Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-21-10, 07:52 PM   #1
UberRN69
Registered User
 
UberRN69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Saratoga Springs, Utah
Posts: 230
Default AMD Phenom II X4 965 Increasing Multiplier vs FSB

OK, I'm sure this is post prior but a search gives too many results.

Just picked up a 965BE and a MSI 890FXA-GD70 motherboard (Just a lower cost upgrade this time). I'm coming from a Q6600 (I'll post it FS soon) which I OC'd simply by adjusting the FSB from 266mHz to 345mHz to get a OC of 3.11GHz.

I'm noticing that with the Phenom's, people are only increasing the multiplier and pretty much leaving the FSB alone (I only spent about 45 minutes searching this, so maybe I'm wrong).

Is there a reason for this. I always thought that increasing FSB would not only increase your OC, but improve MB bandwidth.

Any incite would be appreciated.

Cheers
__________________
Lian-Li Case, MSI 890FXA-GD70, AMD Phenom II 965BE OC'd @ 3.9GHz with ZALMAN CNPS9900ALED, OCZ AMD Black Edition 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3 1600, XFX HD 5870 1GB with AC Accelero Twin Turbo Pro @ 920/1250, X-Fi XtremeGamer, WD Caviar Black 500GB x2 in RAID 0, WD Caviar Black 500GB for Backup, Pioneer DVR-115DBK & LG Blu-Ray GGC-H20LK, KINGWIN LZG-700 GOLD 700W, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit
UberRN69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-10, 09:27 PM   #2
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: AMD Phenom II X4 965 Increasing Multiplier vs FSB

Almost all people with Black Edition Phenoms up the multiplier. I've done that with my two x3 720BE's with good results. With a regular Phenom you're stuck using the FSB which makes things a little trickier. Like you said though, it does increase bandwidth, but the thing there is that you have to make sure all of your other components can handle that extra bandwidth, like your RAM. I'm receiving my x6 1055t soon which is not a Black Edition, so I'm going to soon experience the trials of FSB (HTT) overclocking again. I remember the days before PCI locks and dividers when this stuff was much more finnicky... but I found a kinda special Abit KT266a board that could handle up to 193 fsb, a GF3 ti500 that could handle 83mhz AGP, and an SBLive! 5.1 that could handle high PCI speeds... and I coupled that stuff with some high-speed RAM and a 200 fsb capable Athlon XP chip and ended up with a very high-performance rig.
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-10, 09:50 PM   #3
UberRN69
Registered User
 
UberRN69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Saratoga Springs, Utah
Posts: 230
Default Re: AMD Phenom II X4 965 Increasing Multiplier vs FSB

Thanks for the reply.

While increasing the multiplier is the easiest, most direct way to OC your CPU, I would have just thought that bumping the FSB to let's say 233mHz would just be another component to OC'ing.

But almost all of the searches I dug up guys were pretty much not touching the FSB, maybe an increase to 208mHz. It left me wondering if AMD CPUs freak out with FSB increases.
__________________
Lian-Li Case, MSI 890FXA-GD70, AMD Phenom II 965BE OC'd @ 3.9GHz with ZALMAN CNPS9900ALED, OCZ AMD Black Edition 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3 1600, XFX HD 5870 1GB with AC Accelero Twin Turbo Pro @ 920/1250, X-Fi XtremeGamer, WD Caviar Black 500GB x2 in RAID 0, WD Caviar Black 500GB for Backup, Pioneer DVR-115DBK & LG Blu-Ray GGC-H20LK, KINGWIN LZG-700 GOLD 700W, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit
UberRN69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-10, 03:05 AM   #4
Viral
Registered User of Women
 
Viral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,523
Default Re: AMD Phenom II X4 965 Increasing Multiplier vs FSB

They're fine with base clock ("FSB") adjustments as long as you set the Hyper transport multiplier lower accordingly. If you don't do that you will get instability at around 220MHz+ because the HTT bus is running out of spec. The gains over using just the multiplier won't be noticable though so most people just use it for small adjustments to get that last bit out of their chip.

You'll see the more gains from finding your max stable overclock for the CPU and then also try overclocking the north bridge clock which controls memory and other functions. Standard it's only set to 2GHz so if you can get it to 2.5-2.8GHz it makes a noticable difference.
__________________
Q9550 w/ Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme | 4GB Team Xtreme Dark 800MHz CL4 | Gigabyte X48-DS5
ASUS Radeon 5870 | 240GB OCZ Vertex 2 | 1TB WD Green Power | BenQ V2400W 24" LCD
Corsair HX-1000w | LG GGW-H20L 6x DL Blu-Ray Burner/HD-DVD Reader | Coolermaster Cosmos S

Acer TravelMate 4002WNLCi: Pentium M 725 @ 1.6GHz | Mobility Radeon 9700/64MB | 2GB DDR400 | 15.4" WXGA
Viral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-10, 08:37 AM   #5
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: AMD Phenom II X4 965 Increasing Multiplier vs FSB

Setting the North Bridge higher will yield performance gains. If you just up your CPU multiplier to 19x (3.8Ghz) and leave the NB alone, you will see a performance gain. However, if you up the NB frequency, you will see more data throughput, and thus, performance will actually be better than if you just increase the multiplier. Remember, though, that if you increase the NB frequency, you will have to increase the NB voltage as well. Since the NB is on chip on AMD processors, it will increase heat output on your processor, so be mindful of that.

It's a balancing act between heat and performance, though the sweet spot for the NB is around 2400-2600mhz. Above that is nice if your board/chip can handle it, but remember that heat will increase dramatically if you set the NB voltage over about 1.2v.

That's been my experience. Check out AMD's forums if you're dead set on becoming an overclocking pro on these chips. Those guys have a lot of insight.



For reference, I've got my 965BE at 3.8Ghz. I left the multiplier at stock (17x) and increase the FSB to 224mhz. I've got my FSB multiplier @ 11x, so NB is 2464mhz. Memory is at about 1500mhz.

Voltage at this level will vary based on your chip's capabilities.
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-10, 09:27 AM   #6
Johnny C
Passing you @ 192mph
 
Johnny C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada, EH!
Posts: 779
Default Re: AMD Phenom II X4 965 Increasing Multiplier vs FSB

See sig for my Phenom O/C....
__________________
Phenom II 965BE @ 3.9ghz 200X19.5 1.4625 vcore 2.8ghz NB 2.4ghz HT - Asus M4A79XTD-EVO bios 0604 - 12GB Corsair DDR3 1600 @ 1600mhz CAS 9 w/1T - XFX 6970 2GB 950/1450 - Xigmatek S1283 HSF - Antec 900 - Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Johnny C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-10, 10:10 PM   #7
UberRN69
Registered User
 
UberRN69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Saratoga Springs, Utah
Posts: 230
Default Re: AMD Phenom II X4 965 Increasing Multiplier vs FSB

Thanks for all the feedback, cleared it up nicely.
__________________
Lian-Li Case, MSI 890FXA-GD70, AMD Phenom II 965BE OC'd @ 3.9GHz with ZALMAN CNPS9900ALED, OCZ AMD Black Edition 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3 1600, XFX HD 5870 1GB with AC Accelero Twin Turbo Pro @ 920/1250, X-Fi XtremeGamer, WD Caviar Black 500GB x2 in RAID 0, WD Caviar Black 500GB for Backup, Pioneer DVR-115DBK & LG Blu-Ray GGC-H20LK, KINGWIN LZG-700 GOLD 700W, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit
UberRN69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.