Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-02-03, 01:43 PM   #1
saruman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 11
Default 4496 and "switching between X and console" issue

The Prologue

This problem seems to be a common one and (at least for me) has shown only with the new 4496 version: 4363 had no problem out of random and rare freezes under X (maybe acpi related since my mobo doesn't support apm and I could ssh to the box and reboot it "quietly").

The problem

Starting X is fine: switching to a console (with ctrl+alt+Fx) is not because the screen is garbaged and unusable; I can switch back to X fine (with alt+F7).
Turning X off (logout) returns me to the same messed up console where I can only type blind: "startx" gives me a working X again but the console problem remains.
I tried NeverwinterNights too and now the bottom right of the menu screen is messed by tiles "going and coming" (flickering).

If I compile the good ol' 4363 drivers than all goes fine (apart from random X lockups, I mean ;-)

The system

Mobo: Asus P8P800 (intel 865PE chipset, no "performance tweaking", both official or not), 1008 bios revision
CPU: Pentium4 2.53 GHz 533 MHz bus, not overclocked
Video card: a pretty seasoned GeForce4 MX 440, output from /proc/driver/nvidia/cards/0 is:

Model: GeForce4 MX 440
IRQ: 16
Video BIOS: 04.17.00.52.00
Card Type: AGP

Os: Gentoo linux with vanilla kernel + -pre patches: 2.4.22-pre9. Drivers compiled using gentoo official ebuild packages (4363 drivers with the same kernel work fine).
Xfree Log: attached as requested :-)

The question

Is there any hope for me? :-/ For now I'll revert to 4363 because switching to console is a must for me (and playing to NWN too :-))
saruman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-03, 02:36 PM   #2
_tf_
scriptfoo warrior
 
_tf_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: here
Posts: 117
Default

can confirm this odd console thing!

lars

gf4200ti / nforce2 / rh
_tf_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-03, 05:04 PM   #3
leibold
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 66
Default

Something has definitely changed with regards to X and text console switching between 4363 and 4496, but for me it's a change for the better.

Switching with 4363 worked until I enabled twinview. From that time on any attempt to switch caused a hang. After upgrading to 4496 everything works (TV-Out, Twinview, text console and X switching).
leibold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-03, 07:08 PM   #4
alien999999999
Registered User
 
alien999999999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 218
Send a message via ICQ to alien999999999
Default

confirmed
__________________
Alien is my name and headbiting is my game.
alien999999999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-03, 04:54 AM   #5
memnoch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1
Default some hints

Had exactly the same problem with a GeF4-440MX.
I sorted it out changing the vga resolution of the console to 80x25 ("normal" mode). In your lilo.conf add this line before the definitions of the images:

vga=normal

my lilo.conf looks like this:

---
boot = /dev/hda
vga = normal
read-only
lba32
prompt
timeout = 80
message = /boot/message

image = /boot/vmlinuz
label = linux
root = /dev/hda1
initrd = /boot/initrd
...
---
Don't forget running "lilo" after that to commit your changes.

Don't forget your boot floppy, just in case you mess up your MBR

you can also try vga=ask and check different modes.

This thread has some more hints, mostly related to tv-out problems:

Good luck!

MemNocH
memnoch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-03, 06:13 AM   #6
saruman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 11
Default Re: some hints

Quote:
Originally posted by memnoch
Had exactly the same problem with a GeF4-440MX.
I sorted it out changing the vga resolution of the console to 80x25 ("normal" mode). In your lilo.conf add this line before the definitions of the images:

vga=normal

<snip>

MemNocH
Hi MemNocH,
using the text console is what I want to avoid: using 80x25 text gives me _huge_ characters on my 18,1" LCD display (Philips 180B2, 1280x1024: very nice and very $$$) ;-).
My console uses the VESA framebuffer (I know that there are issues with the kernel rivafb driver), at (guess what!) 1280x1024 pixels.

I'm right now using 4363 drivers (same X, same kernel, ...) and I can switch from X to console without any problem (from when I'm using nvidia drivers, 0.9xx onward, this the first time that I cannot switch from X to console in the expected way).
My only fear now is for when X will freeze leaving me no other solution out of ssh-ing and soft-rebooting it :-/

Nvidia-guys, please give help!! (ok, it is sunday so it is difficult to have some right now ;-)

4363 cheers,
Saruman of Many Colors
saruman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-03, 08:01 AM   #7
alien999999999
Registered User
 
alien999999999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 218
Send a message via ICQ to alien999999999
Default Re: Re: some hints

Quote:
Saruman of Many Colors
you traitor! ;-)
__________________
Alien is my name and headbiting is my game.
alien999999999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-03, 08:00 PM   #8
Thommy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 14
Default

I'm having exactly the same problem.

My hardware is:
P4 1.5Ghz
ASUS P4T
GeForce 4 MX440 agp - built by Prolink / PixelView

My OS is Mandrake 9.1

tnks..
Thommy is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-04-03, 04:31 AM   #9
Xero
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5
Default

I've been having this problem for as long as I've owned my GF4 Ti4200 8x. With 4363, I still had the problem but had a way to get the console back by using "IgnoreDisplayDevices" "DFP, TV" in my XF86Config. When I used my XF86Config.tv file (which is basically the same as my XF86Config except it outputs to tv) no matter what I did, when I closed X or tried to switch consoles, it went blank. Once this happened I was able to get the console back after blindly restarting X using the XF86Config which outputs to my monitor. With 4496 this no longer works and I'm stuck with no console until I reboot, although I can still restart X by typing blindly. I've managed to have it lock up completely as well, but it doesn't usually happen unless I'm switching back and forth between X and the blank console rapidly.
Xero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-03, 06:09 AM   #10
alien999999999
Registered User
 
alien999999999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 218
Send a message via ICQ to alien999999999
Default

can everyone in this thread post their
horiz freq
vert freq
resolution
before switching and after switching?


mine:

FH: 68,74kHz
FV: 85.03Hz
resolution: 1024x768

after:

FH: kHz
FV: 70.00Hz
resolution: user mode (after counting, probably 160x104 or 160x136)
__________________
Alien is my name and headbiting is my game.
alien999999999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-03, 08:40 AM   #11
saruman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 11
Default

I use EDID to automagically determine the resolution / freqs rate. From Xfree86.log I get:

(**) NVIDIA(0): Default mode "1280x1024": 135.0 MHz, 80.0 kHz, 75.0 Hz

In framebuffer ... how could I determine that? My OSD info says no useful info about that ...

Cheers,
saruman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-03, 10:03 AM   #12
saruman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 11
Default

Ops, just see that I've forgot my XFree86.log ;-) (hmmm ... konqueror ...)
Attached Files
File Type: log xfree86.0.log (28.1 KB, 139 views)
saruman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.