Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-18-11, 03:20 AM   #61
HiCZoK4
 
HiCZoK4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 3,467
Default Re: Alice: Madness Returns (American McGee's Alice 2)

30fps feels really good on console somehow. But on pc games its an abomination !
HiCZoK4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-11, 09:38 AM   #62
jkmetal
Registered User
 
jkmetal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 775
Default Re: Alice: Madness Returns (American McGee's Alice 2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailman2 View Post
some games are hard locked at 30. I dont care if it can be unlocked like Homefront and Bulletstorm. There never was a fix for one of the 007 games that was locked at 30 fps.
One of my favorite games to play on the pc, silent hill homecoming, was hard locked to 30. There has never been a fix for it. Instead of boycotting a good game I let it go. You shouldn't let the framerate lock keep you from new game experiences. A real gamer would.
__________________
Inter Q9950@stock. Scythe CPU cooler.4gigs Corsair ddr2 1066. Segate 1tb drive. Ati Theater Pro 650. Evga GTX460 768@845mhz. Win 7 64 Professional.
Dell 2007wfp S-IPS. Dell P1130. Razer Deathadder. Ducky 87 key mechanical keyboard. Xbox 360 controller for windows.
jkmetal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-11, 01:24 PM   #63
-=DVS=-
.:. Lafiel .:.
 
-=DVS=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Outerspace
Posts: 3,009
Wink Re: Alice: Madness Returns (American McGee's Alice 2)

Edit the “AliceEngine.ini” file which is located inside ‘My Documents/ My Games/ Alice Madness Returns/ AliceGame/ Config’.
Find MaxSmoothedFrameRate=31 change it to MaxSmoothedFrameRate=120 or whatever.

Source
__________________
.:. Lian Li X500FX .:. i7 2600k .:. PNY GTX 680 .:. Corsair DDR3 8GB .:. Silverstone 800W PSU .:. Asus P8P67-M Pro .:. Crucial M4 SSD 512GB .:.
-=DVS=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-11, 07:54 PM   #64
Mike89
Dude, where's my brain?
 
Mike89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: In California choking from all the liberal BS
Posts: 1,185
Default Re: Alice: Madness Returns (American McGee's Alice 2)

I got to say, I REALLY like this game. If you're not into fantasy, skip this one. If you are, this game is a treat. I just love the atmosphere, quite different and a refreshing change from the average burly macho shooter. Of course this is just my view and not meant to be anyone else's.

I had never even heard of this game until yesterday. What a pleasant surprise.
__________________
I7 3770 @ 4.4 gig (Noctua NH-U14S Heatsink), ASRock Z77 Extreme6, 16 Gigs (2x8) Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600, EVGA GTX 680 Signature 2, Acer P236H 23" (1920x1080), X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Pro, 2 WD 640 gig SATA HDDs, WD 750 gig HDD (eSata), WD 1TB Black HDD, Sandisk 32 GB ReadyCache SSD, 2 SATA DVD Burners, Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Speaker System, Corsair TX750w PSU, HSPC Top Deck Tech Station, Windows 7 Pro x64
Mike89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-11, 01:07 AM   #65
nutcrackr
Super Registered User
 
nutcrackr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,204
Default Re: Alice: Madness Returns (American McGee's Alice 2)

I just changed to - bSmoothFrameRate=FALSE in AliceEngine.ini, Also changed the damn hysteria key because enter is hardly the most appropriate button. Also deleted the intro movies in alice madness returns\AliceGame\Movies for fast start up.

So far it's pretty good, combat is involving enough with dodge, block, clockwork bomb and ranged attacks. Platforming has been easy so far with frequent checkpoints. I really don't see why there are sub 7 scores so far.
__________________
.
nutcrackr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-11, 04:46 PM   #66
Peoples-Agent
Vape Therapist
 
Peoples-Agent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,308
Default Re: Alice: Madness Returns (American McGee's Alice 2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by HiCZoK4 View Post
30fps feels really good on console somehow. But on pc games its an abomination !
Doesn't feel all that bad on a TV. Console games plugged into a monitor... feel like utter rubbish.
__________________
For The Fallen
With proud thanksgiving, a mother for her children,
England mourns for her dead across the sea.
Flesh of her flesh they were, spirit of her spirit,
Fallen in the cause of the free.
Peoples-Agent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-11, 01:24 PM   #67
HiCZoK4
 
HiCZoK4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 3,467
Default Re: Alice: Madness Returns (American McGee's Alice 2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peoples-Agent View Post
Doesn't feel all that bad on a TV. Console games plugged into a monitor... feel like utter rubbish.
I have my pc and xbox plugged under the same screen. 226bw pc display.

