Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-25-10, 05:29 PM   #1
xCLAVEx
Y h@l0 th@R!
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Space City
Posts: 21
Send a message via ICQ to xCLAVEx Send a message via AIM to xCLAVEx Send a message via Yahoo to xCLAVEx
Angry New motherboard, new problem.

Well I got a replacement motherboard just today, but once I transferred all my hardware over from the old board, I powered everything up and the processor fan and case fans ran with no problem but the video card didn't even bother to turn on...I tried fiddling with the cables but nadda. I tried a spare video card I had lying around and this one turned on, but the fan ran at full speed, (loud whirr noise) did not slow down, and did not give me any video. There were no beeps from the board either. I let it sit there for a minute and nothing changed. Does anybody have any idea what is going on?

There was a time when I had the patience for computers and building my own and whatnot, but now that I have gotten older, these guessing games with replacement parts are just not fun anymore...in fact, they are a pain in the ass.

http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?t=33969666

Read above thread for more info on my dillema.
__________________
Quote:
People give me gas
xCLAVEx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-10, 06:17 PM   #2
AthlonXP1800
Registered User
 
AthlonXP1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,352
Default Re: New motherboard, new problem.

Happened to me twice with 2 MSI motherboards in 6 months, I realised MSI motherboards are crap poor quality after read MSI forum with same issues from other MSI customers. Never again with MSI, they are a pain in the ass.

Then I went to bought ASUS motherboard and it worked fantastic.
__________________
Intel Core i7 3770K, Corsair H80 liquid cooler with Noctua S12-1200 fan, ASUS P8Z77V with UEFI 2104, 16GB Samsung Green 30nm DDR3-RAM, Pioneer BDR-S09XLT 16x Blu-ray writer, Corsair AX850 PSU, Western Digital 2TB SATA3 hard drive, CanonScan LiDE 210 scanner, Microsoft Internet Keyboard, Microsoft Touch Explorer mouse, 32inch Sharp LC32LE600 LED TV, EVGA Geforce GTX 670 SC 4GB with Geforce 370.50 driver, 50Mb broadband Virgin Media VMDG480 Super Hub, Aspire Xplorer Midi Tower, Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit.
AthlonXP1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-10, 07:08 PM   #3
xCLAVEx
Y h@l0 th@R!
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Space City
Posts: 21
Send a message via ICQ to xCLAVEx Send a message via AIM to xCLAVEx Send a message via Yahoo to xCLAVEx
Default Re: New motherboard, new problem.

It could be a crap board. It is a Fujitsu Siemens D1858 Intel 925 Socket 775. I can't even get the damn thing to post.
__________________
Quote:
People give me gas
xCLAVEx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-10, 04:26 AM   #4
xCLAVEx
Y h@l0 th@R!
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Space City
Posts: 21
Send a message via ICQ to xCLAVEx Send a message via AIM to xCLAVEx Send a message via Yahoo to xCLAVEx
Default Re: New motherboard, new problem.

It's this thing.

http://www.geeks.com/details.asp?inv...858-BO&cat=MBB
__________________
Quote:
People give me gas
xCLAVEx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-10, 05:40 AM   #5
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: New motherboard, new problem.

That looks pretty cheap and nasty and going by the price. It is.
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-10, 05:59 AM   #6
AthlonXP1800
Registered User
 
AthlonXP1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,352
Default Re: New motherboard, new problem.

Hmmm Fujitsu Siemens do not selling motherboards, it never mentioned on their website unless your desktop PC brand is Fujitsu Siemens.

I am shocked to find out your motherboard contains leads that Fujitsu Siemens should not used as far as 6 years ago.

It not very good to purchase branded desktop PCs because they had very short lifespan and more prone to failures few months after the warranty expired. Happened to my neighour years ago where Advent branded desktop's DVD-ROM drive failed a month after 1 year Advent warranty expired. Then few weeks after new LG DVD-ROM replaced failed Advent DVD-ROM, Advent monitor died and neighbour had to go to shop to buy new monitor. A month later he bought the new monitor, the Advent motherboard died. It was absolutely pain in ass to helped my neighbour, I told him it better off build a custom PC that can last up to 10 years rather than a year with branded PC.
__________________
Intel Core i7 3770K, Corsair H80 liquid cooler with Noctua S12-1200 fan, ASUS P8Z77V with UEFI 2104, 16GB Samsung Green 30nm DDR3-RAM, Pioneer BDR-S09XLT 16x Blu-ray writer, Corsair AX850 PSU, Western Digital 2TB SATA3 hard drive, CanonScan LiDE 210 scanner, Microsoft Internet Keyboard, Microsoft Touch Explorer mouse, 32inch Sharp LC32LE600 LED TV, EVGA Geforce GTX 670 SC 4GB with Geforce 370.50 driver, 50Mb broadband Virgin Media VMDG480 Super Hub, Aspire Xplorer Midi Tower, Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit.
AthlonXP1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-10, 10:53 AM   #7
Starscream
Decepticook
 
Starscream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cybertron
Posts: 1,005
Default Re: New motherboard, new problem.

