Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > General Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-18-10, 11:00 AM   #1
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default A problem in GNOME

Ok...I am giving GNOME another shot.

I have GNOME 2.30 installed, but for some reason, I can do a shutdown in GNOME. When I choose to shutdown or restart, my laptop will just go back to the login screen. Any ideas on how to resolve this?

Thanks.
DiscipleDOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-10, 11:32 AM   #2
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: A problem in GNOME

Are you using LTSP (Linux terminal server) client? This is on OpenSUSE?

I think the shutdown option is suppressed when LTSP is set, I only know this after seeing some posts about it, so I can't offer any real insight...
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-10, 11:34 AM   #3
bacon12
Registered User
 
bacon12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,532
Default Re: A problem in GNOME

Yea use KDE. :P
bacon12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-10, 11:39 AM   #4
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default Re: A problem in GNOME

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1 View Post
Are you using LTSP (Linux terminal server) client? This is on OpenSUSE?

I think the shutdown option is suppressed when LTSP is set, I only know this after seeing some posts about it, so I can't offer any real insight...
Hmmm...I don't know. When I log in, I log directly into the GNOME desktop environment...
Quote:
Originally Posted by bacon12 View Post
Yea use KDE. :P
DiscipleDOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-10, 12:23 PM   #5
Sean_W
Registered User
 
Sean_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,423
Default Re: A problem in GNOME

Try switching the login manager to GDM in YaST(install it first if it's not).

Old but should work the same http://www.novell.com/coolsolutions/feature/15333.html
Sean_W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-10, 12:55 PM   #6
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default Re: A problem in GNOME

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean_W View Post
Try switching the login manager to GDM in YaST(install it first if it's not).

Old but should work the same http://www.novell.com/coolsolutions/feature/15333.html
Yep...I tried that, and it didn't work. When I choose the shutdown command from an applet/menu, it logs me out as if I chose the log out command. I can still shutdown by doing it from the console, but that's not how it should be.

KDE still works fine.


Thanks for your help guys.
DiscipleDOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-10, 01:10 PM   #7
Sean_W
Registered User
 
Sean_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,423
Default Re: A problem in GNOME

Sounds like a permissions issue. Try and add yourself to the 'power' group in the user and group option in YaST.
Sean_W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-10, 05:30 AM   #8
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: A problem in GNOME

Quote:
Originally Posted by bacon12 View Post
Yea use KDE. :P
Never again

Installed it and spent the next hour and a half learning to rescue my install. Lost X completely, couldn't even boot to a log in screen. killed my fglrx too..

Heh, never again.

Sorry for the hijack Doc, needed to vent and didn't want to make another thread!

Back on topic
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-19-10, 08:32 AM   #9
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default Re: A problem in GNOME

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1 View Post
Never again

Installed it and spent the next hour and a half learning to rescue my install. Lost X completely, couldn't even boot to a log in screen. killed my fglrx too..

Heh, never again.

Sorry for the hijack Doc, needed to vent and didn't want to make another thread!

Back on topic
No probs....because I feel the same about GNOME. I've never had so many problems as I do with GNOME. Maybe if I did a clean install and started with GNOME, it would probably go better, but I'm not going to use it.
DiscipleDOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-10, 10:17 AM   #10
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: A problem in GNOME

Quote:
Originally Posted by DiscipleDOC View Post
No probs....because I feel the same about GNOME. I've never had so many problems as I do with GNOME. Maybe if I did a clean install and started with GNOME, it would probably go better, but I'm not going to use it.
I hear you DD. I too think a clean install with one or the other may be the way to go, but I will say it was a good learning experience.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-10, 10:19 AM   #11
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default Re: A problem in GNOME

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1 View Post
I hear you DD. I too think a clean install with one or the other may be the way to go, but I will say it was a good learning experience.
Yup...it taught me to steer clear of GNOME!
DiscipleDOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-10, 10:35 AM   #12
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: A problem in GNOME

Quote:
Originally Posted by DiscipleDOC View Post
Yup...it taught me to steer clear of GNOME!
hater
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.