Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-08-10, 09:56 AM   #1
FastRedPonyCar
Resident Tire Destroyer
 
FastRedPonyCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to FastRedPonyCar
Default Custom config + 1900X1200 + 8xQ AA + 16 AF = 60FPS 4 me

My 2nd GTX 470 Arrived yesterday. Got it OC'd up with the other one to 480gtx speed along with the 6gbps SATA PCI-E card w/the Crucial SSD











I've always said that crysis running at a smooth 30 fps with a good config is an excellent experience but playing it at full tilt at 60 fps in the most heated explosion and smoke filled fire fights is damn near a religious experience. It's absolutely unbelievable to see.

I'd like to see if I can get a full resolution 60 fps fraps video capture but I can't imagine it being able to handle that and still keep it at 60 fps but I'll try after work... if nothing I can at least snag it hopefully at 1080 or 720 resolution but keep the 60 fps so I can upload it in HD to youtube.
__________________
- Desktop -
4770k @ 4.45 ghz - ASUS Gryphon Mobo - 16 gigs Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866 RAM - XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 H2o Cooling - EVGA GTX 680 @1325mhz - 128 gig Crucial RealSSD C300 - 150 gig Velociraptor +2.75 Terrabytes of WD Sata 3.0 storage - 910 watt PC P&C PSU - Corsair Obsidian 650D case

- Server -
Core I7 D0 revision 920 @ 3.75 ghz - ASUS P6T Deluxe - 12 Gigs Mushkin DDR3 1600 - Corsair HX 620 PSU - Noctua NH-U9B cooler - Coolermaster WaveMaster Case

- Laptop -
MSI 16F2-012
- i7 2630QM - GTX570m @ 750Mhz - 8 gigs HyperX 1866 - 120 gig OCZ Vertex 3 SSD- 750 gig Scorpio Black - BluRay - 95% Gamut Screen - IC Diamond goop
FastRedPonyCar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-10, 04:02 PM   #2
Soetdjuret
Teh lazy swede
 
Soetdjuret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Svea
Posts: 1,982
Default Re: Custom config + 1900X1200 + 8xQ AA + 16 AF = 60FPS 4 me

You should run supersampling on that setup bro.. Will make crysis look better than with ANY config.
__________________
R.I.P Stage6 | per haud Justiciá illic exsisto haud pacís...
Soetdjuret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-10, 04:19 PM   #3
JasonPC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,103
Default Re: Custom config + 1900X1200 + 8xQ AA + 16 AF = 60FPS 4 me

never understood why people put two SLI or crossfire bridges for 2-way SLI/crossfire. You only need one :P
JasonPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-10, 04:56 PM   #4
FastRedPonyCar
Resident Tire Destroyer
 
FastRedPonyCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to FastRedPonyCar
Default Re: Custom config + 1900X1200 + 8xQ AA + 16 AF = 60FPS 4 me

Soet, how do I setup supersampling? I don't see it in the nvidia control panel for the application?

Jason, this is my first SLI setup and MSI has zero info in the owner manual about what to do.
__________________
- Desktop -
4770k @ 4.45 ghz - ASUS Gryphon Mobo - 16 gigs Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866 RAM - XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 H2o Cooling - EVGA GTX 680 @1325mhz - 128 gig Crucial RealSSD C300 - 150 gig Velociraptor +2.75 Terrabytes of WD Sata 3.0 storage - 910 watt PC P&C PSU - Corsair Obsidian 650D case

- Server -
Core I7 D0 revision 920 @ 3.75 ghz - ASUS P6T Deluxe - 12 Gigs Mushkin DDR3 1600 - Corsair HX 620 PSU - Noctua NH-U9B cooler - Coolermaster WaveMaster Case

- Laptop -
MSI 16F2-012
- i7 2630QM - GTX570m @ 750Mhz - 8 gigs HyperX 1866 - 120 gig OCZ Vertex 3 SSD- 750 gig Scorpio Black - BluRay - 95% Gamut Screen - IC Diamond goop
FastRedPonyCar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-10, 10:56 PM   #5
Rummy
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Under your bed
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: Custom config + 1900X1200 + 8xQ AA + 16 AF = 60FPS 4 me

LOL yep one only
Rummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-10, 09:03 AM   #6
Soetdjuret
Teh lazy swede
 
Soetdjuret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Svea
Posts: 1,982
Default Re: Custom config + 1900X1200 + 8xQ AA + 16 AF = 60FPS 4 me

You need nvidia inspector.. google and install. Then you need to go into 3dsettings tab pic the game u want SSAA in the list of supported games, most games are in that list. Then select 2x2, 3x3 or 4x4SSAA, the combination modes are there aswell. Also take note that you are also able to choose the more demanding Sparse and Rotated grid supersampling technique which formely was the technique used by radeon and still is. Nvidia up til the gtx 4 and 5 series used/uses Ordered grid super sampling. Anywa, those are also labeled to Sparsegrid SSAA 2x,4 and 8 times. I suggest using regular 2 or 3x3 SSAA.

