Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-21-10, 10:52 PM   #37
JasonPC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,103
Default Re: Crysis 2 - New screenshots *DROOL*

I don't know if it's drivers or hardware or what, but DX10 mode in Crysis/Crysis Warhead actually runs faster for me now than DX9. Originally DX10 used to drag down the framerate a good bit. I hope DX11 runs even faster. For most DX11 titles there is a performance increase compared to DX9 (with no additional graphic features).
JasonPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-10, 11:01 PM   #38
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: Crysis 2 - New screenshots *DROOL*

So, the hologram stuff, you HAVE to buy the special super-duper edition to get that stuff?



I ****ing HATE the b.s. of having to buy all the special editions just for weapons skins and minor items.
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-10, 11:27 PM   #39
dikinher
Grab em!
 
dikinher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Fullerton, CA.
Posts: 744
Default Re: Crysis 2 - New screenshots *DROOL*

http://www.pcgameshardware.com/aid,7...mization/News/

Quote:
At the Gamescom 2010 PC Games Hardware was given the oportunity of gathering detailed information on the CryEngine 3 which will be used in Crysis 2: DirectX 11 including compute shader and tessellation, multicore-rendering, stereoscopic 3D, cineastic effects and more
__________________
Windows 7 Pro 64 OS * i7 2600K @4.5Ghz * ASUS P8P67 PRO (B3) * 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws X *
EVGA GTX 670 FTW Edition * Cooler Master HAF 932
dikinher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-10, 12:27 AM   #40
trivium nate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,023
Default Re: Crysis 2 - New screenshots *DROOL*

woohoo multicore!
__________________
CM-HAF-932//AMD Phenom-II-X4-965-BE-Deneb-3.4 GHz-Quad Core//CorsairH50
ASRock 770 EXTREME3 Mobo//EVGA GTX-480(1536MB GDDR5)-Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme+cooler
180GB SSD//3TB//G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB//DVD-RW//blu-Ray//1000 Watt Corsair PSU
42"Vizio TV-1920x1080-1080P-120Hertz//Win 7 Ultimate(64)//XBox360-pc controller
Saitek Eclipse 2 keyboard//Razer DeathAdder Mouse//250gb-Xbox 360//160gb-PS3
trivium nate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-10, 09:31 AM   #41
YodaStar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 165
Default Re: Crysis 2 - New screenshots *DROOL*

Another offscreen video of fairly good uality compared to other vids. Shows PC version and 360 version (different maps).



Download the video direct from the site for best quality version (~168MB).

http://www.spaziogames.it/xml/download.asp?id=5465

http://www.spaziogames.it/videorecen.../crysis-2.aspx
YodaStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-10, 10:13 AM   #42
H4yd3n
Embrace the plague!
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: California
Posts: 194
Default Re: Crysis 2 - New screenshots *DROOL*

Quote:
Originally Posted by YodaStar View Post
Another offscreen video of fairly good uality compared to other vids. Shows PC version and 360 version (different maps).



Download the video direct from the site for best quality version (~168MB).

http://www.spaziogames.it/xml/download.asp?id=5465

http://www.spaziogames.it/videorecen.../crysis-2.aspx
Looks like that guy actually played Crysis Wars multiplayer. He knew basic strafing mechanics and had a relatively fast reaction time.
__________________

- Q6600 @ 3.06GHz @ 1.2V - EVGA GTX 260 216 801/1338/1727 - ABIT IP35 Pro -
- ZALMAN 9700 - CM Stacker 830 - BENQ 24" LCD - 500 GB Seagate HDD -
- G.Skill 4GB 2 x 2 DDR2 - CM 1000W PSU -
- Logitech G500 - Logitech G15 Gaming Keyboard - Razer eXactMat -
- Logitech G35 - ASUS Black DVD/CD drive - Windows Vista Home Premium x64 -


Quote:
"History will be kind to me for I intend to write it."
- Winston Churchill
H4yd3n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-10, 08:01 AM   #43
trivium nate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,023
Default Re: Crysis 2 - New screenshots *DROOL*

more info hope this hasnt been posted

linky
http://www.pcgameshardware.com/aid,7...mization/News/

Quote:
Crysis 2: Technological fireworks
On an XBOX 360 or a PS3, Crysis 2 runs at 1.280 x 720 (720p) without anti aliasing with 30 fps (vertically synchronised; wether double or triple buffering was enabled Sean couldn't tell us). The CryEngine-3-maxim corresponds with what John Carmack said about the id-tech-5-engine (rage): Due to the consoles the engineers had to massively optimize the engine. Deferred lighting for example demands lots of input performance but it allows displaying very many light sources plus dynamic shadows. One can also expect the CE3 to use multi-core-CPUs to full capacity. In short: At comparable graphics the game will run more smoothly than its predecessors based on the CE2. The presentation was done on a Core-i7-920 with 6 GiByte RAM and a Geforce GTX 260 with DirectX 9. As far as we've seen it, the demonstration ran smoothly - despite some toying around with the effects in the Sandbox 3.

