Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-13-11, 09:03 PM   #25
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: i7 950 @ 4Ghz

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
You have 2 fans (both in same direction) or one? I have one at the moment and I'm thinking about strapping on another on the backside to help the air flow through.
no i have one fan, and using a special clip came with the cooler, so i didnt have to use the thin wire clips that i bought separately (cause i didnt know cooler comes with a special clip), and i actually have extra fans lying around, maybe i should hook it up. do you know if its bad if you have a slower fan on one side or uneven cfm from front to back.
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-11, 10:58 PM   #26
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: i7 950 @ 4Ghz

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob saget View Post
no i have one fan, and using a special clip came with the cooler, so i didnt have to use the thin wire clips that i bought separately (cause i didnt know cooler comes with a special clip), and i actually have extra fans lying around, maybe i should hook it up. do you know if its bad if you have a slower fan on one side or uneven cfm from front to back.
I would put the higher cfm fan as the intake to push more cold air over the HSF and the lower as the exhaust to help the air through. The heatsink has a lot of fins and gives a lot of resistance to airflow. Just make sure they're both pointing in the same direction.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-11, 03:03 PM   #27
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,062
Default Re: i7 950 @ 4Ghz

I wish it was mine, my chipset has me stuck at 425FSB.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-11, 04:18 PM   #28
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: i7 950 @ 4Ghz

Quote:
Originally Posted by mullet View Post
I wish it was mine, my chipset has me stuck at 425FSB.
Yea i7 is a different beast. The default base clock (i.e. FSB) is 133. The multipliers are crazy (20+) so it doesn't take too much of an FSB increase to get a nice OC going.

The ASUS BIOS is nice too. It adjusts all the numbers, so even after I adjust the base clock, it tells me what my QPI and DRAM speeds will be with the different multi's.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-11, 11:40 PM   #29
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,062
Default Re: i7 950 @ 4Ghz

You can't raise the FSB at all?????????
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-11, 12:14 AM   #30
Roadhog
Resident Alien
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6,776
Default Re: i7 950 @ 4Ghz

Quote:
Originally Posted by mullet View Post
You can't raise the FSB at all?????????
fsb = bclk. sorta.
Roadhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-11, 12:25 AM   #31
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: i7 950 @ 4Ghz

Quote:
Originally Posted by mullet View Post
You can't raise the FSB at all?????????
Well, there isn't an FSB with i7's. It's just like the Athlon64's with the on-die memory controller. There's a base clock (i.e. FSB) which the chip multiplies by to get the rated speed. Then a multiplier is used off of that to get the QPI (same as the Hypertransport on the Athlon's), and a multiplier is used to get the DRAM speed.

This article (and Roadhog) helped me with understanding all the settings:
http://www.maximumpc.com/article/fea...lem_its_limits

If you've ever had an Athlon64 or later, you'll get the hang of it quickly.

Increasing the base clock is equivalent to raising the FSB, but the base clock isn't an actual FSB. There is no FSB on i7. The stock base clock is 133. With a 23x multi, that gives the 950 its rated speed of 3.06GHz. I increased the base clock to 175, then used a ratio to keep the QPI at it's rated 4.8 GT/s (I could probably increase that a little too) and another ratio to keep my DRAM in spec. Since it only uses even multi's, I had to settle with DDR3-1400 speeds for my DDR3-1600 RAM. I could probably change the multiplier and base clock to get the same speed with my RAM at real 1600MHz speeds, but I don't know how much of a difference it will make.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-11, 12:28 AM   #32
Roadhog
Resident Alien
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6,776
Default Re: i7 950 @ 4Ghz

You don't want to OC the QPI. You usually lose performance if you do.

EDIT: or was it Uncore.. i think it was uncore.
Roadhog is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-15-11, 12:32 AM   #33
Roadhog
Resident Alien
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6,776
Default Re: i7 950 @ 4Ghz

Yeah was Uncore.

http://benchmarkextreme.com/Articles...Gaming/P5.html
Roadhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-11, 12:35 AM   #34
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: i7 950 @ 4Ghz

Ok, well my uncore is at its rated 2x DRAM speeds (2800MHz for me). The EE chips use a 6.2GT/s on the QPI. Looks like my QPI is actually low. It should be at 4.8GT/s. I will have to fix that when I get a chance. I may push it a bit further, but I don't think performance will improve that much from it.

It's just a simple multiplier change. For some reason I thought it was 3.2GT/s when I set it. I upped the voltage to 1.2V (up from default 1.1V) just to keep it stable, but I'm sure it's not having problems staying stable below its rated speeds.

EDIT: I must have been thinking of my default uncore speed, which is 3.2GHz.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-11, 12:38 AM   #35
Roadhog
Resident Alien
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6,776
Default Re: i7 950 @ 4Ghz

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
Ok, well my uncore is at its rated 2x DRAM speeds (2800MHz for me). The EE chips use a 6.2GT/s on the QPI. Looks like my QPI is actually low. It should be at 4.8GT/s. I will have to fix that when I get a chance. I may push it a bit further, but I don't think performance will improve that much from it.
my qpi is like 7550. I think cpuz reads half of it.
Roadhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-11, 01:21 AM   #36
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: i7 950 @ 4Ghz

Ahh I'm all ****ed up. Wikipedia says the QPI clock is 2.4, 2.9, or 3.2GHz.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intel_Q...h_Interconnect

Looks like mine is fine. I'll have to check it when I get a chance. Maybe someone can clarify in the mean time.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.