Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > General Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-29-03, 12:30 PM   #1
LinuxNewbieGER
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3
Default SuSE 8.2 Pro, Leadtek nForce2 and LAN

Hi!

Sorry for my very bad english but I'm german

I've own a Leadtek K7nCR18D-Pro Mainboard with nForce2 Chipset and I want to use the Onboard-LAN-Port under SuSE 8.2 Professional.

I installed the RPM-Driverpackage found at http://download.nvidia.com/XFree86/n...use82.i586.rpm via YaST2 and then I did a reboot.

The LAN-Port is configured to use DHCP, in YaST the Module "nvnet" is in the input-field.

But Linux says "No IP address yet... skipped" while booting. ifconfig even says no ip yet

How can I get the LAN working?

Thanx a lot and sorry again for my bad english!
LinuxNewbieGER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-03, 01:29 AM   #2
leibold
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 66
Default

Das ist mit grosser Wahrscheinlichkeit ein bekanntes Problem mit dem Interrupt-routing und ACPI.

Um auszuprobieren ob das auch bei Dir der fall ist boote doch einfach einmal die "failsafe" Option. Ich hoffe das die in der Deutschen Version den gleichen Namen hat :-)

Wenn die nvnet NIC dann funktioniert hast du mehrere Moeglichkeiten das Problem zu loesen. Zum Beispiel immer die failsafe option zu benutzen, einen Kernel kompilieren der ACPI nicht enthaelt oder eine der optionen "pci=noacpi" oder "acpi=off" an die kernel zeile in /boot/grub/menu.lst anhaengen.
leibold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-03, 01:35 PM   #3
LinuxNewbieGER
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3
Default

Hallo!

failsafes habe ich nicht aber "Linux - Safe Settings". Eine IP kriegt er dabei aber immer noch nicht

english:
I booted the option "Linux - Safe Settings" but I still get no IP from my Router

"No IP address yet... skipped"

Wenns gar nicht anders geht werd ich mir wohl eine Netzwerkkarte mit Realtek-Chip einbauen, da hab ich eh noch eine von rumliegen
LinuxNewbieGER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-03, 12:32 PM   #4
LinuxNewbieGER
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3
Default

Hi!

I have now installed a PCI-LAN-Card with Realtek-Chipset and reinstalled SuSE (no, not because of the LAN problem... ).

The nvlan still don't work but the Realtek-Chip works perfectly so I'm happy
LinuxNewbieGER is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.