Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-28-10, 08:39 PM   #1
Dirthead
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 357
Default help pick some ram

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820148254

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820226030

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145236

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820104116

of the ones above which would you get,?

or if you have any others to suggestion that cost no more then the ones above cost please post
Dirthead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-10, 09:06 PM   #2
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: help pick some ram

their timings are slightly different, don't know if that makes a big deal for you. also, i haven't really heard tons of good things about kingston, but the other 3 brands are very well known to me in the overclocking communities.

sorry i cant be of more help. I am guessing this is for a X58-based computer.
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-10, 09:24 PM   #3
Dirthead
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 357
Default Re: help pick some ram

your correct x58 evga board

If timings are so important then i think i go with the Mushkin. just looking for suggestions.
I like the Crucial Ballistix just not sure if they have an Intel xmp profile or if i have to manually set the times
Dirthead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-10, 09:32 PM   #4
Drolfrawd
Registered User
 
Drolfrawd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,787
Send a message via MSN to Drolfrawd
Default Re: help pick some ram

Corsair ftw
/
Drolfrawd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-10, 09:39 PM   #5
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: help pick some ram

yea, corsair would be my number one choice, with Mushkin second. I am not sure how big of a difference XMP makes, but setting your own timings in bios is very very easy.
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-10, 09:42 PM   #6
Dirthead
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 357
Default Re: help pick some ram

ya i had good luck with Corsair DDR memory so i might get that set
Dirthead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-10, 10:17 PM   #7
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: help pick some ram

post some pics when you done with your computer
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-10, 10:49 PM   #8
Dirthead
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 357
Default Re: help pick some ram

system is built just needing to replace bad ram that im running now.

having one to many bsod,hangs,and overall sluggish PC performance, ran memtest86 and windows diagnostics tool both found problems.checked for viruses/spyware all looked clean.

Biggest concern is that its my mobo and not the ram. but i try ram 1st and hope that's the problem
Dirthead is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-29-10, 01:16 AM   #9
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: help pick some ram

yea, also try with one stick of RAM.
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-10, 09:26 AM   #10
Dirthead
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 357
Default Re: help pick some ram

Well i tested all three sticks by them self and sticks 1 and 3 loaded windows pretty fast for only being 2 GB. Stick number 2 took little longer and seemed slow. Now here the bad new's just using the windows memory tool it did not find any problems for all three sticks of ram.. but with all three sticks installed windows memory tool found problems.........I did not use memtest to test,So im not sure now


So now is it my motherboard that is bad or stick 2?
Dirthead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-10, 02:38 PM   #11
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: help pick some ram

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirthead View Post
Well i tested all three sticks by them self and sticks 1 and 3 loaded windows pretty fast for only being 2 GB. Stick number 2 took little longer and seemed slow. Now here the bad new's just using the windows memory tool it did not find any problems for all three sticks of ram.. but with all three sticks installed windows memory tool found problems.........I did not use memtest to test,So im not sure now


So now is it my motherboard that is bad or stick 2?
i am not sure. since you have an EVGA board, try posting on here, i know the guys there do a wonderful job and reply quickly.

http://www.evga.com/forums/default.aspx
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-10, 07:52 PM   #12
Dirthead
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 357
Default Re: help pick some ram

ya i been there and tonight i was able to find the problem, DIMM 1 is bad on the mobo, So now the fun of getting an replacement.. never had to do this,so i hope its fairly painless.

thanks
Dirthead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.