And I can feel great difference in games when switching input between 30fps console and 60fps game on pc. But when I dont have direct comparsion - 30fps looks good

But still. When 30fps is uncontrolable on pc with mouse - its great with analog sticks.
HiCZoK4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-11, 06:00 PM   #68
DansFace
Registered User
 
DansFace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 610
Default Re: Alice: Madness Returns (American McGee's Alice 2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike89 View Post
I got to say, I REALLY like this game. If you're not into fantasy, skip this one. If you are, this game is a treat. I just love the atmosphere, quite different and a refreshing change from the average burly macho shooter. Of course this is just my view and not meant to be anyone else's.

I had never even heard of this game until yesterday. What a pleasant surprise.
You sold me... I've been so sick of shooters. I bought it on my lunch

I played the first 30 mins of the new one and was impressed with the graphics! Everything at MAX except physxs I had to turn that to medium. I guess I need a dedicated nvidia card for high correct?

I figured maybe I should play through the first one so doing that now.. How did I miss out on this gem?!

All the new games now are like Micheal bay movies.. where is the fantasy the mystery?

Anyone great game! I suggest picking it up The graphics are amazing
__________________
Now Playing: Skyrim & BF3

i5 2500k @ 5.0 GHZ cooled with a H70, ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3, CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) , Radeon 6970 2GB, X-Fi Music, and Corsair 650w
DansFace is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-22-11, 07:05 PM   #69
mojoman0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Posts: 3,566
Default Re: Alice: Madness Returns (American McGee's Alice 2)

30fps feels a lot better on a controller than a mouse imo
mojoman0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-11, 12:26 PM   #70
DansFace
Registered User
 
DansFace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 610
Default Re: Alice: Madness Returns (American McGee's Alice 2)

Are there any texture packs for the first one?
__________________
Now Playing: Skyrim & BF3

i5 2500k @ 5.0 GHZ cooled with a H70, ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3, CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) , Radeon 6970 2GB, X-Fi Music, and Corsair 650w
DansFace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-11, 12:38 PM   #71
jkmetal
Registered User
 
jkmetal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 775
Default Re: Alice: Madness Returns (American McGee's Alice 2)

I haven't been able to play it due to some computer issues for over a week. Just finished the first chapter and I m starting to like where its going. The game itself certainly is fun and I ve always loved platformers.
__________________
Inter Q9950@stock. Scythe CPU cooler.4gigs Corsair ddr2 1066. Segate 1tb drive. Ati Theater Pro 650. Evga GTX460 768@845mhz. Win 7 64 Professional.
Dell 2007wfp S-IPS. Dell P1130. Razer Deathadder. Ducky 87 key mechanical keyboard. Xbox 360 controller for windows.
jkmetal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-11, 08:32 PM   #72
Quick420
Registered User
 
Quick420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London,Canada
Posts: 1,445
Default Re: Alice: Madness Returns (American McGee's Alice 2)

I picked this up today and so far its been pretty fun,although I had to go to the forum to figure out why my umbrella block wasnt working.Seems you cant switch the default button for the umbrella or it breaks it LOL.I managed to get it working again though.Runs pretty well on my old rig too,1680x1050 medium physx sticks at 60 fps after the ini tweak,although I had to dedicate one 8800 to physx(same with BatmanAA)I really liked the first one so when I saw it today I had no choice but to buy it.I've already made it to 19% so I'm gonna leave it alone for a day or two :-) Hope some of you guys are enjoying it as much as me.BTW it also came with the first game.
__________________
:Gaming Rig:
Asus P5N-D SLi E8400 Wolfdale@3.6ghz/TTBig TyphoonCooler 51c Orthos 3hrs
Galaxy GTX560ti-GC 296.10 Forceware 950/1900/2200,1100mv,Gts250/Physx
2x2gb Ddr2 1066mhz 4-4-4-12 1T
3xWD WD5000AAKS 500gb/sata300/ 1xSeagate 320gb Ide(tuuunz)
X-fi Fatality Pro*ASUS VH242H 24"LCD*:::Windoze 7-64bit:::
Sony DvD/Ram-Drive
Logitech G25
3dmark06 17,898 Vantage 12,851



If the light is GREEN the trap is clean
Quick420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.