Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Console World

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-26-10, 04:28 AM   #13
BioHazZarD
USCM Marine
 
BioHazZarD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,369
Send a message via MSN to BioHazZarD
Default Re: Screenshot of 360 version of Crysis 2

wow killzone2 on ps3 looks ten times better then that screenshot.. big fail!
__________________
Chieftec Miditower /w 5 case fans | Corsair 620W HX PSU | Asus M4N98TD EVO SLI | AMD Athlon2 X2 260 3,2GHz | Corsair 3GB PC3-10666 | eVGA Geforce GTX 460 1GB (336shader) | Samsung Spinpoint x2 250GB HD +SATA 320GB | SB Audigy 4 @ 2.1 | Samsung Syncmaster BX2331 TFT 23" running 1920x1080@60hz | Windows XP PRO SP2 | |
BioHazZarD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-10, 05:05 AM   #14
HiCZoK4
 
HiCZoK4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 3,467
Default Re: Screenshot of 360 version of Crysis 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by BioHazZarD View Post
wow killzone2 on ps3 looks ten times better then that screenshot.. big fail!
it dont killzone is low res everything/blurry pile of ..... Its more blurried than Alan Wake
HiCZoK4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-10, 05:19 AM   #15
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Screenshot of 360 version of Crysis 2

Killzone is a blurry over-processed mess if you ask me.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-10, 05:52 AM   #16
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Screenshot of 360 version of Crysis 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by HiCZoK4 View Post
it dont killzone is low res everything/blurry pile of ..... Its more blurried than Alan Wake
HiCs. Killzone 2 looks much better than those shots of 360 Crysis. It's ok to admit you shouldn't have bought your 360. We'll still love you.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-10, 06:44 AM   #17
H3avyM3tal
SB's Twin Blades
 
H3avyM3tal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,138
Default Re: Screenshot of 360 version of Crysis 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger View Post
HiCs. Killzone 2 looks much better than those shots of 360 Crysis. It's ok to admit you shouldn't have bought your 360. We'll still love you.
Seriously.
__________________
i5 2500K - Asus Maximus IV Extreme - 8Gb Corsair Platinum @ 2133MHz - GTX 680 - WD Velociraptor 300Gb + WD Black 1Tb - OCZ Vertex 2 90Gb - TT ToughPower 850W - Corsair 800D
H3avyM3tal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-10, 07:03 AM   #18
ATi
RooR
 
ATi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,500
Default Re: Screenshot of 360 version of Crysis 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger View Post
HiCs. Killzone 2 looks much better than those shots of 360 Crysis. It's ok to admit you shouldn't have bought your 360. We'll still love you.
killzone2 does look better
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K @4.3
ASUS P8P67 (REV 3.0)
msi GTX295
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 2 x 4GB 1648
HD1.5tb
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium
corsair620HX
Windows7 64 home premium
Dell LED G2210
ATi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-10, 07:04 AM   #19
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: Screenshot of 360 version of Crysis 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter View Post
Visuals were and still are an important aspect of any game.
But not so much as you make it out be. Seriously, even if Crysis 2 does look like that on the 360, does it warrant paying 1000 dollars to purchase dual 480s for it to look slightly better? Will that change the game from unplayable, to playable? Really...

The difference in price for Crysis High vs Very high is about 1000USD... From 1 8800GTX to Dual GTX280s...

Take a look... Is this worth 1000 dollars?

H


VH
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-10, 07:06 AM   #20
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Screenshot of 360 version of Crysis 2

No. It's worth 2000!
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-26-10, 08:07 AM   #21
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Screenshot of 360 version of Crysis 2

Immersion is one of the most essential parts of a game to me, and high-end PC graphics greatly increase immersion. When I play console games I am constantly "pulled out" of the game by visual flaws.

So it is important, yes.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-10, 09:48 AM   #22
Soetdjuret
Teh lazy swede
 
Soetdjuret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Svea
Posts: 1,982
Default Re: Screenshot of 360 version of Crysis 2

Well said slawter. In fact what ive heard the problem with the consoles lays in limitation of memory. And i also heard that crysis 2 runs fine on a 9800gtx. Which is not a half-bad card but only costs about 100 dollars. U wont be needing Fermi or an SLI setup to run this game with all bolts and buttons on ... or what they use to say.

We knew crysis 1 wasn't possible on consoles, and even if they optimize the engine its still crysis were talking about and ofcourse they will have to make sacrifices to the graphics in order to make it playable on consoles which are limited compared to a 500 dollar pc machine. So they probably have to cut down on things like the textures for the cause of the memory limits that consoles have. I also think they will cut down on the drawdistance and LOD settings to earn frames per seconds.

'And i agree NarcissistZero, the immersion and atmosphere achieved with realistic and beautiful graphics is something i and many others value in new games. What would for example TES4 Oblivion been without its handcrafted caves, manually created surroundings and the effort bethesda put into making the level of visuals that was in this game? Imagine Oblivion with half-life 1 graphics. It wouldn't have been even half that good that we know and love oblivion for; its atmosphere, vast beautiful landscapes and forests. So for me, graphics are important depending what type of game am playing. I wouldn't have enjoyed metro as much as i did if it wasn't for it's brilliant graphics and atmosphere.
__________________
R.I.P Stage6 | per haud Justiciá illic exsisto haud pacís...
Soetdjuret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-10, 09:48 AM   #23
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: Screenshot of 360 version of Crysis 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by NarcissistZero View Post
Immersion is one of the most essential parts of a game to me, and high-end PC graphics greatly increase immersion. When I play console games I am constantly "pulled out" of the game by visual flaws.

So it is important, yes.
Yes, because tapping keyboard buttons and waving around a mouse while sitting on a chair does not affect immersion at all... But graphics "flaws" of consoles do that... Forgot that all PC games are photorealistic and when playing the game on the PC you can't tell the difference between a photo of the real world and the game you're playing... But you can with a console...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-10, 11:20 AM   #24
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Screenshot of 360 version of Crysis 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lfctony View Post
Yes, because tapping keyboard buttons and waving around a mouse while sitting on a chair does not affect immersion at all... But graphics "flaws" of consoles do that...
Well...

1) I have gotten so used to using KBM over 20+ years that no, it doesn't pull me out.
2) Controllers aren't any better, so what is your point?

I don't see the point in mocking the idea of being immersed in virtual worlds... for a lot of people that is the reason they game, or a major reason. There's nothing wrong with that.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.