Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-20-10, 12:39 PM   #1
sniff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 14
Default Is opengl over 4 monitors possible yet?

Hello,

Its been a while since the last time I checked this. I have a 4 monitor setup using 2 nvidia graphics cards. I use xinerama to allow the desktop to span all four screens. It works ok most of the time. It would be better if I could have openGL on all 4 screens. Like Twinview, but Quadview if that makes. Is this possible yet? I have heard that there are plans to do this. Something similar to ATI's Eyefinity? I have two GT220's running the monitors.

Thanks,
Philip
__________________
www.obscurus.org
sniff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-10, 07:27 PM   #2
JaXXoN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Munich
Posts: 910
Default Re: Is opengl over 4 monitors possible yet?

The feature you are looking for is called "SLI Multi-view" and has been
supported on Linux since 2005. OpenGL applications should just work
on your setup. If this is not the case, then something has been miss-
configured and I recommend posting an nvidia-bug-report.log (type
"sudo nvidia-bug-report.sh" in a console window).

regards

Bernhard
JaXXoN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-10, 03:37 AM   #3
sniff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 14
Default Re: Is opengl over 4 monitors possible yet?

Are you sure? I thought SLI Multi-view was only on Quadro cards. How do I make it work?
__________________
www.obscurus.org
sniff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-10, 07:33 AM   #4
JaXXoN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Munich
Posts: 910
Default Re: Is opengl over 4 monitors possible yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sniff View Post
Are you sure? I thought SLI Multi-view was only on Quadro cards.
I guess you are mixing it up with SLI-Mosaic (which is only available
for Quadro Plex).

Quote:
Originally Posted by sniff View Post
How do I make it work?
If it doesn't work already, then you may like to try "nvidia-xconfig" to
automatically generate an appropriate xorg.conf, i.e. something like

Code:
nvidia-xconfig --twinview --xinerama --enable-all-gpus
Alternatively, you can hand-craft the xorg.conf - for details, please check
http://us.download.nvidia.com/XFree8...neramaglx.html

Anyway, what happens if you type "glxgears" in a console window?
There should show up a simple 3D application. If this is not the case,
then there's something wrong with your setup. In order to help you,
the forum members would need the output of "sudo nvidia-bug-report.sh".
This command collects informations on your HW/SW setup and stores it
in "nvidia-bug-report.log.gz".

regards

Bernhard



regards

Bernhard
JaXXoN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-10, 02:37 PM   #5
sniff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 14
Default Re: Is opengl over 4 monitors possible yet?

Ok, so I got it too work. The problem was nothing to do with opengl/drivers as such.

The performance of the desktop (not 3D) isn't the best. Is likely to be mostly due to xinerama or would upgrading to some beefier GPUs help. I am currently using two GT220's but could get some 250's? I am trying to improve general performance of things like Firefox.
__________________
www.obscurus.org
sniff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.