Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-21-03, 08:44 PM   #1
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default Low 9800 Pro score, help requested!

Here is a screen of my D3D settings.



And here are my results with the current specs below.

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=6779448

Most people can easily get 250+ FPS in the pixel shader test as well as close to 300 FPS in the Dragothic low detail test, yet mine lag far behind. Any suggestions anyone? I'm using the Catalyst 3.6 drivers, and even reinstalled them and left them untweaked. Still not different. Also, AGP aperture is 256MB, 8x AGP, and no OC to the card.
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-03, 04:23 AM   #2
Lars
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 118
Default

Hmm, your score is most definitely way too low for your system. I'm not an AMD systems expert by any means, but my first thought would be if you've got your chipset/agp drivers properly installed?
__________________
Pentium E6600 ES 2.4@3.5 Ghz | Mach II GT | Asus P5WD2-E | 2GB Corsair PC5400UL | X-Fi Fata1ity
Viewsonic VP201s + Dell 2001FP | 2x Club3D x1900xt CF | 2x WD Raptors | PCP&C 850W PSU
3dmark2001se 62845 | 3dmark05 20043 | 3dmark06 11642 | 3dmark03 36921 | pcmark05 9754
Lars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-03, 10:20 AM   #3
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default

Yes, the nforce 2.03 driver set..
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-03, 01:53 PM   #4
b00bie
night-crawler
 
b00bie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: where I always been
Posts: 203
Send a message via ICQ to b00bie Send a message via AIM to b00bie
Default

What is your mem clock and core clock at right now?
__________________
Nothing is fool-proof to a talented fool

My baby: Vaio SZ4VWN || Intel Core 2 Duo T7400 (2.16 GHz) || 2GB RAM || NVIDIA GEFORCE GO 7400 || 160GB HDD || Vista Business
My desktop: AMD Athlon 64 X2 || 2GB RAM || SAPPHIRE Radeon X1950PRO || 200GB HDD || XP Prof. SP2
Other: Not even worth mentioning...
b00bie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-03, 02:21 PM   #5
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default

They're at stock, but other stock cards can do 290fps in low dragothic, and my processor is at 200x11...
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-03, 07:35 PM   #6
cokaznrebel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 21
Send a message via AIM to cokaznrebel
Default

That is very weird, try a fresh install of windows, my ti4400 maxed out at 14500, which beats that score, and im on a barton 2500 at 2183 but only 174 FSB.........thats really low, my 9800 pro now gets around 17500 @ 174 FSB..i need new ram
__________________
EpoX 8RDA+
AMD Barton 2500+ 12.5x174
1 GB Geil PC3200 RAM
ATi Radeon 9800 pro
Maxtor diamondmax 9 Plus 80GB
Liteon DVD and 52x24x52x burner
Thermalright SLK 900u w/ UV blue fan
cokaznrebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-03, 08:26 PM   #7
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default

Bah, these tests were conducted on a fresh install, only a day or two old anyway.

Maybe this brand new "DX9b" can help me out.
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-03, 08:28 PM   #8
b00bie
night-crawler
 
b00bie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: where I always been
Posts: 203
Send a message via ICQ to b00bie Send a message via AIM to b00bie
Default

ya, my cpu is not even oc'ed just yet and I get better results without oc'ing the card. They're not way better, but yes I do get 288fps in low dragothic. I'm sorry, I don't know why though.
All I can say is, restart, turn off anything which may take up any of your cpu or mem and run again. See what you get. And also, have you tried 3DMark2003?
__________________
Nothing is fool-proof to a talented fool

My baby: Vaio SZ4VWN || Intel Core 2 Duo T7400 (2.16 GHz) || 2GB RAM || NVIDIA GEFORCE GO 7400 || 160GB HDD || Vista Business
My desktop: AMD Athlon 64 X2 || 2GB RAM || SAPPHIRE Radeon X1950PRO || 200GB HDD || XP Prof. SP2
Other: Not even worth mentioning...
b00bie is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-23-03, 10:34 PM   #9
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default

In 2k3 here is what I get. I think my results are respectable but I get terrible CPU test scores for some strange reason. This whole thing really perplexes me.

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=1053708
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-03, 10:46 PM   #10
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Is CPU Interface enabled?
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-03, 10:19 AM   #11
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default

Probably just a bad driver install, I removed them (remembered to use driverheaven's driver cleaner this time) and installed the Omega 3.6's, and here is what I get.

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=6798804

Thanks for the ideas fellas, I know even when I come here with an ati problem you'll come through, unlike other places where my questions went unnoticed.
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-03, 10:28 AM   #12
Lars
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 118
Default

Glad to hear you got it sorted out, although we didn't really sort your problem out... The new result looks much better.
__________________
Pentium E6600 ES 2.4@3.5 Ghz | Mach II GT | Asus P5WD2-E | 2GB Corsair PC5400UL | X-Fi Fata1ity
Viewsonic VP201s + Dell 2001FP | 2x Club3D x1900xt CF | 2x WD Raptors | PCP&C 850W PSU
3dmark2001se 62845 | 3dmark05 20043 | 3dmark06 11642 | 3dmark03 36921 | pcmark05 9754
Lars is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.