Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 400/500 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-15-10, 04:48 AM   #1
shrapnel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 30
Default Possible to SLI 2 different GTX 480 ?

Hi
I already have a Zotac AMP GTX 480. I was thinking of going SLI.
Can I go SLI with a GTX 480 of a different company like EVGA or POV as Zotac is temporarily unavailable .
My computer dealer says NO, because of different clock speeds and BIOS involved .
Is he right , or I can go ahead and buy any other GTX 480 for SLI ?
__________________
CPU - Intel Core I7 920
MOBO - MSI X58
2x SLI-Zotac AMP GeForce GTX 480 and Leadtek GeForce GTX 480
Monitor- Samsung 2233RZ 120 Hz (3D ready)
Memory - 6GB G-Skill
PSU - CorsairHX 1000 W
Win 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
shrapnel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-10, 12:57 PM   #2
Rollo
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,719
Default Re: Possible to SLI 2 different GTX 480 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by shrapnel View Post
Hi
I already have a Zotac AMP GTX 480. I was thinking of going SLI.
Can I go SLI with a GTX 480 of a different company like EVGA or POV as Zotac is temporarily unavailable .
My computer dealer says NO, because of different clock speeds and BIOS involved .
Is he right , or I can go ahead and buy any other GTX 480 for SLI ?
You can use any other brand, as long as it's the same GPU. I've done so many times.
__________________
Rig1:
intel 990X + 2 X EVGA 3GB GTX580 + 3 X Acer GD235Hz
3D Vision Surround

Rig 2:
intel 2500K + NVIDIA GTX590 + Dell 3007 WFPHC

[SIZE="1"]NVIDIA Focus Group Member
[B]NVIDIA Focus Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the Members.[/B][/SIZE]
Rollo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-10, 03:19 PM   #3
shrapnel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 30
Default Re: Possible to SLI 2 different GTX 480 ?

Thank You, Rollo.
I did it !!
I decided to go SLI to improve the FPS with 3D Vision, that too with a different company made GTX 480 (Leadtek).
Man, its really worked for me ! All my games are now twice as fast..... for instance, in Dead Rising 2, I was getting only 25-30 fps (using 3D vision) in zombie-infested large areas with the single GTX 480. Now, after going SLI, I get 58-60 fps even in graphically-intensive areas.
NOW, its certainly much more fun, while playing games using 3D Vision !!
And Oh ! Mafia 2 is rocking too !!
CIAO
__________________
CPU - Intel Core I7 920
MOBO - MSI X58
2x SLI-Zotac AMP GeForce GTX 480 and Leadtek GeForce GTX 480
Monitor- Samsung 2233RZ 120 Hz (3D ready)
Memory - 6GB G-Skill
PSU - CorsairHX 1000 W
Win 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
shrapnel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-10, 03:28 PM   #4
Rollo
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,719
Default Re: Possible to SLI 2 different GTX 480 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by shrapnel View Post
Thank You, Rollo.
I did it !!
I decided to go SLI to improve the FPS with 3D Vision, that too with a different company made GTX 480 (Leadtek).
Man, its really worked for me ! All my games are now twice as fast..... for instance, in Dead Rising 2, I was getting only 25-30 fps (using 3D vision) in zombie-infested large areas with the single GTX 480. Now, after going SLI, I get 58-60 fps even in graphically-intensive areas.
NOW, its certainly much more fun, while playing games using 3D Vision !!
And Oh ! Mafia 2 is rocking too !!
CIAO
SLi and 3d Vision are a good match, as 3d Vision has to render the image twice. I'm using 480SLi to power 3d Vision Surround now, which is the holy land of PC gaming as far as I'm concerned. Have Lost Planet2 downloading right now, latest game opimized for 3d.
__________________
Rig1:
intel 990X + 2 X EVGA 3GB GTX580 + 3 X Acer GD235Hz
3D Vision Surround

Rig 2:
intel 2500K + NVIDIA GTX590 + Dell 3007 WFPHC

[SIZE="1"]NVIDIA Focus Group Member
[B]NVIDIA Focus Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the Members.[/B][/SIZE]
Rollo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.