Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 400/500 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-03-10, 06:53 PM   #1
haloeighty8
Registered User
 
haloeighty8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 129
Default Added a 3rd card for Tri SLI but noticed a different bios, same part #.

Added a 3rd card last night to my setup and the first thing I noticed was the part # is the same but the bios is different? Is this common a occurrence? Or did I somehow get a mislabeled SC card?


GPU 1


GPU 2 - New one added last night.
__________________
My Heatware

Intel Core i7-980X Extreme @ 4.33 | ASUS Rampage III Black Edition | Corsair Vengeance 24GB DDR3 1600 | Galaxy GeForce GTX 680 SLI | Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD | Corsair H100 - Push /Pull Config. | Corsair Obsidian Series 800D | PC Antec TruePower Quattro TPQ1200 | LG Blu-ray Burner | Corsair Gaming Audio Series SP2500 | Das Keyboard Pro | Logitech G9x | Intel X25-M 80GB | Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB | Dell 3007 WFP 30" LCD | Win7 Ultimate x64 | Sennheiser HD-595 Premier Headphone
haloeighty8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-10, 09:00 PM   #2
haloeighty8
Registered User
 
haloeighty8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 129
Default Re: Added a 3rd card for Tri SLI but noticed a different bios, same part #.

No ones seeing this before?
__________________
My Heatware

Intel Core i7-980X Extreme @ 4.33 | ASUS Rampage III Black Edition | Corsair Vengeance 24GB DDR3 1600 | Galaxy GeForce GTX 680 SLI | Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD | Corsair H100 - Push /Pull Config. | Corsair Obsidian Series 800D | PC Antec TruePower Quattro TPQ1200 | LG Blu-ray Burner | Corsair Gaming Audio Series SP2500 | Das Keyboard Pro | Logitech G9x | Intel X25-M 80GB | Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB | Dell 3007 WFP 30" LCD | Win7 Ultimate x64 | Sennheiser HD-595 Premier Headphone
haloeighty8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-10, 05:17 AM   #3
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Added a 3rd card for Tri SLI but noticed a different bios, same part #.

Unless you buy all 3 cards at the same time, chances are you will get different bios versions, especially with EVGA who constantly release bios updates to fix the odd bug. In the before days in the long ago, different bios versions would break SLI, these days, it's usually k the mix and match.

If everything is running ok, I'd leave it as is, otherwise you can usually get the latest bios from the EVGA support site.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-10, 09:24 PM   #4
haloeighty8
Registered User
 
haloeighty8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 129
Default Re: Added a 3rd card for Tri SLI but noticed a different bios, same part #.

Yeah everything seems to be running fine, I'll leave it as is.. Thanks for the reply.
__________________
My Heatware

Intel Core i7-980X Extreme @ 4.33 | ASUS Rampage III Black Edition | Corsair Vengeance 24GB DDR3 1600 | Galaxy GeForce GTX 680 SLI | Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD | Corsair H100 - Push /Pull Config. | Corsair Obsidian Series 800D | PC Antec TruePower Quattro TPQ1200 | LG Blu-ray Burner | Corsair Gaming Audio Series SP2500 | Das Keyboard Pro | Logitech G9x | Intel X25-M 80GB | Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB | Dell 3007 WFP 30" LCD | Win7 Ultimate x64 | Sennheiser HD-595 Premier Headphone
haloeighty8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.