Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-15-10, 07:22 PM   #13
supra
2JZ powered
 
supra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Aus
Posts: 1,321
Send a message via MSN to supra
Default Re: Need help, missing RAM on EVGA X58

real strange. have u tried testing each stick individually?
__________________
supra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-10, 07:25 PM   #14
supra
2JZ powered
 
supra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Aus
Posts: 1,321
Send a message via MSN to supra
Default Re: Need help, missing RAM on EVGA X58

ignore. double post.
__________________
supra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-10, 07:42 PM   #15
lee63
Classified
 
lee63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Murrieta, U.S./Taunton, U.K.
Posts: 4,263
Default Re: Need help, missing RAM on EVGA X58

Try setting MCH Strap to DRAM Ratio and then all the way at the bottom of the timings set TRL to +2....lmk if that works.
__________________
lee63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-10, 08:28 PM   #16
Yaboze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,057
Default Re: Need help, missing RAM on EVGA X58

I tried the Strap setting and TRL +2.

Still the same.

As for RAM, I can boot with any single stick in any slot. I ran Memtest on each stick by itself. All is good. The system also passes the Memtest on a cold start with 6GB in Triple Channel.

The system will see 6GB 100% on a cold start and will lose 2GB 100% of the time on a warm reboot. The Bios, Memtest, Windows and even a Linux CD will show 4GB when it happens, and all 3 modules will show as triple channel in any system utilities, like EVGA ELEET or CPUZ. When it goes to 4GB it doesn't even go down to Dual Channel, it stays at Triple. So weird.

I'm getting some other ram (G.SKill) to try tomorrow. Will report back.
Yaboze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-10, 09:27 PM   #17
supra
2JZ powered
 
supra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Aus
Posts: 1,321
Send a message via MSN to supra
Default Re: Need help, missing RAM on EVGA X58

thats real strange then. hope you get it sorted.
__________________
supra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-10, 09:41 PM   #18
lee63
Classified
 
lee63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Murrieta, U.S./Taunton, U.K.
Posts: 4,263
Default Re: Need help, missing RAM on EVGA X58

I would get the latest bios for your board then PM jAkUp either here or over at Evga forums, he's very helpful.

Good luck, sorry I couldn't help.
__________________
lee63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-10, 01:46 PM   #19
Yaboze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,057
Default Re: Need help, missing RAM on EVGA X58

[Resolved]

The GSkill Ripjaws came and I installed them. Rebooted several times, all is good. Memtest86 passed. It was the Corsair ram the whole time.
Yaboze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-10, 05:30 PM   #20
=assassin=
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 101
Default Re: Need help, missing RAM on EVGA X58

I've just had an issue like that with Corsair RAM, but the opposite way round - not detected when cold, but fine when warm after reboot. I've currently sent them back for an RMA.
=assassin= is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-18-10, 04:23 AM   #21
supra
2JZ powered
 
supra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Aus
Posts: 1,321
Send a message via MSN to supra
Default Re: Need help, missing RAM on EVGA X58

glad your back up and running.
__________________
supra is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.