Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-20-10, 08:55 AM   #1
kokoko3k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 120
Default [SOLVED] Adding new resolutions via xrandr

I'm trying to add a resolution to the pool using xrandr tool:
Code:
# xrandr --newmode "1152x864_60.00"  81.62  1152 1216 1336 1520  864 865 868 895  -HSync +Vsync
# xrandr --addmode default "1152x864_60.00"
# xrandr --output default --mode "1152x864_60.00"

xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
xrandr: Configure crtc 0 failed
Please note that the same modeline inserted in the xorg.conf file works.

Am i doing something wrong or the nvidia drive just does not support adding modelines on the fly via xrandr?
Is there an alternative way to do so?

my xorg.conf:
Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
	Identifier	"TwoHeadLayout"
	Screen		0  "Screen0" 0 0
	InputDevice	"Generic Keyboard"
	InputDevice	"Configured Mouse1"
	InputDevice	"Configured Mouse2"
	InputDevice	"Configured Mouse3"
	Option		"AIGLX" "true"
EndSection

Section "Files"
	FontPath	"/usr/local/share/fonts"
	FontPath	"/usr/share/fonts/100dpi"
	FontPath	"/usr/share/fonts/75dpi"
	FontPath	"/usr/share/fonts/Fonts"
	FontPath	"/usr/share/fonts/Type1"
	FontPath	"/usr/share/fonts/arphicfonts"
	FontPath	"/usr/share/fonts/baekmuk-fonts"
	FontPath	"/usr/share/fonts/corefonts"
	FontPath	"/usr/share/fonts/cyrillic"
	FontPath	"/usr/share/fonts/default"
	FontPath	"/usr/share/fonts/kochi-substitute"
	FontPath	"/usr/share/fonts/misc"
	FontPath	"/usr/share/fonts/ttf-bitstream-vera"
	FontPath	"/usr/share/fonts/xawtv"
	FontPath	"/usr/share/fonts/"
	FontPath	"/usr/share/fonts/"
EndSection

Section "Module"
	Load		"bitmap"
	Load		"ddc"
	Load		"extmod"
	Load		"freetype"
	Load		"glx"
	Load		"int10"
	Load		"vbe"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
	Option		"DefaultServerLayout" "TwoHeadLayout"
	Option		"AutoAddDevices" "false"
	Option		"Xinerama" "0"
	Option		"DontZap" "False"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
	Identifier	"Generic Keyboard"
	Driver		"keyboard"
	Option		"CoreKeyboard"
	Option		"XkbRules" "xorg"
	Option		"XkbModel" "pc105"
	Option		"XkbLayout" "it"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
	Identifier	"Configured Mouse1"
	Driver		"evdev"
	Option		"CorePointer"
	Option		"Device" "/dev/input/event4"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
	Identifier	"Configured Mouse2"
	Driver		"evdev"
	Option		"SendCoreEvents" "true"
	Option		"Device" "/dev/input/event5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
	Identifier	"Configured Mouse3"
	Driver		"evdev"
	Option		"SendCoreEvents" "true"
	Option		"Device" "/dev/input/event6"
EndSection


Section "Monitor"
	Identifier	"Monitor0"
	VendorName	"Unknown"
	ModelName	"Samsung SyncMaster"
	HorizSync	30.0 - 81.0
	VertRefresh	56.0 - 75.0
	#DisplaySize	377 302
	DisplaySize	754 302
	Modeline "1152x864_60.00"  81.62  1152 1216 1336 1520  864 865 868 895  -HSync +Vsync
EndSection

Section "Device"
	Identifier	"Device0"
	Driver		"nvidia"
	VendorName	"NVIDIA Corporation"
	BoardName	"GeForce 6600"
	Option "AccelMethod" "XAA" # not EXA

    Option         "NoLogo"
    Option         "RenderAccel" "true"
    Option         "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "true"
    Option         "DamageEvents" "True"
    Option         "UseEvents" "False"
    Option         "DPMS" "true"
    Option			"Coolbits" "1"
    Option         "DPI" "86 x 86"

Option "AllowSHMPixmaps" "0"
Option "PixmapCacheSize" "2500000"
Option "AllowGLXWithComposite" "true"
Option "TripleBuffer" "1"
Option "DisableGLXRootClipping"
Option "UseEvents" "on"
Option "OnDemandVBlankInterrupts" "on"
Option "DynamicTwinView" "false"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
	Identifier	"Screen0"
	Device		"Device0"
	Monitor		"Monitor0"
	DefaultDepth	24
	Option		"TwinView" "0"
	SubSection	"Display"
		Depth	24
	EndSubSection
	Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
EndSection
Thank you in advance.


