Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 400/500 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-11-10, 11:12 AM   #1
Cabs21
New User
 
Cabs21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 6
Default GTX 460 Power Req.

Hi, I recently received Starcraft 2 and would like to see some of the detail and effort put into the graphics. My laptop does not handle well at the lowest setting and looking to upgrade to a GTX 460 with 1GB and some overclocking for my desktop. I am all ready to purchase but getting worried about power supply requirements. I have a OCZ 700W supply (GameXStream OCZ700GXSSLI-B)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817341034

I am not sure the 12v rails will output enough AMPs. I have seen people say yes and no and would like a more straight forward answer. I know the specs for the GTX 460 call for 24 AMPs at 12V but my supply only says 18 AMPs on 12V. Can I combined two unused rails to crate over 30 AMPs at 12V or am I going to need a new supply.

Thanks for your input.
Cabs21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-10, 11:45 AM   #2
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: GTX 460 Power Req.

I think you would be fine. In my experience, OCZ do not make the best power supplies, but you should be ok.
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-10, 11:46 AM   #3
Eltigre88
ASUS Lover!!!
 
Eltigre88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Essex Jct. Vermont
Posts: 1,061
Default Re: GTX 460 Power Req.

12.2 GIGAWATTS!!!!
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth P67
Intel SB 2600K 4.4 GhZ
16 GB Gskill RipJaws DDR3 2133
MSI 680GTX Twin Frozr 4GD5/OC, Galaxy 680GTX 4GB GC SLI
Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
ThermalTake ToughPower 850W PSU
Windows 8 Pro 64bit
16076 3dMark11 score
Eltigre88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-10, 11:48 AM   #4
Cabs21
New User
 
Cabs21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 6
Default Re: GTX 460 Power Req.

I only bought the power supply since it was on sale and needed one for a home network, was planning on putting many hard drives in and needed one with lots of rails and Watts. I did find out that the PCIe rails are not shared but two separate 12V rails if that will make any difference.
Cabs21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-10, 11:56 AM   #5
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: GTX 460 Power Req.

That PSU will run a GTX 460 no problem. I'm using a 5870, which uses a fair bit more power compared to the GTX 460, and I had the exact same PSU as you've got for 5 years before now. It worked just fine.

Bear in mind, the fan on the PSU can get loud under load, and it will probably die after a while. That PSU got to the point where it was finicky about when it would turn the computer on. That did it for me, so I replaced it with an awesome 750-watt corsair unit.


Hopefully you'll have better luck than I did.
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-10, 11:58 AM   #6
Cabs21
New User
 
Cabs21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 6
Default Re: GTX 460 Power Req.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Madpistol View Post
That PSU will run a GTX 460 no problem. I'm using a 5870, which uses a fair bit more power compared to the GTX 460, and I had the exact same PSU as you've got for 5 years before now. It worked just fine.

Bear in mind, the fan on the PSU can get loud under load, and it will probably die after a while. That PSU got to the point where it was finicky about when it would turn the computer on. That did it for me, so I replaced it with an awesome 750-watt corsair unit.


Hopefully you'll have better luck than I did.
Thanks a lot. Will post how it goes when I get the GTX 460.
Cabs21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-10, 01:24 PM   #7
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default Re: GTX 460 Power Req.

You'll be good to go. The 12V rails are solid, and I can tell you my system pulls ~ 300W under full load with this card and the rest of the system you see in my signature.

I'm even probably going to try and eek out a GTX 460 SLI setup from this PSU when I upgrade.
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-10, 02:58 PM   #8
fugu_fish
Registered User
 
fugu_fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 184
Default Re: GTX 460 Power Req.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cabs21 View Post
Hi, I recently received Starcraft 2 and would like to see some of the detail and effort put into the graphics. My laptop does not handle well at the lowest setting and looking to upgrade to a GTX 460 with 1GB and some overclocking for my desktop. I am all ready to purchase but getting worried about power supply requirements. I have a OCZ 700W supply (GameXStream OCZ700GXSSLI-B)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817341034

I am not sure the 12v rails will output enough AMPs. I have seen people say yes and no and would like a more straight forward answer. I know the specs for the GTX 460 call for 24 AMPs at 12V but my supply only says 18 AMPs on 12V. Can I combined two unused rails to crate over 30 AMPs at 12V or am I going to need a new supply.

Thanks for your input.
I have the same PSU and it handled 1 GTX-460 1GB just fine. I used the 2 PCIe power connectors. (It also handled my old GTX-285 just fine)

It would not handle 2 however and wouldn't even power the system on. Replaced it with a Corsair TX850 for about $100.
__________________

|Antec 900/GB X58A-UD3R|i7-930 @3.6|6GB OCZ|Corsair TX850|Hannspree HF289H 28" monitor |GB GTX460 SLI|Xonar DX|Seagate Hybrid 500GB| WD6400AAKS 640GB/SG 320GB|WD Caviar Black 1TB |Samsung SH-203B |Windows 7 Pro x64 |Sennheiser HD-280
fugu_fish is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-19-10, 11:40 PM   #9
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default Re: GTX 460 Power Req.

Oof, that's a bit of a hit to my hopes of using my 620W in SLI haha!
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-10, 06:03 AM   #10
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: GTX 460 Power Req.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stncttr908 View Post
Oof, that's a bit of a hit to my hopes of using my 620W in SLI haha!
If you get a high quality Corsair 620-watt PSU, you should be able to do SLI GTX 460's. However, to be on the safe side, I would recommend at least a 700-watt unit with 4 pci-e power connectors.
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-10, 11:24 PM   #11
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,857
Default Re: GTX 460 Power Req.

You should have no problems running a GTX 460 1gig with that power supply.
__________________
Intel i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16gigs G.Skill PC1600DDR3+2-ASUS DirectCU II GTX-670 in SLI+Crucial 256g-SSD+1-3Gig Seagate+2- Samsung 1-TB+3-WesternDigtial 640g+LG-12x Blu-Ray Burner+850watt XFX+Antec-P280 case+50" Plasma PM6700+Logitech Mouse+Keyboard+Pioneer VSX-1020+Polk Audio Speakers
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-10, 09:31 AM   #12
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default Re: GTX 460 Power Req.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Madpistol View Post
If you get a high quality Corsair 620-watt PSU, you should be able to do SLI GTX 460's. However, to be on the safe side, I would recommend at least a 700-watt unit with 4 pci-e power connectors.
It will be worth a shot!
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.