Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-12-11, 02:01 AM   #13
Roadhog
Resident Alien
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6,776
Default Re: i7 950 @ 4Ghz

Not much difference, just keep the lower bclk. Also, use LINX for stability testing.
Roadhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-11, 10:32 AM   #14
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: i7 950 @ 4Ghz

I OC'd my 950 yesterday. I got it to 4GHz with minimal a minimal voltage increase. It's at 1.28V atm. I initially tried it with 1.35 and the temps were quite high but after backing off the voltage (and tweaking it to improve stability) the temps are 36 idle and 74 load.

I tried turning on Speedstep and Turbo, but that seems to require a decent voltage increase to keep it stable. As with most 950's, it seems they hit 4GHz easily, but require a decent amount of voltage to go beyond the 4GHz mark. But I don't think my current cooling solution is up to the task of the higher voltages. I may move to a Noctua in the near future, and I will consider using it then. But the chip is running well at 4GHz with decent temps and a low voltage, so I'm happy.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-11, 12:51 PM   #15
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: i7 950 @ 4Ghz

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
I OC'd my 950 yesterday. I got it to 4GHz with minimal a minimal voltage increase. It's at 1.28V atm. I initially tried it with 1.35 and the temps were quite high but after backing off the voltage (and tweaking it to improve stability) the temps are 36 idle and 74 load.

I tried turning on Speedstep and Turbo, but that seems to require a decent voltage increase to keep it stable. As with most 950's, it seems they hit 4GHz easily, but require a decent amount of voltage to go beyond the 4GHz mark. But I don't think my current cooling solution is up to the task of the higher voltages. I may move to a Noctua in the near future, and I will consider using it then. But the chip is running well at 4GHz with decent temps and a low voltage, so I'm happy.
Also - if you disable Hyper threading you will knock off about 10 degrees load temp. There has been constant debate on whether it's actually worth running enabled or not. I keep going back and forth. Some games feel smoother with it on, others feel smoother with it off. I can run 4.2 Ghz without it linx / prime stable or 4.0Ghz with HT on linx/prime stable.

Might wanna play with it and see if you have a preference though.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-11, 12:57 PM   #16
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: i7 950 @ 4Ghz

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
I OC'd my 950 yesterday. I got it to 4GHz with minimal a minimal voltage increase. It's at 1.28V atm. I initially tried it with 1.35 and the temps were quite high but after backing off the voltage (and tweaking it to improve stability) the temps are 36 idle and 74 load.

I tried turning on Speedstep and Turbo, but that seems to require a decent voltage increase to keep it stable. As with most 950's, it seems they hit 4GHz easily, but require a decent amount of voltage to go beyond the 4GHz mark. But I don't think my current cooling solution is up to the task of the higher voltages. I may move to a Noctua in the near future, and I will consider using it then. But the chip is running well at 4GHz with decent temps and a low voltage, so I'm happy.
36 idle? wow nice. I got two cores at 36 and two at 40 @ 3.6.
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-11, 01:02 PM   #17
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: i7 950 @ 4Ghz

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob saget View Post
36 idle? wow nice. I got two cores at 36 and two at 40 @ 3.6.
I always lap my ihs so that I get perfectly flat mounts with my water block. more than likely why you are getting 4 deg difference across the heat spreader. I had one chip that was such a spoon the temps dropped about 12 deg after I lapped it and gained about 500 Mhz in overclock.

Before lapping I get variations like you are seeing, a few degrees between the cores. After lapping they are usually all the same or maybe 1 deg off but that could just be accuracy of the sensor at that point. I'm not saying you should lap it, I just wanted point out why there are differences in the core temps.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-11, 01:08 PM   #18
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: i7 950 @ 4Ghz

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob saget View Post
36 idle? wow nice. I got two cores at 36 and two at 40 @ 3.6.
What heatsink are you using bob?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailman2 View Post
I always lap my ihs so that I get perfectly flat mounts with my water block. more than likely why you are getting 4 deg difference across the heat spreader. I had one chip that was such a spoon the temps dropped about 12 deg after I lapped it and gained about 500 Mhz in overclock.

Before lapping I get variations like you are seeing, a few degrees between the cores. After lapping they are usually all the same or maybe 1 deg off but that could just be accuracy of the sensor at that point. I'm not saying you should lap it, I just wanted point out why there are differences in the core temps.
Yea my temps between cores vary about 2-3C. That's probably due to the surface not being flat like you said mailman.

I'm still considering picking up a beastly Noctua.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-11, 01:10 PM   #19
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: i7 950 @ 4Ghz

TRUE, thats about as dusty as f*ck. i am saving the project for next weekend when i clean it completely and install air filters, but the temps were same when it was brand new. WAIT, are you using stock cooling? O_o
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-11, 04:04 PM   #20
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: i7 950 @ 4Ghz

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob saget View Post
TRUE, thats about as dusty as f*ck. i am saving the project for next weekend when i clean it completely and install air filters, but the temps were same when it was brand new. WAIT, are you using stock cooling? O_o
Hell no. I'm using a Thermalright Ultra eXtreme 120.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835109140



I'm looking at this one instead.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835608018

ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-13-11, 04:19 PM   #21
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: i7 950 @ 4Ghz

yea that TRUE is what i have....
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-11, 04:42 PM   #22
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: i7 950 @ 4Ghz

What fan are you using with it? I'm using a Panaflo 120mm. Thing's a beast.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-004-_-Product

(mine's older and actually says Panaflo, had no idea they got bought out...)
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-11, 08:47 PM   #23
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: i7 950 @ 4Ghz

i have some huge cfm thermalright one, and i am running it at top speed. think its about 80ish cfm.
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-11, 08:57 PM   #24
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: i7 950 @ 4Ghz

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob saget View Post
i have some huge cfm thermalright one, and i am running it at top speed. think its about 80ish cfm.
You have 2 fans (both in same direction) or one? I have one at the moment and I'm thinking about strapping on another on the backside to help the air flow through.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.