Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-29-03, 04:13 PM   #37
alien999999999
Registered User
 
alien999999999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 218
Send a message via ICQ to alien999999999
Default

We'd better start threads of our own instead of here...


... and I'll follow my own advice...
__________________
Alien is my name and headbiting is my game.
alien999999999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-03, 04:20 PM   #38
nicster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 4
Default Installation with Mandrake 9.1

The update using the previous .run file worked fine here (apart from the slight issue as usual with dri permissions).

2D performance seems to have improved a lot!!! Thanks guys!!!
nicster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-03, 04:27 PM   #39
chaghi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Maybe we have a confusion here, alsa is a modular sound driver , if you compile your sound card directly to your kernel you will not need no extra software anymore to make the sound card work...
Maybe this is a little off-topic, but, could anybody use the i810_audio kernel driver of the asus a7n8x mobo and *successfully* got *real* 5.1 analog output with it ?

I gave up... I didn't want to use ALSA, but for some sound chipsets is the one-and-only option if you want to use most of the features...

Any comment on this will be appreciated!
Thanks!
chaghi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-03, 05:26 PM   #40
ElNormo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 16
Default

For what it's worth, I enabled RenderAccel and haven't had any crashes all day. Before upgrading, the system would crash within a few minutes...

So far so good. Also, do these drivers affect things outside video (sound, network, etc)? As I understood it, that was seperate. nForce I believe. Just want to be clear.

Thanks

Norman
ElNormo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-03, 05:46 PM   #41
baud
GeForce4 MX 440
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Versailles
Posts: 6
Thumbs up works with MdK 9.1

I've just installed NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-4496-pkg2.run and it works correctly with my system :
Mandrake 9.1
MSI K7T266Pro2 (6380)
Athlon XP 1700+
256 MB PC2100
PixelView/Prolink Geforce4 MX440 64MB

I've seen no real enhancement so far. glxgears goes down from ~1920 FPS with 4363 to ~1880 FPS (not that relevant anyway...).

Next time can you put the file NVIDIA_Changelog on the download page so that I can review it before installing ? (that's part of the decision of installing, better than going blind).
In the readme.txt could you add comments (like "new in 4496", "updated in 4496") so that a quick reading gives a good view of enhancements ? (put that at least on the wishlist !).

Sound works well (integrated sound card on the MSI motherboard).
As for the A7N8X and sound, I may install an A7N8X-X this week end, I'll try to give feedback on a new thread if I get it to work correctly.
Thanks for this new version (driver + installer) that work flawlessly.
baud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-03, 07:43 PM   #42
baud
GeForce4 MX 440
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Versailles
Posts: 6
Default one bad news, one good news with MdK1 and 4496

I've reproduced the problem of alien999999999 (see thread above on page 1) :
When I reboot or shutdown, the display in the console is as described previously : huge font (same appearance, unreadable) or squares everywhere...
What would be expected : list of services being shut down... Thanksfully, that do not annoy me much so I may stay with 4496 : nevertheless, please give a patch as soon as possible (i.e. when you can) !

I think I was not as annoyed as I have not to go to the console that often (I prefer opening a terminal window), I installed this way :
- change /etc/inittab level from 5 to 3
- reboot / log in as root / install driver
- change back /etc/inittab level from 3 to 5
- reboot
So I don't stay too long in the console, and the problem arises (so far...) only at shutdown or reboot.