You might, but am not sure about this thing but you might have to run crysis in dx9 mode for SSAA to work correspondingly.
__________________
R.I.P Stage6 | per haud Justiciá illic exsisto haud pacís...
Soetdjuret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-10, 09:28 AM   #7
FastRedPonyCar
Resident Tire Destroyer
 
FastRedPonyCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to FastRedPonyCar
Default Re: Custom config + 1900X1200 + 8xQ AA + 16 AF = 60FPS 4 me

thanks I'll try that when I get home.

Edit: Nvidia inspector doesn't seem to have any tabs to select 3D options.

Does it enable hidden or extra options in the actual Nvidia control panel that I couldn't see yesterday?
__________________
- Desktop -
4770k @ 4.45 ghz - ASUS Gryphon Mobo - 16 gigs Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866 RAM - XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 H2o Cooling - EVGA GTX 680 @1325mhz - 128 gig Crucial RealSSD C300 - 150 gig Velociraptor +2.75 Terrabytes of WD Sata 3.0 storage - 910 watt PC P&C PSU - Corsair Obsidian 650D case

- Server -
Core I7 D0 revision 920 @ 3.75 ghz - ASUS P6T Deluxe - 12 Gigs Mushkin DDR3 1600 - Corsair HX 620 PSU - Noctua NH-U9B cooler - Coolermaster WaveMaster Case

- Laptop -
MSI 16F2-012
- i7 2630QM - GTX570m @ 750Mhz - 8 gigs HyperX 1866 - 120 gig OCZ Vertex 3 SSD- 750 gig Scorpio Black - BluRay - 95% Gamut Screen - IC Diamond goop
FastRedPonyCar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-10, 09:48 PM   #8
Soetdjuret
Teh lazy swede
 
Soetdjuret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Svea
Posts: 1,982
Default Re: Custom config + 1900X1200 + 8xQ AA + 16 AF = 60FPS 4 me

Common man, u gotta be looking more carefully its there. I spy with my little eye a "gearwheel" of hiddus thingus
__________________
R.I.P Stage6 | per haud Justiciá illic exsisto haud pacís...
Soetdjuret is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-13-10, 10:10 PM   #9
FastRedPonyCar
Resident Tire Destroyer
 
FastRedPonyCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to FastRedPonyCar
Default Re: Custom config + 1900X1200 + 8xQ AA + 16 AF = 60FPS 4 me

yeah I found it earlier. HL2 cinematic mod is stuttering pretty badly when I set the AA transparency supersampling to 8x sparse grid SS.

Fraps shows it bouncing really fast from 59 to 60 fps the whole time. Afterburner shows one of the GPU's barely being touched.


Haven't tested crysis or warhead yet.
__________________
- Desktop -
4770k @ 4.45 ghz - ASUS Gryphon Mobo - 16 gigs Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866 RAM - XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 H2o Cooling - EVGA GTX 680 @1325mhz - 128 gig Crucial RealSSD C300 - 150 gig Velociraptor +2.75 Terrabytes of WD Sata 3.0 storage - 910 watt PC P&C PSU - Corsair Obsidian 650D case

- Server -
Core I7 D0 revision 920 @ 3.75 ghz - ASUS P6T Deluxe - 12 Gigs Mushkin DDR3 1600 - Corsair HX 620 PSU - Noctua NH-U9B cooler - Coolermaster WaveMaster Case

- Laptop -
MSI 16F2-012
- i7 2630QM - GTX570m @ 750Mhz - 8 gigs HyperX 1866 - 120 gig OCZ Vertex 3 SSD- 750 gig Scorpio Black - BluRay - 95% Gamut Screen - IC Diamond goop
FastRedPonyCar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-10, 12:12 AM   #10
FastRedPonyCar
Resident Tire Destroyer
 
FastRedPonyCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to FastRedPonyCar
Default Re: Custom config + 1900X1200 + 8xQ AA + 16 AF = 60FPS 4 me

probably not the best scene but I only played for a few minutes and it stayed pegged at 50~60 fps the whole time.

