Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-08-10, 09:05 AM   #1
lispler
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Default 2560x1440 not working..

Hi,

I have a 17" Macbook Pro with Geforce 9600M GT.
It has a mini-DisplayPort and a resoltution of 1920x1200 on the internal LCD.

I want to attach a 27" Dell with a native resolution of 2560x1440.

With a mDP to DVI-d adapter and DVI-d cable, nvidia-settings allows to set a resultion up to 1600-something. Wtih mDP to HDMI adapter, I get to chose up to 1920x1080.

If I start X with the HDMI-Adapter and switch to DVI-d, the higher resolution is still working but when opening nvidia-settings it will not allow me to chose it.

How do I get full resolution? A mDP->DP adapter should arrive soon but it should have worked with the other two variants already.

Or is this just an auto-detection issue? Can I force a higher resolution somewhere?
lispler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-10, 11:05 AM   #2
Civilus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Russia, Moscow
Posts: 39
Send a message via ICQ to Civilus
Default Re: 2560x1440 not working..

lispler
AFAIK, Dell U2711 (you have this model, right?) doesn't support 2560x1440 via DP at all (so mDP -> DP won't work). At least there are a lot of info of those who couldn't get it working via DP and no one who could.

You can get 2560x1440 only if your NB supports DP 1.2 or higher and only via mDP -> Dual-Link DVI-D converter (I don't know if your converter was Dual-Link, see wikipedia for connector pinout).
__________________
OS: Gentoo Linux, ~amd64. VideoCard: GeForce GTX 470. ASUS P8P67 Deluxe, 2x4GB DDR3-1600 CL9, Core i7 2600k.
Civilus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-10, 12:54 PM   #3
lispler
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Default Re: 2560x1440 not working..

Thanks, U2711 is correct. We bought a whole bunch of them, including PCs with two DP connectors to drive them. Hope we don't run into problems with this DP issue..

For mDP->DVI (I thought -d is dual, I stand corrected..) I tried a 25 Euro adapter from HAMA. It advertises itself as "dual-link DVI-I" but only reaches 1600-something.

This is ****ed up...I'll wait and see if the DP-Adapter works, otherwise I have to buy the ugly and far too expensive dual-link DVI adapter from Apple..

(And yes, the actual DVI cable is also advertised as dual-link DVI and has the required additional pins..)
lispler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-10, 05:50 PM   #4
Civilus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Russia, Moscow
Posts: 39
Send a message via ICQ to Civilus
Default Re: 2560x1440 not working..

It's strange that it's 16xx... It should be ~1920x1080. Try to use your adapter in macos or google for some successful experience with any non-apple addapters.
__________________
OS: Gentoo Linux, ~amd64. VideoCard: GeForce GTX 470. ASUS P8P67 Deluxe, 2x4GB DDR3-1600 CL9, Core i7 2600k.
Civilus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-10, 06:20 PM   #5
lispler
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Default Re: 2560x1440 not working..

Nope, I got the same resolution in OSX. Its actually also the same that I get with my old mDP->DVI adapter from Apple. I already returned the adapter and I'm now wait for the DP adapter.

BTW, a collegue successfully drives the display at full resolution via DP using a Lenovo T410 and a new docking station, so DP is working in general. Another collegue already bought the big new Apple adapter but this is my last option..
lispler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-10, 07:01 AM   #6
lispler
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Default Re: 2560x1440 not working..

For the archive:

DeLock produces a 1.8m mDP to DP adapter cable that works perfectly fine.
lispler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-11, 02:53 AM   #7
someone2000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 8
Default Re: 2560x1440 not working..

How did you get this to work ?

I have an HDX9494 with a Geforce 8800 GTS in it. It has a HDMI and VGA port.

I'm trying to drive a Dell U3011 at 2560x1600.

Dell says the HDMI interface on the U3011 is only rated to 1920x1200, which it drives just fine.

I got a Startech Dual Link HDMI to DVI converter. With it I can only get 1600x1200.

The Xorg log (/var/log/Xorg.0.log) says DPF-0 is dual link and it drives the internal display. DPF-1 is single link and connected to the HDMI port and it is limited to 165MHz.

I know HDMI is different than DP, but was there more to it than the cable adapter ?

Thanks
someone2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-11, 03:35 AM   #8
lispler
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Default Re: 2560x1440 not working..

> I know HDMI is different than DP, but was there more to it than the cable adapter?

Nope.


> Dell says the HDMI interface on the U3011 is only rated to 1920x1200,
> which it drives just fine.

There are different versions of HDMI with different maximum throughput. If it only makes 1920, you have a problem.

The DVI converter might work if it is active, i.e. has its own power supply. For the DP->DVI adapters this is a known problem. There is not enough power in the DP input to drive the 2560er DVI signal. I figure its the same for HDMI->DVI.
lispler is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-11-11, 03:49 PM   #9
danix
NVIDIA Corporation
 
danix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 237
Default Re: 2560x1440 not working..

HDMI only supports single link. If your laptop only has VGA and HDMI outputs, I don't see how it could drive a mode with a high pixelclock that requires the dual link connection.
danix is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.