Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Console World

Newegg Daily Deals

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-15-10, 08:08 AM   #1
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Can't Play Halo Reach Co-OP? this is a feature and not a bug

NukeZilla reports that owners of the new 4GB slim Xbox consoles aren't able to play co-op in Halo: Reach which was released today. According to the site, the new Xbox Consoles just don't have the storage to fit the game.

When tested by Nukezilla an error message was shown when trying to join the co-op campaign, which means the user won't be able to access this part of the game at all without spending money on extra peripherals.



Apparently, this is a feature and not a bug, and is even the first result on the Reach FAQ site:

Q1: The error “One or more players do not have an Xbox 360 Hard Drive. An Xbox 360 Hard Drive is required to play co-op on Xbox LIVE or system link” occurs when I try to play. Why?

A1: One or more players do not have a certified Xbox 360 hard drive attached to their Xbox 360 console. Some multiplayer aspects of Halo: Reach require an Xbox 360 certified hard drive.

The co-op feature is a large part of the Halo: Reach experience, and this missing for 4GB Xbox owners was not mentioned at all on the game box or to those purchasing the game. In fact, NukeZilla even found a retailer selling Halo: Reach in a bundle with the console (although apparently the same problem exists in Halo ODST too).

NukeZilla says that the issue only affects the newer slim Xbox 360's with 4GB of internal storage and no hard drive, adding USB storage doesn't help, and normal multiplayer isn't affected.

http://www.neowin.net/news/halo-reac...x-360-slim-4gb
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline  
Old 09-15-10, 08:14 AM   #2
Mr. Hunt
Rectal Gravy Connoisseur
 
Mr. Hunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 8,294
Default Re: Can't Play Halo Reach Co-OP? this is a feature and not a bug

. . .
Mr. Hunt is offline  
Old 09-15-10, 08:27 AM   #3
Vardant
 
Vardant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: EU
Posts: 1,041
Default Re: Can't Play Halo Reach Co-OP? this is a feature and not a bug

That's ridiculous...
Vardant is offline  
Old 09-15-10, 08:27 AM   #4
Bearclaw
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Can't Play Halo Reach Co-OP? this is a feature and not a bug

 
Old 09-15-10, 08:27 AM   #5
trivium nate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,023
Default Re: Can't Play Halo Reach Co-OP? this is a feature and not a bug

wow lame! so now I have to buy that 250Gb drive from amazon?..

or what about a 16Gb external drive?

and how come I cant use all 500Gb of my external drive on my 360? They need to change that
__________________
CM-HAF-932//AMD Phenom-II-X4-965-BE-Deneb-3.4 GHz-Quad Core//CorsairH50
ASRock 770 EXTREME3 Mobo//EVGA GTX-480(1536MB GDDR5)-Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme+cooler
180GB SSD//3TB//G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB//DVD-RW//blu-Ray//1000 Watt Corsair PSU
42"Vizio TV-1920x1080-1080P-120Hertz//Win 7 Ultimate(64)//XBox360-pc controller
Saitek Eclipse 2 keyboard//Razer DeathAdder Mouse//250gb-Xbox 360//160gb-PS3
trivium nate is offline  
Old 09-15-10, 08:33 AM   #6
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Can't Play Halo Reach Co-OP? this is a feature and not a bug

That's pretty pathetic
 
Old 09-15-10, 08:39 AM   #7
Bearclaw
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Can't Play Halo Reach Co-OP? this is a feature and not a bug

Quote:
Originally Posted by trivium nate View Post
wow lame! so now I have to buy that 250Gb drive from amazon?..

or what about a 16Gb external drive?

and how come I cant use all 500Gb of my external drive on my 360? They need to change that
Read the article, external drives don't help it.

Quote:
NukeZilla says that the issue only affects the newer slim Xbox 360's with 4GB of internal storage and no hard drive, adding USB storage doesn't help, and normal multiplayer isn't affected.
 
Old 09-15-10, 08:40 AM   #8
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Can't Play Halo Reach Co-OP? this is a feature and not a bug

ViN86 is offline  

Old 09-15-10, 08:44 AM   #9
Bearclaw
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Can't Play Halo Reach Co-OP? this is a feature and not a bug

Halo Reach sucks anyway.
 
Old 09-15-10, 10:37 AM   #10
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Can't Play Halo Reach Co-OP? this is a feature and not a bug

HAHA

What happened to the rules of not requiring the HD when the system launched and the lack of HD was questioned.
 
Old 09-15-10, 11:08 AM   #11
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Can't Play Halo Reach Co-OP? this is a feature and not a bug

technically they could get sued for that, since it not mentioned anywhere on the product it self.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline  
Old 09-15-10, 12:00 PM   #12
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Can't Play Halo Reach Co-OP? this is a feature and not a bug

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
technically they could get sued for that, since it not mentioned anywhere on the product it self.
Nope, MS thought of that. I bet this was a ploy to get more money from Arcade owners.

http://kotaku.com/5638712/some-xbox-...h-online-co+op

Quote:
While my copy of Halo: Reach doesn't list the hard drive as a requirement, it does contain the line "features and requirements may change without notice," which effectively covers Microsoft's ass in this situation.
Quote:
The only real recourse Halo: Reach players have now is to pick up an Xbox 360 slim hard disk, which retails for $129.99 at GameStop. That brings the grand total for their Xbox 360 to $329.98, roughly $30 more than just purchasing the 250GB Xbox 360 slim in the first place. So much for getting a bargain.
 
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.