Can you post a list of the parts you're putting in this motherboard?

Are you replacing the same motherboard with this?

According to that link it's an Intel 925 chipset board, that chipset does not support a lot of processors. Basically LGA775 p4's and Celerons and not much else.
__________________
Maybe tomorrow I'll wanna settle down, until tomorrow I'll just keep moving on...
Starscream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-10, 11:43 AM   #8
xCLAVEx
Y h@l0 th@R!
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Space City
Posts: 21
Send a message via ICQ to xCLAVEx Send a message via AIM to xCLAVEx Send a message via Yahoo to xCLAVEx
Default Re: New motherboard, new problem.

http://www.geeks.com/details.asp?inv...9-PB-R&cat=MBB
What about this one? Is this any good?
__________________
Quote:
People give me gas
xCLAVEx is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-26-10, 11:46 AM   #9
xCLAVEx
Y h@l0 th@R!
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Space City
Posts: 21
Send a message via ICQ to xCLAVEx Send a message via AIM to xCLAVEx Send a message via Yahoo to xCLAVEx
Default Re: New motherboard, new problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Starscream View Post
Can you post a list of the parts you're putting in this motherboard?

Are you replacing the same motherboard with this?

According to that link it's an Intel 925 chipset board, that chipset does not support a lot of processors. Basically LGA775 p4's and Celerons and not much else.


These are the parts;

Motherboard Intel DQ965GF - Replacing because PSU blew up and took the board with it.
CPU Intel Quad Core 2 Duo Q6600
Graphics eVGA Geforce 260 GTX Overclocked Edition
Memory 4 Gig DDR2 667mhz in Dual Channel mode
Cooling Solution Dynatron Evo-11
Display HP W1907 19in LCD Widescreen
Soundcard & Speakers Soundblaster X-Fi Extreme
Hard-Drives 400/160 gig Seagate SATA HD
Power Supply 700 Watt Ultra X-Connect VS PSU - Replaced with ThermalTake 600w PSU with 34a and 24a on dual 12v rails.
__________________
Quote:
People give me gas
xCLAVEx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-10, 03:32 PM   #10
Starscream
Decepticook
 
Starscream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cybertron
Posts: 1,005
Default Re: New motherboard, new problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by xCLAVEx View Post
These are the parts;
CPU Intel Quad Core 2 Duo Q6600
There is the problem.

This board is so ancient it doesn't support any Core 2 Duo processors.

Quote:
Originally Posted by xCLAVEx View Post
http://www.geeks.com/details.asp?inv...9-PB-R&cat=MBB
What about this one? Is this any good?
I don't know if I'd say that's good exactly... However it does support Core 2 Quad processors, so it should get you going. Here's hoping that ancient P4 only board didn't fry your Core 2 Quad CPU.
__________________
Maybe tomorrow I'll wanna settle down, until tomorrow I'll just keep moving on...

Last edited by Starscream; 10-26-10 at 03:51 PM. Reason: Fish and chimps.
Starscream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-10, 06:48 PM   #11
xCLAVEx
Y h@l0 th@R!
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Space City
Posts: 21
Send a message via ICQ to xCLAVEx Send a message via AIM to xCLAVEx Send a message via Yahoo to xCLAVEx
Default Re: New motherboard, new problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Starscream View Post
There is the problem.

This board is so ancient it doesn't support any Core 2 Duo processors.



I don't know if I'd say that's good exactly... However it does support Core 2 Quad processors, so it should get you going. Here's hoping that ancient P4 only board didn't fry your Core 2 Quad CPU.
Don't think it did as the processor still kept trying to come up and there wren't any pin connections really. But yeah, I made a noobed mistake.
__________________
Quote:
People give me gas
xCLAVEx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-10, 01:15 AM   #12
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: New motherboard, new problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by xCLAVEx View Post
Don't think it did as the processor still kept trying to come up and there weren't any pin connections really. But yeah, I made a noobed mistake.
That is a hell of a noob mistake. You are lucky if you haven't damaged any hardware.

Also I would ditch the sound blaster and just use the onboard sound. It is more than adequate these days. Spend the extra money on a 23" 1920x1080 monitor. The GTX260 will power it and you won't regret it.
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.