Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-30-10, 08:48 PM   #1
hephooey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 14
Default Problem with dynamic twinview

I encounter frequently with this problem with dynamic twinview, I use Lenovo W510 which comes with a Nvidia Quadro FX880M, I use two different monitors at home and at office, one use the vga port, the other connects through displayport, most time I can switch between these two without problem. But once every few days I will have error message like this:

ERROR: Failed to find display device 0x00000001 on screen 0 (on GPU-0)
while parsing metamode:
'CRT-0: nvidia-auto-select @1600x900 +0+0'

This is the message I get when I start nvidia without external monitor after suspended the laptop without remove the CRT external monitor. Now I get an error message in the nvidia-settings tools, no way to remove the old device or config the new one without restart X.

I also try to use nv-control-dpy to remove the metamode, but either I do not understand how to use it, or something seriously wrong that prevent me from removing those problematic metamodes. I get the following metamode when I run --print-metamodes:

id=50, switchable=no, source=nv-control :: CRT-0: nvidia-auto-select @1600x900 +0+0, DFP-0: nvidia-auto-select @1920x1080 +1600+0

Then run nv-control-dpy I get:

./nv-control-dpy --delete-metamode "CRT-0: nvidia-auto-select @1600x900 +0+0, DFP-0: nvidia-auto-select @1920x1080 +1600+0"

Using NV-CONTROL extension 1.24 on :0.0
Connected Display Devices:
DFP-0 (0x00010000): LEN
DFP-4 (0x00100000): DELL U2311H

Failed to delete the MetaMode.


Reading the Xorg.0.log there seems to be some segfault happened before this. I put nvidia-bug-report.log.gz in the attachment, hope this can help you fix the bug.
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.gz (50.0 KB, 68 views)
hephooey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-11, 01:58 PM   #2
arsenix
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 21
Default Re: Problem with dynamic twinview

Bump!

Does anyone know the answer to this issue? I also have the identical problem. It appears that I cannot delete metamodes which contain devices that are no longer connected. If I could... all my multi-monitor issues would be fixed...


James
arsenix is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.