Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-05-12, 09:40 PM   #3301
Greedo
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: mos eisley cantina
Posts: 1,259
Default Re: Official Battlefield 3 Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by nutcrackr View Post
Watch this, pretty helpful
perfect, thanks.
Greedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-12, 03:34 AM   #3302
z44
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 50
Default Re: Official Battlefield 3 Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greedo View Post
what sort of shells do you guys use in the shotties? i've tried them all but seem to get the most effective kills with the default .12 gauge shot. but there's also the flechette, frag, and slug. thoughts?

what was the guy using in that shotgun sniper video? slug?

all replies must be extremely swiff.
Forget slugs. They are just crap unfortunately.

Buckshot does most damage up close.
Flechette is usefull at metro , hallways with enemies standing behind eachother . Some say the flechette rounds have less spread over distance, i tested it but see no such thing. Spread seems exactly the same.

I also use frag rounds a lot. They are still quite deadly over range. And you can kill people that are behind cover. Prepare for a lot of hate messages though. Especially coming from the kiddies that use the famas or m416, who are just pissed their gun does not outgun EVERY OTHER GUN, at EVERY RANGE.

Frag rounds have 1 HUGE drawback though. You can NOT use them at point blank range. You will kill yourself really quickly.

I am talking about USAS usage now by the way. When you use the pump shotgun (870) i would recommend only the buckshot as it has highest damage and little spread .
z44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-12, 03:40 AM   #3303
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Official Battlefield 3 Thread

Wow- just fired up the SP. Very CoD-ish, with the "SPACE" or whatever flashing on the screen during a scene where you're supposed to do something. Very "cinematic" like CoD games. And visually it looks very well- the lighting and over all tone seems... superb. Textures and pollies seem a bit low for a modern game, mostly the pollies the textures I can look past because there's so many that look great while some others leave much to be desired.

However, for what I've played thus far I think I'm going to *really* enjoy this game. Not only that it is the only game that I own that has slowed down at all with max in-game settings as well as AA. Granted, my GPU is still underclocked but I believe I've just found my reason for cranking the clocks back up.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-12, 04:29 AM   #3304
nutcrackr
Super Registered User
 
nutcrackr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,210
Default Re: Official Battlefield 3 Thread

Tried playing some coop with a friend who hasn't finished it. Couldn't believe that it bugged out two times in the exfiltration mission. When you clear out a section of enemies and need to get in the humvees the prompts don't appear and you can't get in. It worked fine the when I played it at launch, way to break it DICE.
__________________
.
nutcrackr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-12, 10:12 AM   #3305
z44
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 50
Default Re: Official Battlefield 3 Thread

When i see a tank's barrel, twitching instead of turning in the killcam, is this a killcam bug or is he aimbotting.

Note that the barrel turns instantly JUST LIKE WITH AIMBOT.

Have any of you ever seen this happen in the killcam ?
z44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-12, 11:14 AM   #3306
Roadhog
Resident Alien
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6,776
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by z44 View Post
When i see a tank's barrel, twitching instead of turning in the killcam, is this a killcam bug or is he aimbotting.

Note that the barrel turns instantly JUST LIKE WITH AIMBOT.

Have any of you ever seen this happen in the killcam ?
Just lag.
Roadhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-12, 12:12 PM   #3307
jcrox
Mahna Mahna
 
jcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madison, Wi
Posts: 6,134
Default Re: Official Battlefield 3 Thread

Been playing with sniping even though it's boring as hell. Just trying to pick off people as far away as possible.

Longest head shot so far: 561m

Hoping to get 1000m+ at some point (if it's possible)
__________________

Gaming

MSI MPower Z87 | 4770k | CNPS9900MAX-B | 8GB G.Skill 1866 | EVGA GTX760 |ThermalTake 850w | X-Fi Titanium | HAF | Asus PA248Q | Lycosa | Death Adder | Win8 Pro 64

Dev/Backup

MSI GD65 | 2500k | H50 | 8GB G.skill | GTX570 | Ubuntu 13.10

Laptop

17" Inspiron | i5 | 4GB DDR3 | 500GB HDD | Win7 Pro 64

jcrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-12, 12:46 PM   #3308
Logical
Registered User
 
Logical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 2,523
Default Re: Official Battlefield 3 Thread

This is probably explained somewhere in this thread already but i haven't got the time to sift through all these pages...

OK so basically i want the game to produce a 7.1 audio output but i will be using my headphones. The reason for this is i like to use the Dolby headphone setting in the Asus xonar CP which virtualises surround sound from multi channel audio. Currently i have it set up as 'Home Cinema' with 'stereo enhancement off'. Is Home Cinema setting a 5.1 or 7.1 setting ?

Heres what the cfg sound settings look like...

GstAudio.AudioQuality 1
GstAudio.CarRadio 0
GstAudio.DialogueVolume 0.700000
GstAudio.MusicVolume 0.700000
GstAudio.SoundSystemSize 20
GstAudio.StereoMode 0
GstAudio.VOLanguage 0
GstAudio.Volume 0.825581
GstAudio.YourSoundSystem 3

Edit: N/M it seems that BF3 uses whatever audio windows is set to.
Logical is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-08-12, 03:27 AM   #3309
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: Official Battlefield 3 Thread

Thought, I might jump on a US server for a laugh. Didn't hop in a Tank for one kill either. All guns, mines and my favorite, the knife.

__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-12, 03:52 AM   #3310
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: Official Battlefield 3 Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muppet View Post
Thought, I might jump on a US server for a laugh. Didn't hop in a Tank for one kill either. All guns, mines and my favorite, the knife.

lol @ RU score card...
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-12, 12:19 PM   #3311
Logical
Registered User
 
Logical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 2,523
Default Re: Official Battlefield 3 Thread

Last night brought a nolstalgic feel when playing strike at Karkand. I was taking one of the flags when i heard music coming from a radio, it was the mec theme from BF2. Ohh the memories...

Logical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-12, 04:34 PM   #3312
Alaa
Peace
 
Alaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cairo
Posts: 431
Default Re: Official Battlefield 3 Thread

I just received my MW3 copy. Seriously, How do all these millions buy this game? It feels so kiddy and COD4 re-badged! That's 40$ added to my COD4 purchase for the same game.
Alaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.