Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows 7

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-31-10, 08:36 PM   #1
Ghosthunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 885
Default Win 7 64 bit - performance question

So today I formatted my machine that had vista 64 bit and installed Win 7 64 home premium edition

I have to say performance seems to be slower just moving around the desktop, everything seems to be much slower in terms of reaction time and opening anything up. I know my machine is almost 2 years old, but I would think it would not be a huge difference. I actually heard win 7 is suppose to be faster and more stable then vista.

You can see the specs in my signature

Does anyone know any good tips and tricks for tuning windows 7?
__________________
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
Intel i5-3570k @ 4.3
Thermalright True Spirit 120
G.Skill 16 GB Ram DDR3-1600
EVGA GTX 680 SC
Crucial M4 128 GB SSD
2x Samsung 1 TB Spinpoint 7200 RPM SATA HD103SJ
WD SE16 7200 RPM SATA 640 GB
SAMSUNG 22X SATA DVD Burner
CORSAIR 750TX PSU
LIAN LI Lancool PC-K7B
Asus 25 inch VE258Q
Win7x64
Ghosthunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-10, 09:01 PM   #2
Mr Bigman
Strongest Man On Earth
 
Mr Bigman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 4,969
Send a message via AIM to Mr Bigman Send a message via MSN to Mr Bigman Send a message via Yahoo to Mr Bigman
Default Re: Win 7 64 bit - performance question

U could disable aero or update drivers for display.

If you did a qhuck format of the drie, that could be an isue but unlikely so i would check drivers and settings and even check hard drive settings in device manager to see if optimal settings are applied.
__________________
EVGA X58 Tri SLI
Core I 7 3.7Ghz
12 gb corsair DDR3 1600
Three EVGA 285 SLI
Antec 1200
Corsiar 1000 HX Power Supply
2 OCZ SSD Hard Drives
4 wd black edition raid 2 setups for 4TB


_____________________________
having good looks and a good body is hard work.
Mr Bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-10, 09:05 PM   #3
Ghosthunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 885
Default Re: Win 7 64 bit - performance question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Bigman View Post
U could disable aero or update drivers for display.

If you did a qhuck format of the drie, that could be an isue but unlikely so i would check drivers and settings and even check hard drive settings in device manager to see if optimal settings are applied.

I already updated my nvidia drivers to latest official from their website

I hate to disable aero since I was using that in vista fine

I will check hard drive settings
__________________
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
Intel i5-3570k @ 4.3
Thermalright True Spirit 120
G.Skill 16 GB Ram DDR3-1600
EVGA GTX 680 SC
Crucial M4 128 GB SSD
2x Samsung 1 TB Spinpoint 7200 RPM SATA HD103SJ
WD SE16 7200 RPM SATA 640 GB
SAMSUNG 22X SATA DVD Burner
CORSAIR 750TX PSU
LIAN LI Lancool PC-K7B
Asus 25 inch VE258Q
Win7x64
Ghosthunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-10, 09:38 PM   #4
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Win 7 64 bit - performance question

I actually didn't see a huge difference between Win7 64bit and Vista 64bit SP2 with specs very similar to yours GH.

Blackviper offers some great tips on disabling unneeded services, which can help though.

http://www.blackviper.com/Windows_7/servicecfg.htm

Also use the built in resource monitor to see if anything is hogging more memory than it should, or Hdd access.

Also, the superfetch feature will be indexing everything on your hdd for the first few sessions, then that will slow down also and things may feel a bit more responsive.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-10, 09:45 PM   #5
supra
2JZ powered
 
supra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Aus
Posts: 1,321
Send a message via MSN to supra
Default Re: Win 7 64 bit - performance question

quick format to normal format shouldnt make a different. differnence between normal and quick is normal checks for bad sectors.

do some google search on windows 7 tweaks

you can try turning off stuff like system restore (if you dont use it), automatic updates, remote assistance, drive indexing etc.
__________________
supra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-10, 09:58 PM   #6
Ghosthunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 885
Default Re: Win 7 64 bit - performance question

hmm i do not recall if i did a quick or regular format, i just hit format after i recreated the partition

so far i turned off remote assistance, but maybe will check out the drive indexing, and i do not need system restore so will turn that off
__________________
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
Intel i5-3570k @ 4.3
Thermalright True Spirit 120
G.Skill 16 GB Ram DDR3-1600
EVGA GTX 680 SC
Crucial M4 128 GB SSD
2x Samsung 1 TB Spinpoint 7200 RPM SATA HD103SJ
WD SE16 7200 RPM SATA 640 GB
SAMSUNG 22X SATA DVD Burner
CORSAIR 750TX PSU
LIAN LI Lancool PC-K7B
Asus 25 inch VE258Q
Win7x64
Ghosthunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-10, 09:59 PM   #7
Ghosthunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 885
Default Re: Win 7 64 bit - performance question

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1 View Post
I actually didn't see a huge difference between Win7 64bit and Vista 64bit SP2 with specs very similar to yours GH.

Blackviper offers some great tips on disabling unneeded services, which can help though.

http://www.blackviper.com/Windows_7/servicecfg.htm

Also use the built in resource monitor to see if anything is hogging more memory than it should, or Hdd access.

