Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 400/500 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-22-10, 08:46 AM   #1
wheeljack12
Registered User
 
wheeljack12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Hamilton,Ontario,Canada
Posts: 1,191
Send a message via Skype™ to wheeljack12
Default cuda to run on non-nv gpu's

http://www.tomshardware.com/news/cud...ute,11341.html
__________________
gigabyte ga-z87x-ud3h, 8gb ddr3-1866 mhz ram in dual channel,intel xeon e3-1245v3 3.4 ghz quad core cpu, zotac gtx 770 amp 2gb 2 way sli,2x ocz agility 3 90gb ssd in raid 0,rosewill 750 watt 80 plus platinum psu,antec gx 700 case, lg 14x bluray writer,windows 8.1 64 bit pro, steelseries 6gv2 keyboard ,asus vg278he 27' 144hz 3d vision 2 lcd monitor, steelseries 6gv2 keyboard, zalman eclipse 8200dpi mouse,xbox 360 wired controller for windows,adata 16gb usb 2.0 flash drive,windows 8.1 64 bit,creative labs sb recon 3d pci-e sc

Brother's system: Asus p8z77-v lk mb, 8gb of ddr3 1600mhz ram,intel core i7 3770k 3.5 ghz cpu, intel hd 4000 igpu, ,antec earthwatts 650 watt 80 plus platinum psu,cooler master 3500 dpi spawn mouse, ican keyboard, logitech ls120 2.0 speakers, cooler master elite 343 matx case, corsair force 3 90gb ssd, pioneer bdr-208 15x bluray writer, acer g215hv 21.5' 1080p monitor,kingston usb 2.0 8gb flash drive,win 8.0 pro 64 bit,onboard realtek audio

I'd rather walk with God in the Dark than shine in the light alone.
wheeljack12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-10, 08:48 AM   #2
Vardant
 
Vardant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: EU
Posts: 1,041
Default Re: cuda to run on non-nv gpu's

Not on non-nv gpu's, but on cpu's.
Vardant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-10, 03:00 PM   #3
jeffmd
Has a vegetation fetish
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,816
Default Re: cuda to run on non-nv gpu's

yea, sounds like nvidia want's to allow apps like the gpu version of folding@ to run on cpu's as well (bad example, but the work units for the CUDA client are different and can't be run one the cpu client atm. this would help allow this).

I am not sure how helpfull this will be performance wise, it would be faster to design a piece of code to run on a cpu and under 2-4 threads then for cuda and then through and interpreter that then stuffs the 100-200 threads under the cpu.
__________________
_________________________________________________
Mobo: EVGA 122-ck-nf68 680i sli, CPU: C2D Quad 6600, Video: EVGA GTX 460 1gb SC, Sound: X-fi gaming, Windows 7, Antec P180b,Thermalright Ultra-120 HSF, Antec TruPower TP3-650, 4 Gigs RAM
jeffmd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-10, 04:05 AM   #4
jlippo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 532
Default Re: cuda to run on non-nv gpu's

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffmd View Post
yea, sounds like nvidia want's to allow apps like the gpu version of folding@ to run on cpu's as well (bad example, but the work units for the CUDA client are different and can't be run one the cpu client atm. this would help allow this).

I am not sure how helpfull this will be performance wise, it would be faster to design a piece of code to run on a cpu and under 2-4 threads then for cuda and then through and interpreter that then stuffs the 100-200 threads under the cpu.
The additional performance is not the main point, but the ability to have same software for clients who have CPU only systems and might be interested for to change to GPUS if need in future.
jlippo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.