Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > General Software

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-30-10, 03:25 PM   #1
t3hl33td4rg0n
Dethklok Returns!
 
t3hl33td4rg0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kent, OH
Posts: 2,142
Send a message via AIM to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via MSN to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via Yahoo to t3hl33td4rg0n
Default Windows needs this capability!

So my server primary drive crashed a couple days ago and I got everything up and running again. Over the past few hours, I got everything up and running (yay).

Anyways, I decided to reinstall compiz-fusion (which is way better than Aero btw) to see how things were working in that app. After some tinkering around, I noticed this plugin called "shelf". So I enabled it to see what its about.

What it lets you do is scale a window to any size without using traditional means of resizing a window. To me, that is freakin' awesome and very useful when juggling multiple windows with lots of information.

Heres a short video of what it does...

__________________


Intel QX9650 @ 3.83GHzXFX 780ieVGA GTX 560Ti8GB GSkill DDR800Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium PCI-ESeagate 1.5TB . 4x Samsung 2TB

Quote:
Originally Posted by MowTin View Post
....it's so clear how government makes things worse not better...
t3hl33td4rg0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-10, 05:37 PM   #2
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Windows needs this capability!

Yep, that is nice.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-10, 06:10 PM   #3
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: Windows needs this capability!

You had me at "my server primary drive crashed"
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-10, 07:33 PM   #4
t3hl33td4rg0n
Dethklok Returns!
 
t3hl33td4rg0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kent, OH
Posts: 2,142
Send a message via AIM to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via MSN to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via Yahoo to t3hl33td4rg0n
Default Re: Windows needs this capability!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sazar View Post
You had me at "my server primary drive crashed"
__________________


Intel QX9650 @ 3.83GHzXFX 780ieVGA GTX 560Ti8GB GSkill DDR800Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium PCI-ESeagate 1.5TB . 4x Samsung 2TB

Quote:
Originally Posted by MowTin View Post
....it's so clear how government makes things worse not better...
t3hl33td4rg0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-10, 08:42 PM   #5
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: Windows needs this capability!

yea that makes it easier to work with multiple windows for sure.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-10, 09:06 PM   #6
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Windows needs this capability!

Yeah... I'm gonna' be without a desktop rig for a (hopefully short) while...

I'll be using an older rig with Ubuntu on it. Looking forward to seeing what the latest and greatest has to offer.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-10, 12:09 AM   #7
t3hl33td4rg0n
Dethklok Returns!
 
t3hl33td4rg0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kent, OH
Posts: 2,142
Send a message via AIM to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via MSN to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via Yahoo to t3hl33td4rg0n
Default Re: Windows needs this capability!

If you plan on using compiz-fusion, I recommend installing the fusion-icon package. It allows you to switch between CF or metacity in case you run into any problems with programs or whatever.

Generally the way of activating it is a console command, but fusion-icon allows you to activate/deactivate on the fly.

Definately check it out, the possibilities with CF are nearly limitless and uses a very small amount of resources.

Currently the box has 191 running processes, my roomates are watching an HD documentary in XBMC with CF compositing in the background, and its still using less RAM than the win7 machine I am on now, which has Aero disabled.
__________________


Intel QX9650 @ 3.83GHzXFX 780ieVGA GTX 560Ti8GB GSkill DDR800Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium PCI-ESeagate 1.5TB . 4x Samsung 2TB

Quote:
Originally Posted by MowTin View Post
....it's so clear how government makes things worse not better...
t3hl33td4rg0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-10, 12:14 AM   #8
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Windows needs this capability!

dl'ing the latest Ubuntu livecd now. Soon as it's burned I'm giving it a go with my new SSD... just for kicks.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-31-10, 12:38 AM   #9
jeffmd
Has a vegetation fetish
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,816
Default Re: Windows needs this capability!

if for some reason my icons are bigger then they should be, then this is a cool plugin, but since they arn't, making the buttons smaller just causes my pain and suffering when trying to read/click buttons on a window that I have made smaller.

The whole charm about resizing windows is while the main area resizes, the tool bars stay the same and remain easily accessible.
__________________
_________________________________________________
Mobo: EVGA 122-ck-nf68 680i sli, CPU: C2D Quad 6600, Video: EVGA GTX 460 1gb SC, Sound: X-fi gaming, Windows 7, Antec P180b,Thermalright Ultra-120 HSF, Antec TruPower TP3-650, 4 Gigs RAM
jeffmd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-10, 12:09 PM   #10
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Windows needs this capability!

So when making the liveCDs last night... I forgot to eject one from my computer. Thus when I power it up this morning... guess what it boots into?

Liking the new look of Kubuntu thus far. This might just encourage me to hurry up and get my dedicated "linux-box" built.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-10, 07:39 PM   #11
'06Corvette
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
Default Re: Windows needs this capability!

Well thanks for that!
__________________
article marketing
google sniper
'06Corvette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-10, 10:18 PM   #12
t3hl33td4rg0n
Dethklok Returns!
 
t3hl33td4rg0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kent, OH
Posts: 2,142
Send a message via AIM to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via MSN to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via Yahoo to t3hl33td4rg0n
Default Re: Windows needs this capability!

Quote:
Originally Posted by '06Corvette View Post
Well thanks for that!
You're welcome artard
__________________


Intel QX9650 @ 3.83GHzXFX 780ieVGA GTX 560Ti8GB GSkill DDR800Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium PCI-ESeagate 1.5TB . 4x Samsung 2TB

Quote:
Originally Posted by MowTin View Post
....it's so clear how government makes things worse not better...
t3hl33td4rg0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.