Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 400/500 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-07-10, 06:45 AM   #1
Raysad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Question SLI: MSI GTX 460 Cyclone + MSI GTX 460 Hawk

Hello!

Just wondering, can we SLI both the MSI GTX 460 Cyclone 1GB and MSI GTX 460 Hawk 1GB together?


Thank you and regards!
Raysad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-10, 07:50 AM   #2
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: SLI: MSI GTX 460 Cyclone + MSI GTX 460 Hawk

I would imagine that would work fine. Both have 1gb memory, right?

And does SLI adjust clock speeds so they match? Or is SLI like CrossfireX now in that it doesn't match clock speeds?
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-10, 09:04 AM   #3
Raysad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Default Re: SLI: MSI GTX 460 Cyclone + MSI GTX 460 Hawk

Although they have different clock speeds, but if I am not wrong, in SLI mode, the card with the higher clock speed will lower its clock to match the other.

I wonder if this adjustment is automated or has to be configured in some driver or software settings...
Raysad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-10, 07:23 PM   #4
weeds
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 390
Default Re: SLI: MSI GTX 460 Cyclone + MSI GTX 460 Hawk

Quote:
Originally Posted by ragejg View Post
And does SLI adjust clock speeds so they match? Or is SLI like CrossfireX now in that it doesn't match clock speeds?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raysad View Post
Although they have different clock speeds, but if I am not wrong, in SLI mode, the card with the higher clock speed will lower its clock to match the other.
Clock speeds are independent now and have been for quite some time.
__________________
AMD FX-60@2.85 | Asus A8N32-SLi DLX | Gskill F1-4000USU2-2GBHZ | EVGA 8800 GTS SLi @ 780/1944/1100 | WD RaptorX 150GB | Creative X-Fi Fatality FPS | Klipsch ProMedia Ultra 5.1 | Plextor 716SA DVD-RW | OCZ ProXStream 1000W| Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB | Lian-Li Pc-60 Modded | TT Hardcano 13 | Razer Copperhead Tempest | Saitek Eclipse II | XP Pro SP3
weeds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-10, 08:46 PM   #5
WeReWoLf
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,015
Send a message via MSN to WeReWoLf
Default Re: SLI: MSI GTX 460 Cyclone + MSI GTX 460 Hawk

Yes, clock speeds are independant, but it is still better to match the speeds to reduce problems.
WeReWoLf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.