Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > General Software

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-31-10, 04:42 PM   #1
nV`andrew
Akrynym
 
nV`andrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Posts: 2,351
Send a message via AIM to nV`andrew Send a message via MSN to nV`andrew Send a message via Skype™ to nV`andrew
Default CD Ripping

Alright I'm kinda stuck here. I got an album the other day and I want the songs on my mp3 player. I've tried cdex and FreeRip but both programs seem to freeze up on me. Cdex keeps loading after reading the disc, and it doesnt even tag the tracks. FreeRip recognized all the tracks and i went to rip it but it seemed to be stuck on 0% on the first track for quite a while. Am i doing something wrong here?

Any help would be appreciated. I'll be ripping to either wav or mp3 (because of my mp3 player).
__________________
Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P || Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 w/ Zalman CNPS9500 HSF || Kingston HyperX SLi Certified [4x1GB] DDR2-1066 ||
eVGA GeForce GTX460 SuperClocked Edition || 2x Seagate 120GB[240GB] Barracuda SATA || 1x Seagate 1000GB Storage
OCZ GameXStream 700W || X-Fi XtremeMusic || Sennheiser HD555's || Antec 900 || Logitech MX518 || Saitek Eclipse II Samsung 24" HDTV/LCD 1920x1200 ||
nV`andrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-10, 10:37 PM   #2
bknblk
Filthy Pinko
 
bknblk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 184
Default Re: CD Ripping

Tried audiograbber?
__________________
The whole idea of a Palestinian nation and a Palestinian people is an invention of Arab propaganda. Arafat was himself an Egyptian. The only people to have lived continuously on the land from time immemorial are Jews. So many others have conquered, ruled, thrived and ultimately perished there that the list would take hundreds of pages. A mere sample would include: Byzantines, Persians, Arabs, Turks, Circassians, Kurds, Abbassids (Iraqis), Egyptians, Kharezmians (Genghis Khan), Mamluks, Mongols, Latins (Crusaders), Ottomans, French and English.

It is not and never was Palestinian land.

"If we ever forget that we're One Nation Under God,
then we will be a nation gone under."....Ronald Reagan

"You guys are still crying about Fox News? Damn you little sandy vagina metro sexual emos need to grow a pair of balls."....UDawg(FTMFW)
bknblk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-10, 07:16 AM   #3
Xophile
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 114
Default Re: CD Ripping

For ripping Cds the only thing you will ever need is called Exact Audio Copy.
Xophile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-10, 07:41 AM   #4
Q
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,808
Default Re: CD Ripping

Cdex isn't working I'd imagine there is an issue with your system, or specifically your optical drive. If you have two different programs doing that, this is the conclusion I would come to. Have you checked that your optical drive is running in DMA mode, not PIO, in Device Manager?

I would load Cdex on another machine and give it a shot, honestly. When I was ripping my CD collection 5 or 6 years ago, I counted on that program quite a bit. Recently I find that Windows Media Player is sufficient. You could always give that a shot, but I think you'll come to the same end on your current workstation.

Edit: Also, depending on the age of the disc, you might even have some sort of DRM involved. Doubtful, but possible.
Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-10, 10:29 AM   #5
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: CD Ripping

I use iTunes for MP3/AAC rips.

I use Windows Media Player (for WAV rip) and FLAC front-end to rip my CD's to FLAC.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-10, 11:41 AM   #6
LurkerLito
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,550
Default Re: CD Ripping

What Q said is exactly what I would be thinking also. BTW CDex you have to press the get from remote CDDB button to get the disc info.
__________________

Main PC: Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe ; Intel i7-3770k ; GSkill Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 2133 (2x8GB) ; Seasonic X Series X-1050 PSU ; Corsair H100 ; EVGA GTX-670 ; Mushkin 240GB SSD system drive
Old PC: ABIT IP35 Pro ; Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 ; Patriot 6GB (3x2GB) DDR2 800 RAM ; EVGA GTX480 SC ; Antec P190 Case ; EnzoTech Ultra120 CPU Cooler
LurkerLito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-10, 12:37 PM   #7
nV`andrew
Akrynym
 
nV`andrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Posts: 2,351
Send a message via AIM to nV`andrew Send a message via MSN to nV`andrew Send a message via Skype™ to nV`andrew
Default Re: CD Ripping

Thanks for the responses. None of them seem to be working. How do I check for DMI mode? I've been looking through device manager but don't see anything,

I'm going to try CDex on my laptop right now.
__________________
Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P || Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 w/ Zalman CNPS9500 HSF || Kingston HyperX SLi Certified [4x1GB] DDR2-1066 ||
eVGA GeForce GTX460 SuperClocked Edition || 2x Seagate 120GB[240GB] Barracuda SATA || 1x Seagate 1000GB Storage
OCZ GameXStream 700W || X-Fi XtremeMusic || Sennheiser HD555's || Antec 900 || Logitech MX518 || Saitek Eclipse II Samsung 24" HDTV/LCD 1920x1200 ||
nV`andrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-10, 12:54 PM   #8
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: CD Ripping

Quote:
Originally Posted by nV`andrew View Post
Thanks for the responses. None of them seem to be working. How do I check for DMI mode? I've been looking through device manager but don't see anything,

I'm going to try CDex on my laptop right now.
Did you read my post?
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-28-10, 02:13 PM   #9
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: CD Ripping

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
I use iTunes for MP3/AAC rips.

I use Windows Media Player (for WAV rip) and FLAC front-end to rip my CD's to FLAC.
I've always just used WMP if I wanted to rip a CD to mp3.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-10, 03:11 PM   #10
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: CD Ripping

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bman212121 View Post
I've always just used WMP if I wanted to rip a CD to mp3.
Yea it will do it too. I just like the convenience of iTunes because it sorts it the way I like it and adds it to my library so it can be uploaded to my iPod.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-10, 01:16 PM   #11
nV`andrew
Akrynym
 
nV`andrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Posts: 2,351
Send a message via AIM to nV`andrew Send a message via MSN to nV`andrew Send a message via Skype™ to nV`andrew
Default Re: CD Ripping

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
Did you read my post?
Yeah. Normally I would use WMP for something like this but for some odd reason my wmp on this desktop is all messed up. I think i tried updating it and adding a plugin and for some reason it kept the older version, and nothing works right anymore.

I tried WMP on my laptop but it didn't tag any of the audio (it's not a well known cd so i couldnt use the online feature) and it was pretty tedious.
__________________
Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P || Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 w/ Zalman CNPS9500 HSF || Kingston HyperX SLi Certified [4x1GB] DDR2-1066 ||
eVGA GeForce GTX460 SuperClocked Edition || 2x Seagate 120GB[240GB] Barracuda SATA || 1x Seagate 1000GB Storage
OCZ GameXStream 700W || X-Fi XtremeMusic || Sennheiser HD555's || Antec 900 || Logitech MX518 || Saitek Eclipse II Samsung 24" HDTV/LCD 1920x1200 ||
nV`andrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-10, 02:00 PM   #12
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: CD Ripping

Quote:
Originally Posted by nV`andrew View Post
Yeah. Normally I would use WMP for something like this but for some odd reason my wmp on this desktop is all messed up. I think i tried updating it and adding a plugin and for some reason it kept the older version, and nothing works right anymore.

I tried WMP on my laptop but it didn't tag any of the audio (it's not a well known cd so i couldnt use the online feature) and it was pretty tedious.
I use M3tag to tag all my music. It can use CDDB or you can find the disc on Amazon and it will retrieve the cover art too. I did about 2000 songs in about 15 min. using Mp3tag.

http://www.mp3tag.de/en/
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.