So, Sean showed to us the implementation of many light sources in deferred lighting plus real time shadows, particles, the AI, the reengineered physics and some other cool features such as the scripting system. As already mentioned, the demonstration ran on DirectX 9. But the Cryengine 3 also packs DirectX 10 and 11and in a few months it will be delivered to the first licencees. The most important feature are the compute shaders who will accelerate computing deferred lighting and post effects. The engineers are still experimenting on tessellation but we expect it to be seen in Crysis 2.

Crysis 2: Up to 8 CPU-Cores can be used
When it comes to cinematic effects, the CE3 includes everything there is: ambient occlusion, depth of field, (object) motion blur, even the bokeh filter. In addition it is highly optimized for multi core systems: rendering, audio, AI, physics and so on are parallelised and accelerate the game - up to eight cores would be used. Sean assured us, that the Cryengine 3 would render nearly twice as many fps as the CE2 at comparable graphics quality.
__________________
CM-HAF-932//AMD Phenom-II-X4-965-BE-Deneb-3.4 GHz-Quad Core//CorsairH50
ASRock 770 EXTREME3 Mobo//EVGA GTX-480(1536MB GDDR5)-Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme+cooler
180GB SSD//3TB//G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB//DVD-RW//blu-Ray//1000 Watt Corsair PSU
42"Vizio TV-1920x1080-1080P-120Hertz//Win 7 Ultimate(64)//XBox360-pc controller
Saitek Eclipse 2 keyboard//Razer DeathAdder Mouse//250gb-Xbox 360//160gb-PS3
trivium nate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-10, 12:29 PM   #44
Sean_W
Registered User
 
Sean_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,423
Default Re: Crysis 2 - New screenshots *DROOL*

So in DX9 mode, people won't be able to use AA because they're using Deferred Lighting, but DX10/DX11 will.

Fancy having to support 3 graphics API versions.
Sean_W is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-24-10, 01:28 PM   #45
YodaStar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 165
Default Re: Crysis 2 - New screenshots *DROOL*

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean_W View Post
So in DX9 mode, people won't be able to use AA because they're using Deferred Lighting, but DX10/DX11 will.

Fancy having to support 3 graphics API versions.
CE3 DX9 mode supports AA. It's just a mather of either game engine devs or graphic card driver devs to work around API limitations. Crytek did it. The Gamescon PC demo ran in DX9 mode with MSAA enabled to estimated 4x value, thus 4xMSAA. PCGH typed r_displayinfo at console prompt and this was revealed aswell as solid 60fps, 1080p etc.

IIRC CE2/Crysis also had 'hacks' to do stuff in DX9 that was otherwise not possible by API restrictions.
YodaStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-10, 02:08 PM   #46
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default Re: Crysis 2 - New screenshots *DROOL*

Meh
DiscipleDOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-10, 12:59 AM   #47
jlippo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 532
Default Re: Crysis 2 - New screenshots *DROOL*

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean_W View Post
So in DX9 mode, people won't be able to use AA because they're using Deferred Lighting, but DX10/DX11 will.

Fancy having to support 3 graphics API versions.
They will drop DX10, but will most likely support SM4 trough DX11.
jlippo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-10, 08:26 PM   #48
dikinher
Grab em!
 
dikinher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Fullerton, CA.
Posts: 744
Default Re: Crysis 2 - New screenshots *DROOL*

Quote:
Originally Posted by trivium nate View Post
more info hope this hasnt been posted

linky
http://www.pcgameshardware.com/aid,7...mization/News/
It has. I posted it. Just look 4 posts above you.
__________________
Windows 7 Pro 64 OS * i7 2600K @4.5Ghz * ASUS P8P67 PRO (B3) * 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws X *
EVGA GTX 670 FTW Edition * Cooler Master HAF 932
dikinher is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.