Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-05-10, 12:10 PM   #1
Pellerin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4
Question [worked around] low resolution due to invalid EDID (it seems)

Hi!

I would appreciate any help with the problem described below.

Using a GeForce4 Ti 4200 card with Xorg 1.9.2, I just switched to the nvidia-96xx drivers after the nouveau driver started to malfunction for me. Now things work basically, except the screen resolution is nothing higher than 640x480, resisting any attempts to change it.

This seems to be related to my monitor not providing (valid) EDID information. It must be noticed, though, that the exact same hardware I am using now used to work perfectly with some previous software configurations (driver, xorg, kernel...).

Please see the attached nvidia-bug-report.log, created after "startx -- -logverbose 6", for further diagnostic information.

Thank you in advance!
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.gz (51.9 KB, 93 views)

Last edited by Pellerin; 01-09-11 at 03:11 PM.
Pellerin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-10, 11:00 AM   #2
BigdaveyL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 15
Default Re: low resolution due to invalid EDID (it seems)

This seems to be a regression in the new(er) drivers.

195 versions work fine.

Anything newer than that I get the problem you describe.

Anyone from Nvidia care to comment?
BigdaveyL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-10, 08:07 AM   #3
Pellerin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4
Default Re: low resolution due to invalid EDID (it seems)

Thanks, BigdaveyL, for pointing out that this is not just my problem but a bug in the driver. I am not watching all the rest of the forum for a solution though, so could you be so kind to post here should Nvidia choose to answer in another thread? Has this already happened, maybe?
Pellerin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-10, 12:28 PM   #4
BigdaveyL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 15
Default Re: low resolution due to invalid EDID (it seems)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pellerin View Post
Thanks, BigdaveyL, for pointing out that this is not just my problem but a bug in the driver. I am not watching all the rest of the forum for a solution though, so could you be so kind to post here should Nvidia choose to answer in another thread? Has this already happened, maybe?

No known solution I know of.
BigdaveyL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-10, 09:12 PM   #5
BigdaveyL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 15
Default Re: low resolution due to invalid EDID (it seems)

Try making custom modelines, seemed to work for me:
http://www.cyberwizzard.nl/site/blog...solutions.html

One can also get the Modelines from the Xorg.0.log when using nouveau.
BigdaveyL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-11, 05:43 PM   #6
Pellerin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4
Default Re: low resolution due to invalid EDID (it seems)

Sorry for the delay.

I cannot get information about valid modes from Xorg's logs (debugging enabled), as it does not find any. No matter what I do, the driver just complains about not getting valid EDID information from the monitor and falls back to the default of 640x480 pixels². Similar messages are given by command line apps for reading EDID info. Also, xrandr reports no more than two modes:
640x480 50.0*
320x240 51.0

Dear Nvidia people, would you please comment on this? Is anything being done or should I be looking for a new graphics card?
Pellerin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-11, 12:19 PM   #7
Pellerin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4
Default Re: low resolution due to invalid EDID (it seems)

Somehow I missed to follow your second advice, BigdaveyL, to get ModeLines from Nouveau's Xorg.0.log. I tried that now and indeed I got:

[ 1151.850] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Modeline "1024x768"x60.0 65.00 1024 1048 1184 1344 768 771 777 806 -hsync -vsync (48.4 kHz)
[ 1151.850] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Modeline "800x600"x60.3 40.00 800 840 968 1056 600 601 605 628 +hsync +vsync (37.9 kHz)
[ 1151.850] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Modeline "800x600"x56.2 36.00 800 824 896 1024 600 601 603 625 +hsync +vsync (35.2 kHz)
[ 1151.850] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Modeline "848x480"x60.0 33.75 848 864 976 1088 480 486 494 517 +hsync +vsync (31.0 kHz)
[ 1151.850] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Modeline "640x480"x59.9 25.18 640 656 752 800 480 489 492 525 -hsync -vsync (31.5 kHz)

from which I made the following lines for my xorg.conf:
Modeline "1024x768" 65.00 1024 1048 1184 1344 768 771 777 806 -hsync -vsync
Modeline "800x600" 40.00 800 840 968 1056 600 601 605 628 +hsync +vsync
Modeline "800x600" 36.00 800 824 896 1024 600 601 603 625 +hsync +vsync
Modeline "848x480" 33.75 848 864 976 1088 480 486 494 517 +hsync +vsync
Modeline "640x480" 25.18 640 656 752 800 480 489 492 525 -hsync -vsync

The 848x600 mode looks odd. Strangely enough, this one and the the 640x480 one are the only modes considered "valid" by the driver / by X. Xorg.0.log:
[…]
[ 5308.225] (II) NVIDIA(0): Assigned Display Device: CRT-1
[ 5308.225] (WW) NVIDIA(0): No valid modes for "1024x768"; removing.
[ 5308.225] (WW) NVIDIA(0): No valid modes for "800x600"; removing.
[ 5308.225] (II) NVIDIA(0): Validated modes:
[ 5308.225] (II) NVIDIA(0): "848x480"
[ 5308.225] (II) NVIDIA(0): "640x480"
[ 5308.225] (II) NVIDIA(0): Virtual screen size determined to be 848 x 480
[…]

With 848x480 the image looks distorted, but hey, finally another resolution than 640x480! However I am unable to get the other modes validated until now. I tried several "ModeValidation" options in xorg.conf, without any effect.

Any more advice how I can get this workaround to work? I am out of ideas.


EDIT:

It turned out that I can force the modes to be validated using
Code:
Option "ModeValidation" "NoDFPNativeResolutionCheck, NoVirtualSizeCheck,NoMaxPClkCheck,NoHorizSyncCheck ,NoVertRefreshCheck,NoWidthAlignmentCheck"
in xorg.conf (Monitor section). Still, this doesn't do the trick as with that setting my screen goes blank on X startup, and then the monitor-builtin OSD displays "out of range" (nothing else). Absolutely no signs of error in Xorg.0.log, also all autostarted X apps seem to run happily. Apparently the monitor just cannot deal with the video signal somehow.

This is independant on the presence or absence of ModeLines. The ModeValidation option alone leads to this behaviour.

EDIT 2:

Woo-hoo! Omitting "NoVertRefreshcheck" from the above option line did it, 1024x768 works again! I do not know or care why, I just hope it stays that way. (Could be achieved if the developers and service people did their job...)
Pellerin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.