--EDIT--
For anyone interested, there is a little tool in the nvidia-settings source package, it's called nv-control-dpy and seems to allow to add and remove modelines at runtime.
Going to try it, but still wondering if xrandr --newmode is supported somehow.
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.gz (54.0 KB, 152 views)

Last edited by kokoko3k; 07-13-11 at 08:14 AM. Reason: solved
kokoko3k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-10, 12:55 PM   #2
kokoko3k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 120
Default Re: Adding new resolutions via xrandr

Still no luck:
I deleted an edid modeline and then tried to add it again:
Code:
slimer Linux_x86 # ./nv-control-dpy  --print-used-modelines|grep -i edid
  DFP-0: source=xserver, source=vesa, source=edid :: "nvidia-auto-select"  162.000  1600 1664 1856 2160  1200 1201 1204 1250  +HSync +VSync
  DFP-0: source=xserver, source=vesa, source=edid :: "1280x1024_75"  135.000  1280 1296 1440 1688  1024 1025 1028 1066  +HSync +VSync
  DFP-0: source=xserver, source=vesa, source=edid :: "1280x1024_60"  108.000  1280 1328 1440 1688  1024 1025 1028 1066  +HSync +VSync
  DFP-0: source=xserver, source=vesa, source=edid :: "1280x960_60"  108.000  1280 1376 1488 1800  960 961 964 1000  +HSync +VSync
  DFP-0: source=xserver, source=vesa, source=edid :: "1152x864"  108.000  1152 1216 1344 1600  864 865 868 900  +HSync +VSync
  DFP-0: source=xserver, source=vesa, source=edid :: "1024x768_75"  78.750  1024 1040 1136 1312  768 769 772 800  +HSync +VSync
  DFP-0: source=edid :: "1024x768_72"  78.430  1024 1080 1192 1360  768 769 772 801  -HSync +VSync
  DFP-0: source=xserver, source=vesa, source=edid :: "1024x768_70"  75.000  1024 1048 1184 1328  768 771 777 806  -HSync -VSync
  DFP-0: source=xserver, source=vesa, source=edid :: "1024x768_60"  65.000  1024 1048 1184 1344  768 771 777 806  -HSync -VSync
  DFP-0: source=xserver, source=vesa, source=edid :: "800x600_75"  49.500  800 816 896 1056  600 601 604 625  +HSync +VSync
  DFP-0: source=xserver, source=vesa, source=edid :: "800x600_72"  50.000  800 856 976 1040  600 637 643 666  +HSync +VSync
  DFP-0: source=xserver, source=vesa, source=edid :: "800x600_60"  40.000  800 840 968 1056  600 601 605 628  +HSync +VSync
  DFP-0: source=xserver, source=vesa, source=edid :: "800x600_56"  36.000  800 824 896 1024  600 601 603 625  +HSync +VSync
  DFP-0: source=xserver, source=vesa, source=edid :: "640x480_75"  31.500  640 656 720 840  480 481 484 500  -HSync -VSync
  DFP-0: source=edid :: "640x480_73"  31.500  640 656 696 832  480 481 484 520  -HSync -VSync
  DFP-0: source=edid :: "640x480_60"  25.180  640 648 744 800  480 482 484 525  -HSync -VSync
  DFP-0: source=edid :: "640x400_70"  25.180  640 656 752 800  400 412 414 449  +HSync -VSync
slimer Linux_x86 # ./nv-control-dpy  --delete-modeline 0x00010000 "1024x768_70"

Using NV-CONTROL extension 1.24 on :1.0
Connected Display Devices:
  DFP-0 (0x00010000): Maxdata/Belinea B2080S2

Deleted modeline "1024x768_70" from DFP-0's mode pool.

slimer Linux_x86 # ./nv-control-dpy  --add-modeline 0x00010000 "1024x768_70"  75.000  1024 1048 1184 1328  768 771 777 806  -HSync -VSync

Using NV-CONTROL extension 1.24 on :1.0
Connected Display Devices:
  DFP-0 (0x00010000): Maxdata/Belinea B2080S2

Failed to add the modeline "1024x768_70" to DFP-0's mode pool.

slimer Linux_x86 # ./nv-control-dpy  --add-modeline 0x00010000 "1024x768_70"  "75.000  1024 1048 1184 1328  768 771 777 806  -HSync -VSync"

Using NV-CONTROL extension 1.24 on :1.0
Connected Display Devices:
  DFP-0 (0x00010000): Maxdata/Belinea B2080S2

Failed to add the modeline "1024x768_70" to DFP-0's mode pool.

slimer Linux_x86 # ./nv-control-dpy  --add-modeline 0x00010000 "1024x768_70  75.000  1024 1048 1184 1328  768 771 777 806  -HSync -VSync"

Using NV-CONTROL extension 1.24 on :1.0
Connected Display Devices:
  DFP-0 (0x00010000): Maxdata/Belinea B2080S2

Failed to add the modeline "1024x768_70  75.000  1024 1048 1184 1328  768 771 777 806  -HSync -VSync" to DFP-0's mode pool.
xorg log says "invalid modeline", can't undesrtand why.
Just to be sure i also added to xorg.conf:

Code:
Option "ModeValidation" "AllowNon60HzDFPModes"
Option "ModeValidation" "NoMaxPClkCheck"
Option "ModeValidation" "NoEdidMaxPClkCheck"
Option "ModeValidation" "AllowInterlacedModes"
Option "ModeValidation" "NoMaxSizeCheck"
Option "ModeValidation" "NoHorizSyncCheck"
Option "ModeValidation" "NoVertRefreshCheck"
Option "ModeValidation" "NoWidthAlignmentCheck"
Option "ModeValidation" "NoDFPNativeResolutionCheck"
Option "ModeValidation" "NoVirtualSizeCheck"
Any hint, please?

-edit-
Even specifying all modevalidation overrides in a single line, didn't help.

Last edited by kokoko3k; 11-10-10 at 05:35 AM.
kokoko3k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-11, 08:14 AM   #3
kokoko3k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 120
Default Re: Adding new resolutions via xrandr

Solved here:
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=85594
kokoko3k is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.