Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Console World

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-13-10, 12:33 PM   #1
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default Wireless Router and PS3

What wireless router are you using for your PS3?
DiscipleDOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-10, 12:43 PM   #2
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: Wireless Router and PS3

One the works

Netgear N wifi, 300 Mbps
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-10, 01:14 PM   #3
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Wireless Router and PS3

Using a Netgear N as well. Works well. If you have problems, try disabling UPnP on the PS3. It can cause problems with connectivity.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-10, 01:47 PM   #4
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default Re: Wireless Router and PS3

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
Using a Netgear N as well. Works well. If you have problems, try disabling UPnP on the PS3. It can cause problems with connectivity.
Yea...my connectivity was crap with UPnP enabled. I disabled it and I'm still having connectivity issues. I just bought a D-Link DIR-825 hoping that I will have a better connection.
DiscipleDOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-10, 02:26 PM   #5
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Wireless Router and PS3

Quote:
Originally Posted by DiscipleDOC View Post
Yea...my connectivity was crap with UPnP enabled. I disabled it and I'm still having connectivity issues. I just bought a D-Link DIR-825 hoping that I will have a better connection.
Try static IP and forward the correct ports for PSN.

Quote:
The port numbers for PLAYSTATIONŽNetwork servers used for this are TCP: 80, 443, 5223 and UDP: 3478, 3479.

For voice / video chat and online game play, direct communication with other PS3™ systems is used for data transmission during voice / video chat and online gaming. The port number used for this is UDP: 3658. However, you may need to use a different port number when you are connected using a NAT router.
http://boardsus.playstation.com/t5/P...g/m-p/31552818
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-10, 02:43 PM   #6
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default Re: Wireless Router and PS3

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
Try static IP and forward the correct ports for PSN.



http://boardsus.playstation.com/t5/P...g/m-p/31552818
Will do.
DiscipleDOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-10, 01:17 AM   #7
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,580
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Wireless Router and PS3

I'm using a Buffalo one with dd-wrt

DiscipleDOC-wrt that is.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-10, 08:35 AM   #8
Yaboze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,057
Default Re: Wireless Router and PS3

Linksys
Yaboze is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-15-10, 09:00 AM   #9
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Wireless Router and PS3

Quote:
Originally Posted by DiscipleDOC View Post
Yea...my connectivity was crap with UPnP enabled. I disabled it and I'm still having connectivity issues. I just bought a D-Link DIR-825 hoping that I will have a better connection.
make sure is Rev B, Reb A is old and entirelly diffrent

Rev B is based on Atheros 660mhz cpu design same as the best netgear.
Rev A is based on (forgot the company name) 220-250mhz cpu design and performance suffers with a lot of connections.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-10, 09:02 AM   #10
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Wireless Router and PS3

new DIR-665 uses 1.2 GHz Kirkwood CPU
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-10, 09:19 AM   #11
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default Re: Wireless Router and PS3

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
make sure is Rev B, Reb A is old and entirelly diffrent

Rev B is based on Atheros 660mhz cpu design same as the best netgear.
Rev A is based on (forgot the company name) 220-250mhz cpu design and performance suffers with a lot of connections.
Yep...it is revision b....
DiscipleDOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-10, 09:21 AM   #12
Raptorman
Former Marine
 
Raptorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Jonesville, VA
Posts: 786
Send a message via MSN to Raptorman Send a message via Yahoo to Raptorman
Default Re: Wireless Router and PS3

I'm using a Linksys E3000. No problems with it so far.
__________________
Operator at Halliburton Production Enhancement
Formerly Serving The U.S. Marine Corps
Not As Mean, Not As Lean, But Still A Marine
0331
Ramadi 2006, 22 MEU 2007
3rd Battalion 8th Marines WPNS CO
"Marines I see as two breeds, Rottweilers or Dobermans, because Marines come in two varieties, big and mean, or skinny and mean. They're aggressive on the attack and tenacious on defense. They've got really short hair and they always go for the throat."
RAdm. "Jay" R. Stark, USN; 10 November 1995
Raptorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Š1998 - 2014, nV News.