Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-09-09, 11:53 AM   #1
snowmanwithahat
Snowy
 
snowmanwithahat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 974
Default G0 Q6600 overclocking

So, my sig lies, I haven't had this overclocked since I instlaled windows 7 and now that it seems stable (as stable as a non release version of windows can be) I'm going to start overclocking again... but this time foregoing the conservative 333 fsb and hoping for 400 which would be about 3.6ghz

Thing is though... is this realistic for the C2Q series? I see it alot on the dual cores (and up to 4ghz) but i don't see many people pushing the quad to those speeds.

And before you have to ask, yes it has pretty good cooling. I'm still using a Zalman 7700cu (remember those)... the same one that graced my Opteron 165 (1.8ghz @ 2.6ghz) for more than 3 years.

Anyway, I'm excited to try this out again.... what's the key stuff you guys use for testing stability? is prime95 + ati tool the defacto stability testers still?

and one more thing... what's a "high" voltage for these? 1.325 is stock and I've seen people push theirs up to 1.4 but it just seems quite high to me....
__________________
---Gaming Rig---
Q6600 3.4ghz (378x9) - 1.5v
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
8gb (4x2gb) OCZ Gold DDR2-800 (5-4-4-12)
MSI+ASUS GTX 470 SLI
Dell u3011 IPS Display
HP 22" Auxiliary Monitor
256gb Western Digital Silicon Edge Blue SSD
5x2tb RAID-5 Array
750W PC P&C PSU
Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit & Ubuntu 10.04 64-bit

---Gaming Laptop---
ASUS G53JW
Core i7 740QM
16gb DDR3
Nvidia GTX 460m
1tb WD HDD
120gb Corsair SSD

Join the NvNews Folding @ Home Team
snowmanwithahat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-09, 07:44 PM   #2
hemmy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kansas
Posts: 760
Default Re: G0 Q6600 overclocking

Realistic, yes. On that heatsink? probably not.

The VID of G0s varies, the one I had was 1.31 ish
__________________
P6T Deluxe V2 ||| Core i7 920 D0 4.0Ghz||| 3x2Gb DDR3-1800 ||| 2x EVGA GTX 260 SLI ||| Corsair HX850w ||| 2x640gb HD
hemmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-09, 08:08 PM   #3
$n][pErMan
III%
 
$n][pErMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,726
Send a message via AIM to $n][pErMan
Default Re: G0 Q6600 overclocking

My VID is 1.2500V and my Q6600 G0 is currently OC'ed to the speed in my sig! It is very relaistic... but keep in mind your memory might hold you back... I had to move to the RAM in my sig from the 4 sticks of DD2-800 I had before. Could have been to much stress on the NB or just crappy ram. Either way... I managed 3.7Ghz stable on this rig, but it ran pretty hot so I took it down to the speed I have listed now Good luck and keep us posted! I run Orthos and max out all cores that way by setting the affinity of that program instance for the 4 cores on the CPU.
__________________
Intel® Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.51GHz (390 x 9 / 1.39v) | ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 (1236 BIOS) | OCZ GOLD 8GB (2GB x 4) DDR2 PC2-8500 Dual Channel (4-4-4-12 780Mhz/1.95V 1:1 Ratio) | EVGA GeForce GTX 770 DUAL SuperClocked 4GB (Currently @ 1240MHz Core / 7112MHz Memory) | Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS | Zalman CNPS9700 LED Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler | Samsung SSD 840 Series 256GB | ASUS ProArt 24in Widescreen LED 1920 x 1200 | Samsung DVD-RW-DL 18x Burner w/ lightscribe| SILVERSTONE OP650 ATX12V / EPS12V 650W Power Supply | AOpen 5.1 Surround sound system | Windows 7 Pro x64
100% Orthos Stable!
$n][pErMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-09, 06:06 AM   #4
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: G0 Q6600 overclocking

They are a truely great chip the Q6600 G0. The good thing about the 65mm chips, is they can handle more volts than there 45mm counterparts.

I used to run mine at 3.6Ghz 1.45 volts prime95 stable. It still runs fine today, in a mates PC.
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-09, 06:29 AM   #5
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: G0 Q6600 overclocking

Make sure you try OCing with an 8x multiplier. I had much better luck with that . Also the higher FSB will help make it faster, too.
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-09, 08:27 AM   #6
snowmanwithahat
Snowy
 
snowmanwithahat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 974
Default Re: G0 Q6600 overclocking

so after playing with it 2 things are apparent.

400x9 is not stable, i haven't investigated if it's voltage or what but I think that's what it would be unless the processor can't handle that fsb speed because 400x8 wasn't very stable either.

intel's speedstep is crap....

and @ the comment about my memory... it should be fine if it's in a 1:1 ratio at 400mhz right.... I see no reason why that would hold me back if it's at the "stock" memory speed unless there's a relationship I'm not aware of. But yes, I do plan on going to a 1:1 relationship for the memory with the 400 fsb.

so it sounds like 1.45v is the high end of the spectrum for voltage?