Not really sure what sort of visual differences I'm looking for here... AA on the trees?

__________________
- Desktop -
4770k @ 4.45 ghz - ASUS Gryphon Mobo - 16 gigs Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866 RAM - XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 H2o Cooling - EVGA GTX 680 @1325mhz - 128 gig Crucial RealSSD C300 - 150 gig Velociraptor +2.75 Terrabytes of WD Sata 3.0 storage - 910 watt PC P&C PSU - Corsair Obsidian 650D case

- Server -
Core I7 D0 revision 920 @ 3.75 ghz - ASUS P6T Deluxe - 12 Gigs Mushkin DDR3 1600 - Corsair HX 620 PSU - Noctua NH-U9B cooler - Coolermaster WaveMaster Case

- Laptop -
MSI 16F2-012
- i7 2630QM - GTX570m @ 750Mhz - 8 gigs HyperX 1866 - 120 gig OCZ Vertex 3 SSD- 750 gig Scorpio Black - BluRay - 95% Gamut Screen - IC Diamond goop
FastRedPonyCar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-10, 02:44 AM   #11
Soetdjuret
Teh lazy swede
 
Soetdjuret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Svea
Posts: 1,982
Default Re: Custom config + 1900X1200 + 8xQ AA + 16 AF = 60FPS 4 me

Quote:
Originally Posted by FastRedPonyCar View Post
Not really sure what sort of visual differences I'm looking for here... AA on the trees?
LOL? Not really sure? SSAA makes huge difference to regular rendered scenes in terms if image quality. Were not only talking about perfect AA for both objects and trees but also alot crisper and detailed image. For instance, anisotropic filtering is useless when u have SSAA because distant textures are rendered alot further away and compressed, so they will stay sharp the whole way even if u got AF turned off.

What SSAA really does: Makes ya game look like my crysis screenshots. This is what people like M3dude and Logical can't understand...

Your pic looks sweet, SSAA working for sure. But what lvl of SSAA is that taken at?

If i had a rig to handle it, i would run 4x4 SSAA haha, but also 3x3 makes a pretty insane quality impact on just about any game. But in Crysis, SSAA takes the visuals to new levels never comparable to any other game out there.


Quote:
Originally Posted by FastRedPonyCar View Post
yeah I found it earlier. HL2 cinematic mod is stuttering pretty badly when I set the AA transparency supersampling to 8x sparse grid SS.
Are you surprised? 8x sparsegrid is the most demanding SSAA mode along with 4x4 Ordered grid... Just run 3x3 order-grid SSAA for the source engine dude...
__________________
R.I.P Stage6 | per haud Justiciá illic exsisto haud pacís...
Soetdjuret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-10, 08:39 AM   #12
FastRedPonyCar
Resident Tire Destroyer
 
FastRedPonyCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to FastRedPonyCar
Default Re: Custom config + 1900X1200 + 8xQ AA + 16 AF = 60FPS 4 me

well regarding HL2 vs Warhead, if I turn Vsync off on both games, HL2's framerate shoots through the roof but warhead only peaks arond 70 or 80 in low detail areas and stick to around 50~60 fps average.

Cinematic mod will average well over 100 fps.

I had warhead set to 8x SSAA same as HL2. That's what is weird. What's also strange is that warhead was pounding both GPU's the entire time but HL2 really only used 1. It's like one card really isn't even being used and makes me wonder if it's a "flaw" with the game engine not using SLI correctly or something??

I'll bump it down to 4x and see if it improves. It's mainly only when I'm turning around. If I'm walking straight line, it doesn't stutter at all.
__________________
- Desktop -
4770k @ 4.45 ghz - ASUS Gryphon Mobo - 16 gigs Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866 RAM - XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 H2o Cooling - EVGA GTX 680 @1325mhz - 128 gig Crucial RealSSD C300 - 150 gig Velociraptor +2.75 Terrabytes of WD Sata 3.0 storage - 910 watt PC P&C PSU - Corsair Obsidian 650D case

- Server -
Core I7 D0 revision 920 @ 3.75 ghz - ASUS P6T Deluxe - 12 Gigs Mushkin DDR3 1600 - Corsair HX 620 PSU - Noctua NH-U9B cooler - Coolermaster WaveMaster Case

- Laptop -
MSI 16F2-012
- i7 2630QM - GTX570m @ 750Mhz - 8 gigs HyperX 1866 - 120 gig OCZ Vertex 3 SSD- 750 gig Scorpio Black - BluRay - 95% Gamut Screen - IC Diamond goop
FastRedPonyCar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.