Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 400/500 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-21-10, 08:04 AM   #1
japgar07
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 4
Default EVGA GTX 570 overclocking issues.

Recently upgraded from an EVGA GTX 465 to EVGA GTX 570. Max stable OC without increasing voltage is 815/2000. When I try to up the volts and increase core clock ~ 850 Mhz I start getting voltage errors from my motherboard monitor. Wondering if it is a powersupply issue? I am using EVGA precision and E-LEET for my overclock. Has this happened to anyone before? Is this am ominous sign that my PSU is about to fail or some software conflict between E-LEET program and my ASUS software? My system specs are below.

i7 930 @ 4.2ghz (1.35V)
Asus Rampage III Formula
6gb Mushkin Redline CL6 @ 1600Mhz
Corsair HX620 (3 years old)
150gb raptor and 500GB 7200rpm
4x 120mm fans
1 DVD burner
japgar07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-10, 12:07 PM   #2
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: EVGA GTX 570 overclocking issues.

I am not sure japgar, but I'll say this. I just rma'd my 570 SC yesterday because there is a low-volume, very high-pitched sound coming from it.

I have a new surge, changed the psu and a bunch of other things but the whining sound was still there and the tech identified it as likely being a capacitor problem.

It could be an issue with the quality of caps they are using in revision 1 of their 570 SC's which might be affecting over clocking beyond a certain level.
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-11, 10:11 PM   #3
DJB
Geezer Gamer
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 186
Default Re: EVGA GTX 570 overclocking issues.

Then again, a 3 year old 620watt power supply is probably not quite cutting it when you factor in the overclocking. I mean by the time you factor in your nice CPU overclock, you are just drawing too much when you overclock the card. Its not that you dont have enough overall juice because you are likely drawing in the low to mid 400 watt range, but just too much from a specific rail. I run a similar setup to what you have but with an 850 and I have no power issues at all.

DJB
__________________
Mobo ASUS Rampage III Extreme | CPU Intel i7980X @ 4Ghz | Mem 6GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 | Vid EVGA GTX570SC 875/1750/4300 | WD VelociRaptor 300GB,WD Raptor 150GB, WD Caviar Black 640GB SATAII HD, Seagate 160GB 7200RPM SATA HD |Liteon SATA DVDRW | Logitech Z-680 speakers|Dell 20" 2005FPW LCD | O/S Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit :: Dell XPS Gen2, 2Ghz PentiumM, 2GB Ram, go7800GTX at 430/1200, 100GB HD, WinXP Pro SP3
DJB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.