Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-30-03, 06:34 AM   #1
mauro
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 2
Default tv-out only --> vga out dead

Hi all),
i'm experiencing a problem with my GeForce2 MX 400. The problem is this one: i set up X to use only the tv-out SVIDEO connector to show the desktop on my tv (and mplayer do the rest heheh)); when i do so my monitor become black, as it should be, and everything works fine, the problem is that once x has started if i try switch to consoles
(ctrl+atl+fN ) or exit X my monitor remain black. It should be noted the my machine dont hangs couse, for example, if i exit X (my monitor remain black) and switch to a console where i logged as root and give the "shutdown -h now" command pc power off normally. All this didn't happen with old drivers before 4363.
So i argue it should be a problem regarding the the video board who cannot "reactivate" the vga out connector and drivers >=4363.
My configuration is this one:
- Asus v7100, GeForce2 MX 400
- driver NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-4496
- using slackware 9.0
- Video BIOS: 03.11.01.24.00
- processor Pentium III 500
- motherboard Asus P3B-F (chipset 440BX)

I attach the XF86Config i use for tv-out.
Thx in advace for any help guys... see ya)
Attached Files
File Type: txt xf86config.tv-only.txt (15.3 KB, 205 views)
mauro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-03, 06:01 AM   #2
mauro
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 2
Default

no one has an idea?
mauro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-03, 11:32 AM   #3
itops
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1
Unhappy

Did you get to the bottom of this?

I'm having simular problems. I'm trying to twinview my TV and monitor. I can get the TV to work using "ConnectedMonitor" "TV" but my monitor reports an out of scan range problem (so won't display) If I set "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT, TV" nothing happens to the TV. Can anyone help?

I've included the config file and 2 log files of when the TV works, and when neither work.

Help...
Attached Files
File Type: txt tv-xf86config-4.txt (76.4 KB, 227 views)
itops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-03, 06:37 PM   #4
aaaaargh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1
Default

I also had a simular problem. My monitor also recieved an "out of range" message. This was however because my card out of some unkown reason switched to DVI output.

Anyway, doing the following works for me:

Option "IgnoreDisplayDevices" "DFP"
# Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT,TV"

-Tom
aaaaargh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UEFI+Nvidia - NVRM: Your system is not currently configured to drive a VGA console... interzoneuk NVIDIA Linux 0 06-26-12 04:51 AM
Dead Space 3 + Hitman kills nuns bob saget Gaming Central 6 05-31-12 02:33 PM
Midweek Madness - Dead Island 60% off News Archived News Items 0 05-22-12 06:30 PM
Super Team-Up! The Left 4 Dead / Payday Crossover News Archived News Items 0 05-21-12 06:30 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.