Also, the superfetch feature will be indexing everything on your hdd for the first few sessions, then that will slow down also and things may feel a bit more responsive.
Thanks Grey i will check it out
__________________
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
Intel i5-3570k @ 4.3
Thermalright True Spirit 120
G.Skill 16 GB Ram DDR3-1600
EVGA GTX 680 SC
Crucial M4 128 GB SSD
2x Samsung 1 TB Spinpoint 7200 RPM SATA HD103SJ
WD SE16 7200 RPM SATA 640 GB
SAMSUNG 22X SATA DVD Burner
CORSAIR 750TX PSU
LIAN LI Lancool PC-K7B
Asus 25 inch VE258Q
Win7x64
Ghosthunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-10, 11:15 PM   #8
Ghosthunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 885
Default Re: Win 7 64 bit - performance question

I think I found my problem, it is my antivirus, I installed that as soon as I got my machine up

I run NOD32 latest version , and as soon as I disable it, my machine seems to be back to normal.

Odd thing is it worked fine in Vista
__________________
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
Intel i5-3570k @ 4.3
Thermalright True Spirit 120
G.Skill 16 GB Ram DDR3-1600
EVGA GTX 680 SC
Crucial M4 128 GB SSD
2x Samsung 1 TB Spinpoint 7200 RPM SATA HD103SJ
WD SE16 7200 RPM SATA 640 GB
SAMSUNG 22X SATA DVD Burner
CORSAIR 750TX PSU
LIAN LI Lancool PC-K7B
Asus 25 inch VE258Q
Win7x64
Ghosthunter is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-31-10, 11:37 PM   #9
supra
2JZ powered
 
supra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Aus
Posts: 1,321
Send a message via MSN to supra
Default Re: Win 7 64 bit - performance question

it may not be support by windows 7 for some odd reason.

if ur looking for an alternative i use microsoft security essentials. its free and works great.

im on win7 x64 too.
__________________
supra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-10, 02:05 AM   #10
RAMChYLD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 95
Default Re: Win 7 64 bit - performance question

I'd suggest checking with ESET to see if an upgrade is available. Maybe the version is glitched somehow.

Another thing to check is, did you install the chipset drivers? Particularly, the IDE/SATA ones? And was NOD32 doing a full scan of the system when you noticed the slowdown?

I use Avast home edition and it seems fine. Yeah, I have to remember to renew the license annually even though it's free, but it feels much more lightweight than what AVG has become. I could use MSE, but since my other PCs already run Avast, I thought I'd just stick with it.
__________________
Rigs:
  • "Edison" - Phenom II X4 925 AM3 (Deneb), M4N98TD-EVO (nForce980a SLI), ENGTS450 DirectCU 1GB (GeForce GTS450) x2 (SLI), integrated GeForce8200, SoundBlaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro, 8GB DDR3-1600
  • "Sally" - Athlon64 x2 5000+ AM2 (Brisbane), M4N72-E (nForce750a SLI), ENGTS250 Dark Knight 1GB (GeForce GTS250) x2 (SLI), integrated GeForce8200, SoundBlaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro, 4GB DDR2-1066
  • "Dongwa" - Phenom II X4 945 AM3 (Deneb), M4N75TD (nForce750a SLI), ENGTX260-216SP 896MB (GeForce GTX260 216SP) x2 (SLI), integrated GeForce8200, SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty Champion, 8GB DDR3-1600
  • "Helen" - Athlon64 x2 6400+ AM2 (Windsor), M4N78 Pro (GeForce8300), ENGT520 1GB (GeForce GT520), integrated GeForce8300, AuzenTech Prelude X-Fi, 4GB DDR2-1066.
  • "Clementine" - Athlon64 x2 3800+ AM2 (Windsor), TF560A2+ (nForce560), V8402GL26 (GeForce 8400GS), SoundBlaster Live! 5.1, Sonnet Allegro FW400 PCIe, 2GB DDR2-800
RAMChYLD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-10, 08:15 AM   #11
Xophile
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 114
Default Re: Win 7 64 bit - performance question

I'm running Eset Smart Security on W7 64-bit. No issues what so ever.

I recommended checking what RAMChYLD posted (chipset drivers etc) and if that doesn't work, try and ask about ESET products on their own support forum, loads of competent people there.

http://www.wilderssecurity.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15

Update: By the way, my system isn't really brand new, a C2D E6850, 4Gm RAM, Asus P5K-E and W7 is running like a dream on that machine.
Xophile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-10, 02:00 PM   #12
Ghosthunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 885
Default Re: Win 7 64 bit - performance question

I installed chipset drivers after the install

I also tested my WD hard drive with HD Tune and got similar specs I had in vista, so I know my drive and controller seems to be working ok.

I also did enable AHCI which was not enabled before and that seem to cut my boot up time from 50 seconds to 30 seconds

I have since uninstalled NOD 32, and decided to go with AVAST 5, it appears to be much lighter and reports say it has high detection rates and of course it is free, if this does not work out I might try MSE

so far my machine seems to be much better now and I reinstalled GTA4, and of course I messed up my saves..so have to start over oh well..anyway GTA4 seems to be running excellent so far
__________________
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
Intel i5-3570k @ 4.3
Thermalright True Spirit 120
G.Skill 16 GB Ram DDR3-1600
EVGA GTX 680 SC
Crucial M4 128 GB SSD
2x Samsung 1 TB Spinpoint 7200 RPM SATA HD103SJ
WD SE16 7200 RPM SATA 640 GB
SAMSUNG 22X SATA DVD Burner
CORSAIR 750TX PSU
LIAN LI Lancool PC-K7B
Asus 25 inch VE258Q
Win7x64
Ghosthunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.