They really need to just put the link to the beta on their website.
It would make it so much easier...
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-10, 08:07 AM   #11
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Afterburner question

Quote:
Originally Posted by ragejg View Post
What's the "force constant voltage" setting for?
The GPU voltage apparently drops with the clocks when in 2D mode. If you overclock a lot, I guess this drop can result in instability. Having the voltage stay constant would obviously raise heat output and power consumption considerably, but if you're really pushing your card to the limit, constant voltage may be necessary to maintain stability.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-10, 09:06 AM   #12
Eltigre88
ASUS Lover!!!
 
Eltigre88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Essex Jct. Vermont
Posts: 1,062
Default Re: Afterburner question

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...=150763&page=2
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth P67
Intel SB 2600K 4.4 GhZ
16 GB Gskill RipJaws DDR3 2133
MSI 680GTX Twin Frozr 4GD5/OC, Galaxy 680GTX 4GB GC SLI
Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
ThermalTake ToughPower 850W PSU
Windows 8 Pro 64bit
16076 3dMark11 score
Eltigre88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.