Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-31-10, 07:56 PM   #1
ngoonee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 12
Default Any way to automatically switch twinview configuration?

Does the nvidia driver allow for hot-switching of twinview configuration based on plug-in event of the external monitor?

Would like to have it such that my laptop has a 1280x800 resolution if no monitor is plugged in but automatically switches to 2560x1024 when an external is plugged in.
ngoonee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-10, 11:51 AM   #2
ngoonee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 12
Default Re: Any way to automatically switch twinview configuration?

Bump. No answer?
ngoonee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-10, 03:47 PM   #3
rtcm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 51
Default Re: Any way to automatically switch twinview configuration?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ngoonee View Post
Does the nvidia driver allow for hot-switching of twinview configuration based on plug-in event of the external monitor?
Usually it's a user session daemon that asks the driver to change the mode upon receiving the event that a monitor as been (un)plugged.

The problem is that the nvidia driver doesn't implement the API that the usual daemons in GNOME, KDE, etc. are using to do just that which is XRandR >= 1.2 IIRC.

So, join your voice to the choir asking nvidia to implement that ;-)

Cheers,
Rui
rtcm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-10, 07:04 PM   #4
ngoonee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 12
Default Re: Any way to automatically switch twinview configuration?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rtcm View Post
Usually it's a user session daemon that asks the driver to change the mode upon receiving the event that a monitor as been (un)plugged.

The problem is that the nvidia driver doesn't implement the API that the usual daemons in GNOME, KDE, etc. are using to do just that which is XRandR >= 1.2 IIRC.

So, join your voice to the choir asking nvidia to implement that ;-)

Cheers,
Rui
Thanks. I understand, however, that one of the reasons xrandr 1.2 (and 1.3) support isn't implemented is because similar functionality is already offered by nvidia-settings et. al. (and has been since before xrandr 1.2 was even released. Is that true for the specific case here?
ngoonee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-10, 07:33 AM   #5
ngoonee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 12
Default Re: Any way to automatically switch twinview configuration?

Bump.
ngoonee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.