Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-22-10, 02:54 PM   #37
Bearclaw
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
about a hour here
Lol. Ya I wish. upgrading to comcast soon.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-10, 03:48 PM   #38
jeffmd
Has a vegetation fetish
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,816
Default Re: Official Civilization V Feedback Thread

I have never played a civ game... contemplating weather I want to get this one, and if I can afford the time investment if i get hooked.
__________________
_________________________________________________
Mobo: EVGA 122-ck-nf68 680i sli, CPU: C2D Quad 6600, Video: EVGA GTX 460 1gb SC, Sound: X-fi gaming, Windows 7, Antec P180b,Thermalright Ultra-120 HSF, Antec TruPower TP3-650, 4 Gigs RAM
jeffmd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-10, 04:02 PM   #39
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Official Civilization V Feedback Thread

for those who don't want their automated workers messing with prebuilt improvements:

go to C:\Users\User Name\my Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 5
open "usersettings.cfg," change "autoworkersdontreplace" from 0 to 1.

i don't see any option to turn on a clock display, which is one thing that civ4 had that this is sorely missing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-10, 04:11 PM   #40
Maverick123w
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Maverick123w
Default Re: Official Civilization V Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by methimpikehoses View Post
for those who don't want their automated workers messing with prebuilt improvements:

go to C:\Users\User Name\my Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 5
open "usersettings.cfg," change "autoworkersdontreplace" from 0 to 1.

i don't see any option to turn on a clock display, which is one thing that civ4 had that this is sorely missing.
"Looks at game clock thinking he's only been playing for an hour.... realizes he is 5 hours in" Civ steals my soul.
Maverick123w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-10, 05:42 PM   #41
Bearclaw
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Official Civilization V Feedback Thread

Well, been trying the demo. Don't like it but one of those games you definitely need to keep at to start liking, I think. Might try it again, not sure.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-10, 09:13 PM   #42
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: Official Civilization V Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by methimpikehoses View Post
for those who don't want their automated workers messing with prebuilt improvements:

go to C:\Users\User Name\my Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 5
open "usersettings.cfg," change "autoworkersdontreplace" from 0 to 1.

i don't see any option to turn on a clock display, which is one thing that civ4 had that this is sorely missing.
Is there a way to automate things like road-building?

In the previous versions, as you learnt new techs, the workers would automatically apply them. It seems like I have to manually let the workers know to build additional improvements

I have to be missing something.
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-10, 09:23 PM   #43
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Official Civilization V Feedback Thread

there are fewer auto-worker settings for some reason. it appears that the workers are either on auto or not, and that they will roads and improvements as needed (and maybe according to the city "focus" if you have selected it in the city screen, though i'm not sure about that).

you can also have them build a road to any hex fairly easily. but no, there is not a "build roads" only option for the workers as far as i can tell.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-10, 06:14 AM   #44
Reliquary
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 42
Default Re: Official Civilization V Feedback Thread

I have a weird issue with the splash screens flashing and crashing the game, though I can get past that by bashing the keyboard fast enough (or by running it on our AMD machine...).

First sense is of much slower progress than Civ IV, though that's not necessarily a bad thing, and that options can seem a little too well-hidden, though once the shortcuts become intuitive that won't be a problem. The one unit per hex thing will take some getting used to as well. If anything, it makes things a bit too easy, as if you move fast enough early in the game you can overwhelm your immediate neighbours in short order.
Reliquary is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-24-10, 07:03 AM   #45
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Official Civilization V Feedback Thread

what an awesome game, played the demo for about 5 hours

to bad it is only 100 turns, probably by the end of next week I will buy it.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-10, 08:32 AM   #46
Ninjaman09
Takin 'er easy
 
Ninjaman09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jowjah
Posts: 6,687
Default Re: Official Civilization V Feedback Thread

Oh god I have to get this
__________________
Core i7 920 @ 3.2 | ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
6GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 RAM
eVGA GTX 570 SC | Auzen X-Fi Prelude 7.1
CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX
Dell U2410
Ninjaman09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-10, 02:13 PM   #47
Sean_W
Registered User
 
Sean_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,423
Default Re: Official Civilization V Feedback Thread

Can anyone post some DX versions' comparison shots? It seems to run perfectly in Wine 1.3/Linux but I'm limited to DX9. I heard DX10/11 looks much better.
Sean_W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-10, 02:58 PM   #48
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Official Civilization V Feedback Thread

i don't think it looks MUCH better. maybe a bit. applying aa w/ the nvidia control panel makes dx9 look fine. i'm actually running dx9 instead so my gpu doesn't have to work as hard.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.