Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-13-10, 06:42 PM   #1
nomec
Registered User
 
nomec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 242
Default Middle mouse in games?

I have a Diamondback 3G, and in games where the middle mouse button click is bound to an action, the game doesn't recognize it. For instance in Bloodline Champions middle mouse is set to the free camera mode, but when I click my middle mouse button it doesn't do anything. If I try to bind anything to the middle mouse button, it will not recognize it as well. It's the same in other games too.

Any ideas?
__________________
Steam ID - moop1167
nomec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-10, 06:53 PM   #2
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Middle mouse in games?

Depends on the game. Some I've played have excellent mouse support, others like Dead Space, heaven help you if you even try to rebind keys, much less the mouse.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-10, 07:05 PM   #3
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,133
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: Middle mouse in games?

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1 View Post
Depends on the game. Some I've played have excellent mouse support, others like Dead Space, heaven help you if you even try to rebind keys, much less the mouse.
yep.
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-10, 07:38 PM   #4
infomercial
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Weimar Republic
Posts: 26
Default Re: Middle mouse in games?

i love using it to switch to my melee weapon in FPS, especially the gauntlet in quake 3!
infomercial is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-10, 09:43 PM   #5
logan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 492
Default Re: Middle mouse in games?

I've never played Bloodline Champions before, but I regularly use middle click to toggle aiming in CoD and other shooters. Do you have any software installed for the mouse? The stuff I've seen from Logitech lets you configure all different actions for the buttons. Maybe it's not passing the click to the game because it's doing something special for some applications and nothing for fullscreen windows (games, movies) and you need to set it back to sending a normal middle/button 3 click. On unix systems running X11 there's an 'xev' utility that'll tell you what event is being received for a key press or a mouse click. Is there anything like that on Windows? Could help troubleshoot...
logan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-10, 12:19 AM   #6
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: Middle mouse in games?

I use the middle mouse button for the knife in Bad Company 2. It works a treat.
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-10, 01:02 AM   #7
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,133
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: Middle mouse in games?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muppet View Post
I use the middle mouse button for the knife in Bad Company 2. It works a treat.
i use my thumb button for knife. easier to press quickly i think, if i need to scalp multiple assholes.
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-10, 03:23 AM   #8
MaXThReAT
Registered User
 
MaXThReAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: EARTH
Posts: 1,861
Default Re: Middle mouse in games?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomec View Post
I have a Diamondback 3G, and in games where the middle mouse button click is bound to an action, the game doesn't recognize it. For instance in Bloodline Champions middle mouse is set to the free camera mode, but when I click my middle mouse button it doesn't do anything. If I try to bind anything to the middle mouse button, it will not recognize it as well. It's the same in other games too.

Any ideas?
With my logitech G5 games will not see the middle click unless the function of the button is set only to "middle button" If it's set for anything else like zoom or some kind of scroll it doesn't work. Hope that helps.
__________________
Gigabyte V1.1 EP45-UD3R F5
GO-Q6600@3.6GHz 1/2" D5/GTZ Block W/BIX-II Dual 120mm
Corsair 4GB Dominator DDR2-8500 5-5-5-15 2t@1066GHz
Evga 280 GTX 621/1349/2268
SB X-Fi FPS / Z-5500 + Buttkicker!

"Don't mind the posts, I've been around longer than most know."
MaXThReAT is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-14-10, 11:47 AM   #9
nomec
Registered User
 
nomec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 242
Default Re: Middle mouse in games?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaXThReAT View Post
With my logitech G5 games will not see the middle click unless the function of the button is set only to "middle button" If it's set for anything else like zoom or some kind of scroll it doesn't work. Hope that helps.
Yeah, I assume it has something to do with that. Currently it's set to "universal scrolling," but for some reason there is no generic setting like "middle mouse" to put it to.
__________________
Steam ID - moop1167
nomec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-10, 12:00 PM   #10
zeejay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 60
Default Re: Middle mouse in games?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomec View Post
Yeah, I assume it has something to do with that. Currently it's set to "universal scrolling," but for some reason there is no generic setting like "middle mouse" to put it to.
This is because you are probably using razer's mouse driver and he's using logitech's, they name it differently. I'm using a razer deathadder and mine is also set to universal scrolling which is the correct middle button setting. I haven't played Bloodline Champions but I have no problems with the middle button in any of my games.
zeejay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-10, 01:13 PM   #11
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Middle mouse in games?

You can bind the middle mouse button to a keystroke instead, then bind that key in the game.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.