Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Console World

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-17-10, 03:36 PM   #1
Toss3
.<<o>>.
 
Toss3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Finland
Posts: 4,763
Default Microsoft removes the RROD from the RROD_Box Slim

Guess we'll have to come up with a new name for it!

http://www.slashgear.com/microsoft-r...x-360-1790374/

__________________
: :Asus Rampage II Gene : : Core i7 920 4011Mhz : : 6Gb 1600Mhz A-Data DDR3 : : Club3D Theatron Agrippa : : Intel 80GB SSD : : 2xSamsung F1 750Gb : : Sapphire 5850 @ 850/1225Mhz : :
: :Benq FP241W : : Optoma HD80 Projector + 92" Screen : : Genelec 8020B speakers : : Sony MDR-XB700 Headphones : : Razer Lycosa : : Razer Lachesis : :
Toss3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-10, 03:55 PM   #2
Mr. Hunt
Rectal Gravy Connoisseur
 
Mr. Hunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 8,294
Default Re: Microsoft removes the RROD from the RROD_Box Slim

I wish this to mean the problem doesn't exist anymore... but I know better than that :\.
Mr. Hunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-10, 03:58 PM   #3
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Microsoft removes the RROD from the RROD_Box Slim

haha, it will probably be replaced with GROD

what is more intersting is that old 360 has no Kinect port, so if you want to use that stupid motion crap people will have to buy new console
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-10, 04:00 PM   #4
Mr. Hunt
Rectal Gravy Connoisseur
 
Mr. Hunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 8,294
Default Re: Microsoft removes the RROD from the RROD_Box Slim

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
haha, it will probably be replaced with GROD

what is more intersting is that old 360 has no Kinect port, so if you want to use that stupid motion crap people will have to buy new console
I think you can use Kinect with an old console, it just requires its own power or whatever.
Mr. Hunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-10, 04:52 PM   #5
HiCZoK4
 
HiCZoK4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 3,467
Default Re: Microsoft removes the RROD from the RROD_Box Slim

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
haha, it will probably be replaced with GROD

what is more intersting is that old 360 has no Kinect port, so if you want to use that stupid motion crap people will have to buy new console


New 360 are Kinect ready that means You dont need too plug another power cord. Natal goes directly into console.

360 S = less cables
HiCZoK4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-10, 05:42 PM   #6
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Microsoft removes the RROD from the RROD_Box Slim

Quote:
Originally Posted by HiCZoK4 View Post
360 S = less cables

Not reason enough to buy a new one.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-10, 06:38 PM   #7
NaitoSan
Student @ DigiPen
 
NaitoSan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,069
Default Re: Microsoft removes the RROD from the RROD_Box Slim

Yeah Kinect works with original 360, just need a separate power cable (included in Kinect package) for that.
__________________
17-inch MacBook Pro: Unibody | Intel Core 2 T9800 @ 2.93GHz | Nvidia 9400M GT / 9600M GT 512MB GDDR3 | 320GB 7200RPM SATA | 4GB DDR3 PC1066 | Mac OS X v10.6 Snow Leopard | Windows 7 Professional x64

Desktop: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.6GHz | ASUS P5K Deluxe/WiFi-AP | 4GB G.Skill F2-6400PHU1 @ 800MHz 4-4-3-5 | EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB | Western Digital Raptor X 150GB | Samsung 32" HDTV | Windows 7 Professional x64

Note: English is my second language so please bear with my grammar!
NaitoSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-10, 06:32 AM   #8
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Microsoft removes the RROD from the RROD_Box Slim

So now instead of the RROD the 360 will simply box itself up and phone ahead for a courier?
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-20-10, 02:09 PM   #9
CaptnStubing
Registered User
 
CaptnStubing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,714
Default Re: Microsoft removes the RROD from the RROD_Box Slim

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Hunt View Post
I wish this to mean the problem doesn't exist anymore... but I know better than that :\.
I guess officially the problem doesn't exist any more. It's true, out of sight out of mind.

Yeah I'm not gonna buy a new system to get kinect. The add-on package is fine for me. I've got a lot of cables behind my TV. This won't even be noticed.
CaptnStubing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-10, 06:40 PM   #10
Lyme
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,682
Default Re: Microsoft removes the RROD from the RROD_Box Slim

It is now the red dot of death RDOTD
Lyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.