Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-30-11, 01:31 AM   #2377
Greedo
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: mos eisley cantina
Posts: 1,259
Default Re: Official Battlefield 3 Thread

i hate the game lobby... way too cluttered.

i'm mad.

also, disabling HT had no in-game impact.

still loving the game.
Greedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-11, 02:00 AM   #2378
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: Official Battlefield 3 Thread

i really hate that you carry 3 mines, yet 2 are required to blow up vehicle AND kill passengers. With 1 mine all i get is a measly 100 for disabling it... I need to unlock perk to double the amount of mines you can carry...
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-11, 02:02 AM   #2379
Greedo
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: mos eisley cantina
Posts: 1,259
Default Re: Official Battlefield 3 Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob saget View Post
i really hate that you carry 3 mines, yet 2 are required to blow up vehicle AND kill passengers. With 1 mine all i get is a measly 100 for disabling it... I need to unlock perk to double the amount of mines you can carry...
the explosive perk allows you to carry more... explosives...
Greedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-11, 02:08 AM   #2380
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: Official Battlefield 3 Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greedo View Post
the explosive perk allows you to carry more... explosives...
not all of us are at the astronomical level you are which level do you unlock it at?
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-11, 02:21 AM   #2381
v3rninater
Blowin up since 1969
 
v3rninater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,095
Default Re: Official Battlefield 3 Thread

Okay got it working some how, dunno how, but I have 280.xx drivers and the game is working great, for about a minute, then it hangs. Doesn't freeze windows though so I'm at a loss as to why it does this. Have to end process, getting the new drivers and will see if this does anything.

Also, origin is a clunky piece of crap, and no user friendly ez/start ways of playing/installing the game. What, am I supposed to read the brain of the software to get it to work?

Origin is the big mac wrapper lying in the trash can, compared to steam, I would of rather had this game on steam by far!
__________________
Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 3.4ghz 1600fsb || Gigabyte P45 EP45-UD3R stable as a rooock! || 4gb G-Skill DDR2 PC8500 5-5-5-15 || EVGA 580-GTX 1.5gb || Creative Fatal1ty Xram Sound Card 7.1 ||G-Skill Phoenix Pro SSD 120gb|| WD BLACK 32mb cache 640gb HD || 2x Samsung DVD burner 16x DVD+\- || Corsair 620watt PSU
Win 7 Ultimate 64bit (640gb hd)

AMD Phenom II X6 T1090 || Gigabyte GA880 || 4gb G-skill Ripjaw DDR3 1600 || MSI 8800 Ultra o/c || WD BLACK 32mb cache 640gb HD || ASUS DVD Burner || XFX 750 watt PSU

LG 60" 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV 60PS11
Xbox 360
v3rninater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-11, 03:18 AM   #2382
Blade
It's just a ride....
 
Blade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Your Sisters Bed
Posts: 903
Default Re: Official Battlefield 3 Thread

Fyi, this game HATES oveclocks, cpu, gpu, hates them all, when i default & stop o/c nonsense game never hangs. Go figure?
__________________
____________________________
Sigs Are For Heros!
Blade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-11, 03:53 AM   #2383
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: Official Battlefield 3 Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blade View Post
Fyi, this game HATES oveclocks, cpu, gpu, hates them all, when i default & stop o/c nonsense game never hangs. Go figure?
Maybe your clocks weren't stable. I have both my CPU and GPU's overclocked. It's fine here and never drops below 100 FPS.

This game is an absolute resource hog though. I was monitoring my PC last night and this game was using 5.15GB of memory and at some stages the CPU cores (all eight of them) were running at 100%. I never come across a game like it.

I know with BC2, if your PC wasn't 100% stable it would crash
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-11, 04:17 AM   #2384
v3rninater
Blowin up since 1969
 
v3rninater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,095
Default Re: Official Battlefield 3 Thread

Man do I like this game now that it's actually working, and wow, does it look flippin GOOD!!! There's NO WAI MW3 will ever come close to this game!
__________________
Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 3.4ghz 1600fsb || Gigabyte P45 EP45-UD3R stable as a rooock! || 4gb G-Skill DDR2 PC8500 5-5-5-15 || EVGA 580-GTX 1.5gb || Creative Fatal1ty Xram Sound Card 7.1 ||G-Skill Phoenix Pro SSD 120gb|| WD BLACK 32mb cache 640gb HD || 2x Samsung DVD burner 16x DVD+\- || Corsair 620watt PSU
Win 7 Ultimate 64bit (640gb hd)

AMD Phenom II X6 T1090 || Gigabyte GA880 || 4gb G-skill Ripjaw DDR3 1600 || MSI 8800 Ultra o/c || WD BLACK 32mb cache 640gb HD || ASUS DVD Burner || XFX 750 watt PSU

LG 60" 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV 60PS11
Xbox 360
v3rninater is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-30-11, 04:21 AM   #2385
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: Official Battlefield 3 Thread

that bloom thing had no effect. on certain maps it is impossible to attack as rush because the sunlight is directly on ure team...so it makes it way too easy to defend...
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-11, 05:15 AM   #2386
lee63
Classified
 
lee63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Murrieta, U.S./Taunton, U.K.
Posts: 4,263
Default Re: Official Battlefield 3 Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greedo View Post
HT? hyperthreading?
Yeah...but only some people are getting it, me being one of them...but with HT off I'm fine.
__________________
lee63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-11, 05:32 AM   #2387
Blade
It's just a ride....
 
Blade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Your Sisters Bed
Posts: 903
Default Re: Official Battlefield 3 Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muppet View Post
Maybe your clocks weren't stable. I have both my CPU and GPU's overclocked. It's fine here and never drops below 100 FPS.

This game is an absolute resource hog though. I was monitoring my PC last night and this game was using 5.15GB of memory and at some stages the CPU cores (all eight of them) were running at 100%. I never come across a game like it.

I know with BC2, if your PC wasn't 100% stable it would crash
Swapped out the psu for a new 650w, all is good now!
__________________
____________________________
Sigs Are For Heros!
Blade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-11, 05:39 AM   #2388
Crow_Nest
Ace Spammer
 
Crow_Nest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Singapore, Asia
Posts: 1,418
Send a message via MSN to Crow_Nest
Default Re: Official Battlefield 3 Thread



I dont remember the cutscene at 1:33 in the campaign at all. Someone care to enlighten me?
__________________
Desktop
| Windows 7 Ultimate x64 | Intel i7 2700K @ 3.5 GHz | MSI GeForce GTX 670 OC 2GB |
| G.Skill RipJawsX PC3 12800 4GB x 2 | Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer | Intel SSD 520 120GB SSD |
| Hitachi 1TB SATA3 HDD | Asus P8Z68-V/GEN3 | Cooler Master Silent Pro M 700W |
| Cooler Master Centurion 5 II Casing | Samsung SyncMaster XL2370 |


Laptop : Lenovo IdeaPad Y450
| Windows 7 Ultimate x64 | Intel Core 2 Duo T6600 2.2 GHz | NVIDIA GeForce G110M 256MB |
| 4GB DDR3 SDRAM | Western Digital 320GB | 14.1' LED Backlit Screen |


http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=73666&dateline=135279  2183
Crow_Nest is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.