Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-16-10, 10:35 AM   #1
Drolfrawd
Registered User
 
Drolfrawd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,787
Send a message via MSN to Drolfrawd
Default GTX260 Overclock

Can anyone point me in the right direction of how to overclock my GTX260

Zotac GTX260 synergy

I have a rough idea but mneed some kind of guide to sharpen me skills

thanks

Ps is it worth overclocking it ?
Drolfrawd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-10, 12:13 PM   #2
Gregor976
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Orlando
Posts: 183
Default Re: GTX260 Overclock

http://www.nvidia.com/object/nvidia_...ools_6.06.html

That's the simplest way. Is it worth it? Let us know. I'd try it just to see. You might get 700mhz or more. I'd try 650mhz first, then work your way up.

Use GPU-Z to watch your temps.
Gregor976 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-10, 12:40 PM   #3
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: GTX260 Overclock

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregor976 View Post
http://www.nvidia.com/object/nvidia_...ools_6.06.html

That's the simplest way. Is it worth it? Let us know. I'd try it just to see. You might get 700mhz or more. I'd try 650mhz first, then work your way up.

Use GPU-Z to watch your temps.
They must have revamped their tools pretty heavily - I found them wicked buggy last time I used them, although it's been a while.

I like afterburner.

Super easy interface, excellent monitoring.

Drol, reading over on Xtremesystemsa lot of the guys there seem to think going for max stable memory clock first, then working the core clock is the best way to go.

As far as the 260 goes, if you got a good overclocker then I'd bet you can see some gains, just take it slow, no more than 10-20mhz at a time, then test for artifacts and stability.

As far as your shader and core clocks, they are linked on mine, I can't change one and not the other, but I'm not sure about yours. If yours are unlinkable, I've heard a high shader clock will net you more fps than core - don't know for sure.

Looking forward to your results though.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-10, 01:14 PM   #4
Drolfrawd
Registered User
 
Drolfrawd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,787
Send a message via MSN to Drolfrawd
Default Re: GTX260 Overclock

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1 View Post
They must have revamped their tools pretty heavily - I found them wicked buggy last time I used them, although it's been a while.

I like afterburner.

Super easy interface, excellent monitoring.

Drol, reading over on Xtremesystemsa lot of the guys there seem to think going for max stable memory clock first, then working the core clock is the best way to go.

As far as the 260 goes, if you got a good overclocker then I'd bet you can see some gains, just take it slow, no more than 10-20mhz at a time, then test for artifacts and stability.

As far as your shader and core clocks, they are linked on mine, I can't change one and not the other, but I'm not sure about yours. If yours are unlinkable, I've heard a high shader clock will net you more fps than core - don't know for sure.

Looking forward to your results though.
Thanks men, I will be back later on tonight with some results

chow for now
Drolfrawd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-10, 01:57 PM   #5
Drolfrawd
Registered User
 
Drolfrawd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,787
Send a message via MSN to Drolfrawd
Default Re: GTX260 Overclock

This is weird. Successfully ran to overclock tests , nothing to severe, and my 3Dmark score has fallen from almost 17000 marks last night , to just over 9000?

Anyone got an idea of why this is happening?
Drolfrawd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-10, 03:09 PM   #6
Drolfrawd
Registered User
 
Drolfrawd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,787
Send a message via MSN to Drolfrawd
Default Re: GTX260 Overclock

This really weird, tried afterburner, rivatuner, nvidia performance tools , all of them halfed my 3Dmark score. Uninstalled all of them and my score returns to normal.

Ideas?

Card is a GTX260 by Zotac synergy edition.
Drolfrawd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-10, 03:15 PM   #7
Gregor976
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Orlando
Posts: 183
Default Re: GTX260 Overclock

What is your GPU temp? What core clocks were you trying?
Gregor976 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-10, 03:59 PM   #8
Drolfrawd
Registered User
 
Drolfrawd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,787
Send a message via MSN to Drolfrawd
Default Re: GTX260 Overclock

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregor976 View Post
What is your GPU temp? What core clocks were you trying?
core temps was 68
core clock was 650
shader 1300
memory clock 1100

i tried load sof different ones. but same result

baffled
Drolfrawd is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-16-10, 04:29 PM   #9
Drolfrawd
Registered User
 
Drolfrawd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,787
Send a message via MSN to Drolfrawd
Default Re: GTX260 Overclock

ok So I have downloaded another version of after burner, and I started slowly this time.
Now grey said that his card woudn't unlink , but mine can, but this time i left them linked and
slowly increased the Mhz. I have now a stable overclock and not yet mas i think.

3Dmark 17258 , i'll keep going and then finally upload my finished score and settings
Drolfrawd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-10, 04:41 PM   #10
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: GTX260 Overclock

shader strapping is 54MHz so up by 10Mhz at a time is pointless.

I'm using OCCT GPU error check thing to see for artefacts now, ATI tool no work so good.


weather its ultimately worth the effort I'm not too sure but its something to do.
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-10, 04:50 PM   #11
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: GTX260 Overclock

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drolfrawd View Post
ok So I have downloaded another version of after burner, and I started slowly this time.
Now grey said that his card woudn't unlink , but mine can, but this time i left them linked and
slowly increased the Mhz. I have now a stable overclock and not yet mas i think.

3Dmark 17258 , i'll keep going and then finally upload my finished score and settings
Looks good bro, Yeah the gf100 (all of them I think) stay linked. Glad you're seeing some progress.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-10, 05:08 PM   #12
Drolfrawd
Registered User
 
Drolfrawd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,787
Send a message via MSN to Drolfrawd
Default Re: GTX260 Overclock

Not sure if i am finished yet, but its late, and bed beckons.
I am gratefull for you guys help.
below is some screenies, might continue tomorrow night.

[IMG] Uploaded with ImageShack.us[/IMG]

[IMG] Uploaded with ImageShack.us[/IMG]

the weird thing is if I go too far it looks like it works , but the fps drop, almost half speed.
Too technical for me, but if anyoone would like to comment then please do.
Drolfrawd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.