Also I'm pretty confident in this heatsink... is there any reason I shouldn't be? I know the 95xx series from zalman was the "new high end" back in like '05 after I bought this... but have things really changed that much since then?
__________________
---Gaming Rig---
Q6600 3.4ghz (378x9) - 1.5v
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
8gb (4x2gb) OCZ Gold DDR2-800 (5-4-4-12)
MSI+ASUS GTX 470 SLI
Dell u3011 IPS Display
HP 22" Auxiliary Monitor
256gb Western Digital Silicon Edge Blue SSD
5x2tb RAID-5 Array
750W PC P&C PSU
Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit & Ubuntu 10.04 64-bit

---Gaming Laptop---
ASUS G53JW
Core i7 740QM
16gb DDR3
Nvidia GTX 460m
1tb WD HDD
120gb Corsair SSD

Join the NvNews Folding @ Home Team
snowmanwithahat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-09, 07:34 PM   #7
snowmanwithahat
Snowy
 
snowmanwithahat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 974
Default Re: G0 Q6600 overclocking

3.2 (400x8) on 1.375 v.... seems kind of high but not horrible. I might push for 3.6 but I"m not sure if I want to try that high of a voltage
__________________
---Gaming Rig---
Q6600 3.4ghz (378x9) - 1.5v
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
8gb (4x2gb) OCZ Gold DDR2-800 (5-4-4-12)
MSI+ASUS GTX 470 SLI
Dell u3011 IPS Display
HP 22" Auxiliary Monitor
256gb Western Digital Silicon Edge Blue SSD
5x2tb RAID-5 Array
750W PC P&C PSU
Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit & Ubuntu 10.04 64-bit

---Gaming Laptop---
ASUS G53JW
Core i7 740QM
16gb DDR3
Nvidia GTX 460m
1tb WD HDD
120gb Corsair SSD

Join the NvNews Folding @ Home Team
snowmanwithahat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-09, 02:23 AM   #8
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: G0 Q6600 overclocking

Quote:
Originally Posted by snowmanwithahat View Post
3.2 (400x8) on 1.375 v.... seems kind of high but not horrible. I might push for 3.6 but I"m not sure if I want to try that high of a voltage
1.4 volts is nothing as long as you have a good after market CPU heatsink. The 65mm cores can handle that no problems at all.
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-11-09, 02:28 AM   #9
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: G0 Q6600 overclocking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muppet View Post
1.4 volts is nothing as long as you have a good after market CPU heatsink. The 65mm cores can handle that no problems at all.
Yup, anything up to 1.5vCore with that CPU is fine an long as it's below 71*C..

http://processorfinder.intel.com/Det...px?sSpec=SLACR
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-09, 08:54 AM   #10
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: G0 Q6600 overclocking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revs View Post
Yup, anything up to 1.5vCore with that CPU is fine an long as it's below 71*C..

http://processorfinder.intel.com/Det...px?sSpec=SLACR
I ran mine for 1.57 for over a year. It was a Xeon, though.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-09, 11:41 AM   #11
snowmanwithahat
Snowy
 
snowmanwithahat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 974
Default Re: G0 Q6600 overclocking

Well it's pretty decent cooling.... better than stock I'm sure but I'm not quite sure how it stacks up now-days against the big name heatsinks

Zalman 7700cu

all copper - flowery heatsink... not heatpipes but before this tower - heatpipe era dawned it was top dog. it's also the big 120mm fan version so it pumps a good amoutn of air...

Just one thing though... what are you guys using to monitor cpu temps? I used to use motherboard monitor because it had the nice little tray feature but now that I'm running 4 cores I'd like to see the breakdown of the actual core temps... I was using speedfan before but the fluctation in core temps made me weary of it's accuracy.
__________________
---Gaming Rig---
Q6600 3.4ghz (378x9) - 1.5v
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
8gb (4x2gb) OCZ Gold DDR2-800 (5-4-4-12)
MSI+ASUS GTX 470 SLI
Dell u3011 IPS Display
HP 22" Auxiliary Monitor
256gb Western Digital Silicon Edge Blue SSD
5x2tb RAID-5 Array
750W PC P&C PSU
Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit & Ubuntu 10.04 64-bit

---Gaming Laptop---
ASUS G53JW
Core i7 740QM
16gb DDR3
Nvidia GTX 460m
1tb WD HDD
120gb Corsair SSD

Join the NvNews Folding @ Home Team
snowmanwithahat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-09, 11:59 AM   #12
[AK]Zip
New Level Of Epic
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 780
Default Re: G0 Q6600 overclocking

Use real temp. I don't think the Zalman 7700cu will keep up on higher clocks speeds due to temps.
[AK]Zip is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.