Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-24-10, 11:59 AM   #1
Maverick123w
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Maverick123w
Thumbs up Bulldozer Chips will most likely be a drop-in for AM3 boards

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...ps,2724-4.html

Go down to microarchitectures.

Hopefully this stays true for those of use who went AMD.
Maverick123w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-10, 03:09 PM   #2
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Bulldozer Chips will most likely be a drop-in for AM3 boards

I love how AMD doesn't go through sockets like tampons.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-10, 03:11 PM   #3
bacon12
Registered User
 
bacon12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,532
Default Re: Bulldozer Chips will most likely be a drop-in for AM3 boards

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maverick123w View Post
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...ps,2724-4.html

Go down to microarchitectures.

Hopefully this stays true for those of use who went AMD.
You better hope that you mobo maker will release a bios update so you can drop it in. If its more than 12 months old its a good chance they won't.
bacon12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-10, 05:45 PM   #4
Maverick123w
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Maverick123w
Default Re: Bulldozer Chips will most likely be a drop-in for AM3 boards

Quote:
Originally Posted by bacon12 View Post
You better hope that you mobo maker will release a bios update so you can drop it in. If its more than 12 months old its a good chance they won't.
Its been on the market less than 6 months...

but gizmodo reports that the 8 core bulldozer will not work in current am3 sockets... only AM3+

http://gizmodo.com/5620423/amd-annou...-bulldozer-cpu
Maverick123w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-10, 01:54 PM   #5
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Bulldozer Chips will most likely be a drop-in for AM3 boards

Well, AM2+ chips would work in AM2 sockets, just with reduced functionality and features. I'm pretty certain AM3+ will work much the same way.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-10, 07:21 PM   #6
Quick420
Registered User
 
Quick420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London,Canada
Posts: 1,445
Default Re: Bulldozer Chips will most likely be a drop-in for AM3 boards

The name itself BULLDOZER is my selling point....Time to try another Amd product I suppose.
__________________
:Gaming Rig:
Asus P5N-D SLi E8400 Wolfdale@3.6ghz/TTBig TyphoonCooler 51c Orthos 3hrs
Galaxy GTX560ti-GC 296.10 Forceware 950/1900/2200,1100mv,Gts250/Physx
2x2gb Ddr2 1066mhz 4-4-4-12 1T
3xWD WD5000AAKS 500gb/sata300/ 1xSeagate 320gb Ide(tuuunz)
X-fi Fatality Pro*ASUS VH242H 24"LCD*:::Windoze 7-64bit:::
Sony DvD/Ram-Drive
Logitech G25
3dmark06 17,898 Vantage 12,851



If the light is GREEN the trap is clean
Quick420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-10, 12:41 AM   #7
AthlonXP1800
Registered User
 
AthlonXP1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,352
Default Re: Bulldozer Chips will most likely be a drop-in for AM3 boards

AMD confirmed Bulldozer will use new AM3+ socket because of new HyperTransport 3.1 bus running at 3.2GHz vs 2.6GHz on HyperTransport 3.0 bus.

http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/cpu/dis...irst_Time.html

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HyperTransport
__________________
Intel Core i7 3770K, Corsair H80 liquid cooler with Noctua S12-1200 fan, ASUS P8Z77V with UEFI 2104, 16GB Samsung Green 30nm DDR3-RAM, Pioneer BDR-S09XLT 16x Blu-ray writer, Corsair AX850 PSU, Western Digital 2TB SATA3 hard drive, CanonScan LiDE 210 scanner, Microsoft Internet Keyboard, Microsoft Touch Explorer mouse, 32inch Sharp LC32LE600 LED TV, EVGA Geforce GTX 670 SC 4GB with Geforce 370.50 driver, 50Mb broadband Virgin Media VMDG480 Super Hub, Aspire Xplorer Midi Tower, Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit.
AthlonXP1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-10, 10:22 AM   #8
Maverick123w
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Maverick123w
Default Re: Bulldozer Chips will most likely be a drop-in for AM3 boards

Guess I'll have to decide between sandybridge and am3+ now.
Maverick123w is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-03-10, 10:25 AM   #9
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: Bulldozer Chips will most likely be a drop-in for AM3 boards

I'll be grabbing an NVIDIA-chipset equipped AM3+ board as soon as I can, most definitely. I think it's almost time for me to try an nForce out once again.
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-10, 10:39 AM   #10
Maverick123w
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Maverick123w
Default Re: Bulldozer Chips will most likely be a drop-in for AM3 boards

I'm thinking about trying an nforce board as well. I'd like to sell this 470 and get two 460s.
Maverick123w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-10, 11:48 AM   #11
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: Bulldozer Chips will most likely be a drop-in for AM3 boards

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter View Post
Good. This should finally silence all the AMD fanboys that think keeping the same socket for multiple years is a good thing It's not, it's holding the tech back.
It's still gonna be the same basic socket design, slawter. That's why AM3 CPUs will work in AM2+ and AM2 boards, so it's likely that AM3+ will also work in AM2 (with a BIOS upgrade).

And it IS a good thing. How's it holding tech back? Your post only makes you sound like some sort of Intel fanboy trying to justify an expensive and non-modular purchase that only posts negligible gains over bang-for-the-buck AMD hardware.
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-10, 01:45 PM   #12
Bearclaw
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Bulldozer Chips will most likely be a drop-in for AM3 boards

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter View Post
Just look at AMDs highest end CPU offering. It still uses the old base socket. Now compare it to current Intel CPUs, Intel is faster and has more features.

For example, AMD talked about integrated GPUs for years. They don't have them yet. Intel does.
Intel is not afraid to change the socket if necessary, if it helps bring new tech to the market.

If you like it or not, that's personal taste.
This. While I like that sockets don't change simply for easier upgrade, matter of the fact is - new sockets bring new tech.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.