Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-29-10, 10:03 PM   #85
$n][pErMan
III%
 
$n][pErMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,726
Send a message via AIM to $n][pErMan
Default Re: Official Civilization V Feedback Thread

Panzer FTW as always! No more stupid low powered units killing high powered units. Artilary is awesome in this game too. Place that behind your main troops and nothing will stop you
__________________
Intel® Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.51GHz (390 x 9 / 1.39v) | ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 (1236 BIOS) | OCZ GOLD 8GB (2GB x 4) DDR2 PC2-8500 Dual Channel (4-4-4-12 780Mhz/1.95V 1:1 Ratio) | EVGA GeForce GTX 770 DUAL SuperClocked 4GB (Currently @ 1240MHz Core / 7112MHz Memory) | Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS | Zalman CNPS9700 LED Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler | Samsung SSD 840 Series 256GB | ASUS ProArt 24in Widescreen LED 1920 x 1200 | Samsung DVD-RW-DL 18x Burner w/ lightscribe| SILVERSTONE OP650 ATX12V / EPS12V 650W Power Supply | AOpen 5.1 Surround sound system | Windows 7 Pro x64
100% Orthos Stable!
$n][pErMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-10, 11:01 PM   #86
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: Official Civilization V Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by methimpikehoses View Post
no.

the AI is stupid tho, at least on warlord. in the modern era, was sneak-attacked by an army of pikemen and trebuchets. so i upgraded 4 or so riflemen to mechanized infantry and proceeded to destroy their entire army and capture some cities in just a dozen turns. then they signed a peace deal with me, and basically gave me all their cash, a number of cities, resources, gold per turn, etc.

going back to prince difficulty for the next game, now that i am figuring out some more of the production mechanics.

also, french seem to be quite overpowered with their culture bonus at the beginning of the game...
Yah, the AI leads to some ridiculous situations (sort of like how you described).

I've had people declaring war on me with a single city, which I GAVE to them so they wouldn't vanish completely, with 1 troop who was 3 ages behind me and I had about 10 different armed units within a turn. Needless to say I was pissed off and destroyed the bastard, but still, why would he declare war on me?
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-10, 10:45 PM   #87
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: Official Civilization V Feedback Thread

Is there a game-save error with Civ V?

I just logged back in to my current game. When I saved last night, I had just finished defeating 3 civilizations which had completely capitulated and I controlled 70% of the world.

I log back in today and I am back to the point I was before the battles started so basically I lost about 40 moves. My previous save was about 100 moves older than this one so it's pointless there

Needless to say I am sad because I was going for a different victory for the achievements, now I am stuck with the scientific victory, again
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-10, 11:56 PM   #88
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Official Civilization V Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sazar View Post
Is there a game-save error with Civ V?

I just logged back in to my current game. When I saved last night, I had just finished defeating 3 civilizations which had completely capitulated and I controlled 70% of the world.

I log back in today and I am back to the point I was before the battles started so basically I lost about 40 moves. My previous save was about 100 moves older than this one so it's pointless there

Needless to say I am sad because I was going for a different victory for the achievements, now I am stuck with the scientific victory, again
just load an autosave.......
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-10, 02:52 PM   #89
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: Official Civilization V Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by methimpikehoses View Post
just load an autosave.......
Except for the fact that I was playing Alexander to get the achievement and all the auto-saves are of his conquests. I have no auto-saves of my Egyptian campaign left.
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-10, 03:18 PM   #90
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Official Civilization V Feedback Thread

o i c
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-10, 11:11 PM   #91
$n][pErMan
III%
 
$n][pErMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,726
Send a message via AIM to $n][pErMan
Default Re: Official Civilization V Feedback Thread

I must say... as far as the conidtion of this game goes... it is a POS. Ran into the same bug everyone else has on larger maps... it will crash and never pass a certain turn (for me Turn 476 - Year 2038). Still no fix yet for it... Apperently it's linked to the number of cities, however after an hour of messing with the debug editor I still could not figure out how to delete cities just so I could continue and finish my damn game. I am so sick of some developers not testing games. Anyone playing this game 1 time through on a large map would find this bug easy.
__________________
Intel® Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.51GHz (390 x 9 / 1.39v) | ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 (1236 BIOS) | OCZ GOLD 8GB (2GB x 4) DDR2 PC2-8500 Dual Channel (4-4-4-12 780Mhz/1.95V 1:1 Ratio) | EVGA GeForce GTX 770 DUAL SuperClocked 4GB (Currently @ 1240MHz Core / 7112MHz Memory) | Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS | Zalman CNPS9700 LED Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler | Samsung SSD 840 Series 256GB | ASUS ProArt 24in Widescreen LED 1920 x 1200 | Samsung DVD-RW-DL 18x Burner w/ lightscribe| SILVERSTONE OP650 ATX12V / EPS12V 650W Power Supply | AOpen 5.1 Surround sound system | Windows 7 Pro x64
100% Orthos Stable!
$n][pErMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-10, 11:14 PM   #92
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Official Civilization V Feedback Thread

o rly? i have had no such bug on a large map. how many cities do you have?

only bug i have run into is when a civ that you are whaling on tries to gift you a bunch of cities i get some sort of infinite loop that i couldn't take the next turn, and some weird graphics glitches.

here's a random shot of my war machine gearing up to pwn.

  Reply With Quote

Old 10-09-10, 11:20 PM   #93
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: Official Civilization V Feedback Thread

how far back in time can you go? it's like age of empires?
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-10, 11:29 PM   #94
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Official Civilization V Feedback Thread

you start at 4000BC and go to about 2050AD.

it's turn-based, not rts like AoE.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-10, 11:34 PM   #95
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: Official Civilization V Feedback Thread

oh i see. so like "building a temple" = 1 turn?
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-10, 11:37 PM   #96
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Official Civilization V Feedback Thread

something like that, but it all depends on how your city is setup, what resources you have, what type of economy you are running, etc. it could take anywhere from 4-40 turns to build a temple.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.