Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows 7

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-16-10, 03:03 AM   #1
ir123
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 92
Default Lost some refresh rates after moving from XP to 7

I'm not sure if this is an OS or nvidia driver issue. On XP I had a CRT running with a resolution of 1440x1080@72hz or 1280x960@72hz. I installed w7 and now I have neither, not by default and not in the "show all modes" list. I don't remember which driver version it was on XP but it hadn't been updated in a few months. This on w7 is the latest driver. So is it an issue with the newer nvidia driver or with windows 7?
ir123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-10, 12:49 PM   #2
frenchy2k1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 449
Default Re: Lost some refresh rates after moving from XP to 7

you may need to install your monitor's drivers.
remark that 72Hz is a non standard frequemcy though.
__________________
As the universe is curved, there cannot be a straight answer...
frenchy2k1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-10, 04:48 PM   #3
ir123
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 92
Default Re: Lost some refresh rates after moving from XP to 7

Shouldn't matter if it's standard or not, seemed pretty standard before windows 7 and on osx and linux. The correct monitor model is displayed in the devices and settings, and last I heard of needing monitor drivers was windows 98 and then the monitor didn't work right at all without them.
ir123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-10, 07:04 PM   #4
MaXThReAT
Registered User
 
MaXThReAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: EARTH
Posts: 1,861
Default Re: Lost some refresh rates after moving from XP to 7

Welcome to the club. After weeks or months of research I've found that display drivers and monitor drivers are now dected and managed by the video card in win7. I'm locked at 85Hz. Windows has nothing to do with the refresh rates or monitor anymore, take a look on the interwebs. If you have NV it's appears to be on their side.
__________________
Gigabyte V1.1 EP45-UD3R F5
GO-Q6600@3.6GHz 1/2" D5/GTZ Block W/BIX-II Dual 120mm
Corsair 4GB Dominator DDR2-8500 5-5-5-15 2t@1066GHz
Evga 280 GTX 621/1349/2268
SB X-Fi FPS / Z-5500 + Buttkicker!

"Don't mind the posts, I've been around longer than most know."
MaXThReAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-10, 08:52 AM   #5
ir123
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 92
Default Re: Lost some refresh rates after moving from XP to 7

Thanks for the input.

It can mean there's hope if nvidia is grilled enough. But still, nvidia didn't decide to change this feature in the OS, did they?
ir123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-10, 09:07 PM   #6
MaXThReAT
Registered User
 
MaXThReAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: EARTH
Posts: 1,861
Default Re: Lost some refresh rates after moving from XP to 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by ir123 View Post
Thanks for the input.

It can mean there's hope if nvidia is grilled enough. But still, nvidia didn't decide to change this feature in the OS, did they?
I don't beleive they did. I forget where I read it but I'm sure it was an OS change. Nvidia also appears to have dropped support for CRTs. So what happens is the CRT is thought to be an LCD with a native resolution. Whatever that resoutions refresh rate is will be set as your maximum refreash rate. They seem to be working on it though because somtimes I get all my refreshe rates and sometimes I don't with each driver. I'm able to at least add them now the 260.89.
__________________
Gigabyte V1.1 EP45-UD3R F5
GO-Q6600@3.6GHz 1/2" D5/GTZ Block W/BIX-II Dual 120mm
Corsair 4GB Dominator DDR2-8500 5-5-5-15 2t@1066GHz
Evga 280 GTX 621/1349/2268
SB X-Fi FPS / Z-5500 + Buttkicker!

"Don't mind the posts, I've been around longer than most know."
MaXThReAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-10, 03:18 AM   #7
ir123
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 92
Default Re: Lost some refresh rates after moving from XP to 7

Oh, then I guess 260.99 is a bad turn. I'll try 260.89 and if it works I'm sticking with it.
ir123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-10, 03:51 AM   #8
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,716
Default Re: Lost some refresh rates after moving from XP to 7

I've removed the DDC pin from my dvi/vga adapter but now I don't get the top resolution as a default which means they don't work in games.

But no scaled resolutions which is good.
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-20-10, 06:58 PM   #9
ir123
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 92
Default Re: Lost some refresh rates after moving from XP to 7

Anyway I tried 260.89 and in my case it made no difference.
ir123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-10, 06:21 AM   #10
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,716
Default Re: Lost some refresh rates after moving from XP to 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by ir123 View Post
Anyway I tried 260.89 and in my case it made no difference.
Try 197.45
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-10, 07:06 PM   #11
ir123
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 92
Default Re: Lost some refresh rates after moving from XP to 7

That version seemed worse, but actually the solution was right in front of my face. The nvidia control panel has settings to set custom modes. This is much better if you know what to enter.
ir123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-10, 03:27 PM   #12
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,716
Default Re: Lost some refresh rates after moving from XP to 7

Please do tell, Custom res are never usable in games for me, only desktop.
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.