Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-13-10, 05:13 PM   #1
jimiz
Life is what you make it!
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Veneta, Oregon
Posts: 3
Send a message via Skype™ to jimiz
Default Installing new SSD drive - what to do?

I am upgrading my OS drive to the OCZ Vertex 2 120GB SSD. I am excited to see how this goes with the rest of my new items. I am dissapointed to know that the best way to start off with a new drive is fresh OS & applications install. I don't want to ghost and create any issues that would slow the drive down at all.
So..I thought that I would unplug my other SATA Mechanical drives while installing Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit to the SSD so there are no conflicts. Is there anything I need to do in the bios? Do I need to set the SATA option in my bios to AHCI? Will my DVDRW that is not SATA become useless?
Once the OS is installed, what 'tweaks' are necessary for the SSD to be at it's best?
Thanks for any advice on this.
__________________
JIMIZ
CPU-AMD PHenom II X6 1055T
MB-Gigabyte 890GPA-UD3H
RAM-G.Skill RipJaws 16GB DDR3-1333
GC-EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 640MB
CASE-Apevia
PSU-Ultra Xconnect 500W
jimiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-10, 06:26 PM   #2
v3rninater
Blowin up since 1969
 
v3rninater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,095
Default Re: Installing new SSD drive - what to do?

Dude, look here...

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...149826&page=20
__________________
Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 3.4ghz 1600fsb || Gigabyte P45 EP45-UD3R stable as a rooock! || 4gb G-Skill DDR2 PC8500 5-5-5-15 || EVGA 580-GTX 1.5gb || Creative Fatal1ty Xram Sound Card 7.1 ||G-Skill Phoenix Pro SSD 120gb|| WD BLACK 32mb cache 640gb HD || 2x Samsung DVD burner 16x DVD+\- || Corsair 620watt PSU
Win 7 Ultimate 64bit (640gb hd)

AMD Phenom II X6 T1090 || Gigabyte GA880 || 4gb G-skill Ripjaw DDR3 1600 || MSI 8800 Ultra o/c || WD BLACK 32mb cache 640gb HD || ASUS DVD Burner || XFX 750 watt PSU

LG 60" 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV 60PS11
Xbox 360
v3rninater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-10, 06:54 PM   #3
jimiz
Life is what you make it!
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Veneta, Oregon
Posts: 3
Send a message via Skype™ to jimiz
Default Re: Installing new SSD drive - what to do?

I already ordered the SSD and will be receiving it in a day or two. I didn't feel like waiting for the new models. It must be the crazy impatient part of me that hits order late at night. Anyway, I need info on what to do when I install it. I have heard of setting the trim, turning off some OS settings but not sure if anyone has a nice list that I can run through during install. Has anyone seen one online or can give me some guidance? Thanks.
__________________
JIMIZ
CPU-AMD PHenom II X6 1055T
MB-Gigabyte 890GPA-UD3H
RAM-G.Skill RipJaws 16GB DDR3-1333
GC-EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 640MB
CASE-Apevia
PSU-Ultra Xconnect 500W
jimiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-10, 08:50 PM   #4
v3rninater
Blowin up since 1969
 
v3rninater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,095
Default Re: Installing new SSD drive - what to do?

Dude, I just did what you asked, and it's there if you clicked the link. It's to another part of the forums, so, Trim works and is active on only win 7 afaik, if you install win 7 on the SSD only. What I did, was install win 7 on the SSD being the only HD hooked up, then did what that link said, and voila, I have an awesome SSD!
__________________
Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 3.4ghz 1600fsb || Gigabyte P45 EP45-UD3R stable as a rooock! || 4gb G-Skill DDR2 PC8500 5-5-5-15 || EVGA 580-GTX 1.5gb || Creative Fatal1ty Xram Sound Card 7.1 ||G-Skill Phoenix Pro SSD 120gb|| WD BLACK 32mb cache 640gb HD || 2x Samsung DVD burner 16x DVD+\- || Corsair 620watt PSU
Win 7 Ultimate 64bit (640gb hd)

AMD Phenom II X6 T1090 || Gigabyte GA880 || 4gb G-skill Ripjaw DDR3 1600 || MSI 8800 Ultra o/c || WD BLACK 32mb cache 640gb HD || ASUS DVD Burner || XFX 750 watt PSU

LG 60" 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV 60PS11
Xbox 360
v3rninater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-10, 09:49 PM   #5
jimiz
Life is what you make it!
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Veneta, Oregon
Posts: 3
Send a message via Skype™ to jimiz
Default Re: Installing new SSD drive - what to do?

Somehow when I clicked on the link before, I missed the info. I do see it now. Thanks alot. That really helps. Was there anything you changed in the bios? Format AHCI? etc?

Do you have any IDE drives (DVDrom, DVDRW, etc.) to contend with?
__________________
JIMIZ
CPU-AMD PHenom II X6 1055T
MB-Gigabyte 890GPA-UD3H
RAM-G.Skill RipJaws 16GB DDR3-1333
GC-EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 640MB
CASE-Apevia
PSU-Ultra Xconnect 500W
jimiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-10, 02:45 AM   #6
v3rninater
Blowin up since 1969
 
v3rninater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,095
Default Re: Installing new SSD drive - what to do?

I do have IDE drives and they work in the AHCI mode just fine, make sure you have AHCI turned on in the bios, and then when you install the OS, make the appropriate changes from that other thread.
__________________
Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 3.4ghz 1600fsb || Gigabyte P45 EP45-UD3R stable as a rooock! || 4gb G-Skill DDR2 PC8500 5-5-5-15 || EVGA 580-GTX 1.5gb || Creative Fatal1ty Xram Sound Card 7.1 ||G-Skill Phoenix Pro SSD 120gb|| WD BLACK 32mb cache 640gb HD || 2x Samsung DVD burner 16x DVD+\- || Corsair 620watt PSU
Win 7 Ultimate 64bit (640gb hd)

AMD Phenom II X6 T1090 || Gigabyte GA880 || 4gb G-skill Ripjaw DDR3 1600 || MSI 8800 Ultra o/c || WD BLACK 32mb cache 640gb HD || ASUS DVD Burner || XFX 750 watt PSU

LG 60" 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV 60PS11
Xbox 360
v3rninater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-10, 12:16 PM   #7
frenchy2k1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 449
Default Re: Installing new SSD drive - what to do?

AHCI is only for SATA drives (this is how your BIOS reports the SATA drives, as full SATA or as IDE emulation). AHCI is now handled correctly by pretty much all OS. It enables all of SATA's features, like hot-swapping, queuing...
__________________
As the universe is curved, there cannot be a straight answer...
frenchy2k1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-10, 01:31 PM   #8
JasonPC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,103
Default Re: Installing new SSD drive - what to do?

AHCI can be enabled when IDE drives are present, but only SATA drives will make use of AHCI with the features frenchy mentioned.
JasonPC is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.