Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-23-10, 08:35 PM   #1
hl_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 138
Default Compute Visual Profiler and PowerMizer

I've encountered yet another PowerMizer bug. It seems to be quite simple:

1. Set PowerMizer mode to "Adaptive". Check that levels go up and down depending on load.
2. Run Compute Visual Profiler and profile an OpenCL program.
3. Performance Level is now locked to the highest level!

Only stopping the X server and reloading the driver module restores PowerMizer scaling (until the next profiler run).
Seems to happen on both GT 240 and GTX 285, driver version is 256.35.
hl_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-10, 10:00 AM   #2
Licaon
Registered User
 
Licaon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Between the keyboard and the chair.
Posts: 490
Default Re: Compute Visual Profiler and PowerMizer

Quote:
Originally Posted by hl_ View Post
Seems to happen on both GT 240 and GTX 285, driver version is 256.35.
What happens on 256.44?
also read this too: http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=46678 and provide the log
Licaon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-10, 03:50 PM   #3
hl_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 138
Default Re: Compute Visual Profiler and PowerMizer

I'm not using 256.44 due to various stability issues (see other thread(s)). I didn't provide an nvidia-bug-report because both systems are pretty different from each other, but still the issue is exactly the same.

Compute Visual Profiler is from CUDA 3.1 SDK, by the way, and I'm on x86_64 in both cases. Apart from that it's different GPUs and different Linux distributions.

Anyway, here is the nvidia-bug-report from the GTX 285 machine.
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.gz (36.4 KB, 62 views)
hl_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-10, 04:02 AM   #4
Licaon
Registered User
 
Licaon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Between the keyboard and the chair.
Posts: 490
Default Re: Compute Visual Profiler and PowerMizer

Quote:
Originally Posted by hl_ View Post
I didn't provide an nvidia-bug-report because both systems are pretty different from each other, but still the issue is exactly the same.
having both reports might help the devs reproduce and pinpoint the issue
Licaon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-10, 12:19 AM   #5
hl_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 138
Default Re: Compute Visual Profiler and PowerMizer

Well, if it helps... although I doubt it.

Curiously, manually invoking the profiler by setting OPENCL_PROFILE=1 and OPENCL_PROFILE_CSV=1 doesn't trigger the problem. The output imports into Compute Visual Profiler without any problem. That's a cute workaround, but it'd be cool to see this fixed.

The whole thing seems rather strange though. Does Compute Visual Profiler do anything beyond invoking the profiler and collecting its output?
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.gz (46.0 KB, 71 views)
hl_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.