Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Old 09-05-02, 08:58 AM   #1
eL_PuSHeR

Default I give up: WinXP + AGP + ALi

After trying all that I know of, and I am not a newbie, I regret to say I must give up. I installed WinXP Prof. on a friend's computer (ALi Aladdin V chipset) and there is no way to enable AGP texture acceleration as shown when you run DXDIAG. What the heck!!! I have tried everything I know of. Changing bios values, changing AGP drivers, changing detonators (card is a TNT2), etc... I'm really pissed off.
Creative GeForce4 Ti4200
Integrated CMI8738 audio
eL_PuSHeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-02, 03:59 PM   #2
The Baron

RivaTuner.

Something like ALICompat mode under Power User.
Old 09-06-02, 07:13 AM   #3
eL_PuSHeR

Talking

Ooops!

Forgot to mention that I had already tried the EnableALiAGP trick with rivatuner, but to no avail.
It seems this just works for some configs not all.
Creative GeForce4 Ti4200
Integrated CMI8738 audio
Old 09-06-02, 11:37 AM   #4
ToastGodSupreme

Send a message via AIM to ToastGodSupreme

Ok, so this may or may not help...

I have an ASUS TUA266 (ALi® Apollo Pro 5T chipset (M1651T and M1535D+)).

I have a GF2MX.

I have a Celly 900 @1Ghz+ (I forget the exact number, seeing as how I can't achieve the 1.2Ghz with it, I left it at it's most stable and forgotten).

512Mb SDR Crucial

Now did you go to the ALi site and try the AGP drivers (no, not for a video card, but for the controller)? They do help.

Just grab the integrated installer and throw the AGP and IDE miniport drivers in. But do NOT, I repeat, do NOT install the IDE controller drivers separately.

I ****ed around with those badboys for 3 days trying to figure out why I couldn't use them. Each time, my system hive would become corrupted. And ONLY when I used those specific IDE controller drivers.

Umm, lets see, what else... I'm also using DET 30.xx (30.30 is preferred by me, then 30.82).