The good news : it works with my old computer
Mandrake 9.1
motherboard DFI P2XBL
Pentium II 350
128 MB SDRAM PCI100
GeForce 2MX
It went from 50 FPS in glxgears (with generic driver) to 1011 FPS, and chromium becomes playable (not slowed down to unusability)

To help diagnose, here are the only differences between those two computers :
- hardware (obviously) : at least GeForce 4MX 440 vs GeForce 2MX
- software :
. the Athlon is an up to date Mandrake 9.1 (with all latest rpm from Ximian/red-carpet, not kernel : I kept 2.4.21-0.13mdk)
. whereas the Pentium is an original Mandrake 9.1 without only a few patches (apache, samba... not gnome, kde)
Hope you can reproduce it to find a way to correct it promptly ! (that's not that critical for me, that's major though for those that use text console).
baud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-03, 07:51 PM   #43
baud
GeForce4 MX 440
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Versailles
Posts: 6
Default another item on my wishlist

By the way, if you can find something to avoid rebooting (at least a procedure that may be scripted...) " la" Windoze that would be really nice !
There was a time when Xconfigurator would only make the screen flickering, switching from text to graphic...
If the windows/desktop could be kept that would really be a plus ! (I understand though that this one may imply new functionalities for XFree and Gnome/KDE...)
So : another item on my wish list (you have seen it before, I'm sure).
baud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-03, 08:19 PM   #44
alien999999999
Registered User
 
alien999999999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 218
Send a message via ICQ to alien999999999
Default

/etc/init.d/dm stop
/etc/init.d/dm start

should do that, no?

unless you're talking about something else, and I have no clue to what you're talking about.

and probably you not about me either
__________________
Alien is my name and headbiting is my game.
alien999999999 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-30-03, 02:56 AM   #45
baud
GeForce4 MX 440
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Versailles
Posts: 6
Default

I should definitely try dm stop / start on Mandrake : if it works for you, it should for me : hence it may even be an(other) addition to the README... my point was really to keep the open windows.

Have you reverted back to 4363 ? I'll try to stick to 4496 till I get the patch for those psychaedelic text console fonts...
baud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-03, 05:55 AM   #46
digital_boy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8
Default re:

Still can't get to work TV-OUT on Inno3D Tornado GF4 MX420 , NVidia tv-out controller.
Last driver where it's working is 3123.
digital_boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-03, 07:07 AM   #47
bahamot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 161
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by chaghi
Maybe this is a little off-topic, but, could anybody use the i810_audio kernel driver of the asus a7n8x mobo and *successfully* got *real* 5.1 analog output with it ?

I gave up... I didn't want to use ALSA, but for some sound chipsets is the one-and-only option if you want to use most of the features...

Any comment on this will be appreciated!
Thanks!
nope, i give it up.
now i'm using emu10k1
bahamot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-03, 08:39 AM   #48
jkyamog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4
Default 4496 sound stutter and Xinerama

Hi,

I took a break from my programming stuff. I tried to install 4496 again. It seems though that the sound stutter is caused by a slightly higher CPU usage of 4496 when using Xinerama (not Twinview) as compared to 4363.

Using 4496 w/ Xinerama, X gets about 5-12% cpu usage doing. Didn't have a lot of time to fiddle and test alot, but doing a quick run shows this. Then i used my TwinView config. CPU usage goes down, sound stutter is ok.

Anyway I hope other people will find this informative for those who upgraded to 4496 and is using Xinerama and not TwinView.

Now I have a question. I am using Xinerama because, the config is a bit cleaner switching from single and dual monitor. Although my main issue is that I use a custom RGB. I have a LCD and CRT monitor. I provide custom RGB on them using the Xconfig Gamma directive on Monitor section.

Does anyone knows how to pass the Gamma on monitor 2 on TwinView?
jkyamog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Day of Defeat: Source and Half-Life 2: Deathmatch Updates Released News Archived News Items 0 06-11-12 09:50 PM
CUVILib v1.2 released News Archived News Items 0 05-17-12 07:40 AM
295.49 (long-lived branch release) for Linux x86/x86_64 released AaronP NVIDIA Linux 0 05-03-12 10:42 AM
SOF2 1.02 Patch Released! PsychoSy Gaming Central 5 10-17-02 05:08 AM
nvidia drivers in a motherboard with AGP 1.0 (motherboard MVP3+) knocker NVIDIA Linux 1 08-19-02 01:57 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.